2/24 - Xander | AMPS 369, +4 350, +8 289

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
2/23/25

Hi everybody,

Hope you're all having a nice Monday. :) Xander's still sitting super high after the reduced dose to skipped dose to partial fur shot the other day.

Turns out the reason my vet never contacted me back like a month ago was because she went on personal leave. I finally got contacted like a week ago by the staff to check in and let me know that happened. We met the vet filling in for her today.

On a great note, she was impressed by my knowledge and how detailed my logging of everything is! She definitely seems more knowledgable about feline diabetes than our regular vet is. On the other hand, she also seems to want more direct involvement (our other vet was pretty hands off) and recommends I stick with the 1.5 for at least a full week (but I'm pretty sure we'll be increasing soon if we just follow TR protocol). In terms of Xander himself, he's gained just a tiiiiny bit of weight apparently, but she says he looks great and aside from the high numbers right now he seems to otherwise be in great health. She also checked for cataracts and said he has no sign of them, just some "pigmentation."

Guess we'll see how it goes! :bookworm: My posts will probably be weirdly timed this week because I have an appointment every single day except Wednesday, so apologies for my weird schedule.
 
2/23/25

On a great note, she was impressed by my knowledge and how detailed my logging of everything is!

Ha! My vet is VERY impressed with Jude's SS, and he and I are humming along, almost excitedly, when we discuss Jude's FD changes and his treatment (thankfully!). His vet techs, on the other hand, look at me like I'm a freak of nature when I start talking about "nadirs," "flat cycles," etc.

Glad the new vet thinks X is looking good and definitely glad he doesn't have cataracts!
 
Good to have another vet who’s up to speed on Xander, whether you follow their advice or not!

Absolutely! I felt like I was being outright ignored for like a month (which I was, but I guess not on purpose). It's nice to have someone appreciate my effort to figure this out, even if I'm not a vet! I just hope I don't start having to follow advice that doesn't work lol
 
Ha! My vet is VERY impressed with Jude's SS, and he and I are humming along, almost excitedly, when we discuss Jude's FD changes and his treatment (thankfully!). His vet techs, on the other hand, look at me like I'm a freak of nature when I start talking about "nadirs," "flat cycles," etc.

Glad the new vet thinks X is looking good and definitely glad he doesn't have cataracts!

Ha! That's awesome! That sounds like it would be so nice! Seems like being on the same page as the vet is rare when it comes to this. And lol I'm not surprised about the vet techs! From what I've heard from vets themselves, they don't spend all that much time learning about feline diabetes to become vets, so the vet techs probably get even less!
 
Back
Top