2/24 P - AMPS: 349, PMPS: 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Member Since 2014
Called the vet this morning to ask about hyper-t test and urinalysis, and P had both done in December. He said P's thyroid levels are on the low end of normal. And with the urinalysis, besides the sugar, there were no bacteria or infections.

He said I could take P in and have both tests repeated...I was wondering, is it something I should do? I'm thinking about doing the urinalysis, just because I know UTI's can happen easily in a sugar cat, but do I need to do the hyper-t test again?

AMPS: 349
+4: 328
+5: 357
+6: 409
+7: 357
+8: 412

PMPS: 445
+2: 416
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

You might ask on Health, Melissa. I seem to remember that there are 2 tests for Hyper T and one is more accurate than the other.

Better amps this morning. Hope P starts to like this new dose.
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

OK, I just removed a very long post. :lol: I was actually thinking of another kitty.

After looking at P's SS, are you using U40 syringes or is that 4.5U in U100?

Maybe someone else can chime in, but that seems like an awful high dose. Do some cats take a dose that high without other contributing medical issues? Being new, I don't know about Prozink or PZI in that capacity.

How long since he was dx'd?

Did they get a good look at his teeth when he was at the vet's in Dec? Tooth issues can really keep the numbers up, along with urinary tract issues. The thing that gets me is that he's been this high from the getgo.

When I brought Lucian home, after a week in the hospital, his BG's were over 700 and they could not bring him down and really don't think they expected him to make it. Thankfully I found FDMB and he has survived and even gained a little weight back and although, pretty crazy, his numbers are nothing like they were. It's been a battle, but his vet was completely dumbfounded when she saw his SS.

Hopefully, we can get some answers from those more experienced with your insulin, than I am.
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

I'm using u40s, so he really is getting 4.5 units of insulin right now.

As far as I've researched and seen here on FDMB, some cats are high dose cats without being acro or cushing's cats. There are also the IAA cats, that are insulin resistant (not due to glucose toxicity) that can get up to really high doses and eventually break the resistance and need lower doses. There don't seem to be many cats on Prozinc that are high dosers, I think mainly because they switched to one of the L's, hoping that would help. But some of them continue to be high dosers on the L's. Some just needed to get up over 5 units before breaking the resistance.

He was dx'd on 12/16/13, but didn't start insulin until 1/7/14.

They did look over his teeth. Vet didn't say he absolutely needed anything done, but when I go in for his urinalysis, I'll make sure I mention that.

We're kind of thinking he's got a case of insulin resistance caused by glucose toxicity. Trying to increase safely until we break the resistance. I don't know really where we'll go next if we rule out infections and his doses keep rising.

I'm just hoping he'll show me some good numbers soon. LOTS of good numbers. Not blues for 4 hours, then pinks for 4 days. :roll:
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

I know how you feel. I feel like I'v been wracking my head against a wall for over a year.

When on Lantus, it was a total disaster for 6 months! When Lucian was doing so good on Lev and it just QUIT working, I figured there was something else wrong. Took him to the vet, did his geriatric panel and several other tests and found nothing. Even his teeth 'look great' according to his vet. She said "maybe it's just not working for him any more". So after another month of battling the numbers, I went for the PZI in hopes of finding something that WOULD work for Lucian. Hopefully, it will work longer than the Lev. Not much left to try except ProZink I guess, for us.

If what you say is true, I hope you find the level that brings him down. I know how you hate seeing those high numbers all the time. That's how it was for me, with Lucian on Lantus.

Hang in there and let us know what the vet has to say. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

Yeah, it hurts my heart every time I see a pink or higher. :YMSIGH:

It seems like Lucian's doing a lot better on ProZinc. I hope it stays that way. :YMHUG:

Thanks, Deb.
 
Re: 2/24 P - AMPS: 349

Lucian's not on ProZink, he's on PZI and I hope it works well enough that we don't have to change again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top