2/24 Tipper AMPS 527 +2 394 + 4 265 PMPS 303 +3 370

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Good morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37467#p394953

Increased Tippers dose to 3.50. Where will this end? Is there such a thing as insulin resistant?

She does not seem as good as yesterday, fur not as shiny, more dandruff, eyes watery.

Vet called yesterday to check in - we were not home. I'll call back this am with my observations and BG#'s

We just do not seem to heading in the right direction...

Our insulin was prescribed on 1/19. Could it be getting old?

Sorry for my rambling thoughts, trying to remain positive

Patty and Tipper
 
Re: 2/24 Tipper AMPS 527 +2 394

Good morning guys .. Patty, I am sorry you are seeing so much red and black .. I know it seems like you will never find that "breakthrough" dose but the name of the game here is patience .. I know it is hard, trust me I know it is hard .. but you just have to be patient ...
 
Re: 2/24 Tipper AMPS 527 +2 394

There actually is such a thing as insulin resistance. IAA, or insulin auto-antibodies can form in some cats. The antibodies work against the insulin thereby preventing it from doing what it's supposed to do. Pattie/Harley has a cat with IAA as does Kristen/Emma. There is a test that can be run to determine if your cat has IAA. (It's run at Michigan State.) Basically, you have to be dosing aggressively in order to get ahead of the antibodies and break through their action. Often a cat is at higher doses of insulin in order to break through. However, Tipper isn't at that high of a dose where we would encourage you to get the testing done.

On the other hand, take a look at Max/Randi's SS. Max was up to 6.0u before his numbers began to improve. I know it's frustrating to see these high numbers. It sometimes just takes persistence. When it's time for the next increase, if on average Tipper's nadirs are above 300, you can increase by 0.5u.

As far as your Lantus, the manufacturer recommends that you discard any unused insulin after 28 days. A lot of people here use their insulin longer than 28 days. And then there are those of us who won't go much longer than a month on a pen. If you have any concern about the insulin, start new juice.
 
Re: 2/24 Tipper AMPS 527 +2 394 + 4 265

just stopping in to say hello and let you now we're thinking of you....
 
Its so hard to be patient but it just takes time ;-) and yes you can be insulin resistant we are but I did not test my cat until he was way past his one year mark of being Dx not that one has to wait that long but you are just starting out and like the Sienne said not on a very large dose I bet you will see better numbers soon for Tipper just keep following the protocol and be patient I know its hard but the cats are in charge it seems like when it comes to FD
 
(((Patty)))....these higher numbers are tough to take but Tipper will get there. Everyone kept telling us it is a marathon not a sprint. But still you worry about your baby. Thinking of you.
 
what you're seeing is tipper's body reacting to the drop into blue the day before yesterday... a bounce from numbers lower than the body is used to. it can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce.

since the dose was increased this morning, be on the lookout for a possible drop as this new dose is kicking in as the bounce is clearing...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top