2/24: Oren AMPS 374; bounce clearing? guess not PMPS: off meter.; pm+4 - 444

Status
Not open for further replies.
i predict he'll eat everything; he doesn't usually refuse any food! damn, wish i could get numbers during that time. next one will have to be PMPS .. (can't believe I'm saying this, when about 3 days ago i could barely get a test!).
 
DAMN!! PMPS off meter. no tests during day because at work. Did i push him too high w/ the food being left out today??? or is it time to consider a dose increase? he's been on 2 units for about 2 weeks. I knew when i got home it wasn't good, as there were 3 pees in the box, but off the meter???
 
Looking at his last green streak 3 days ago, he was only in pink by the time pmps rolled around. Tonight he's 600+. I don't think he probably got to green today.

What you did with the food was just right. If he'd needed it, it was there. I doubt the food is responsible for the HI tonight.

Can you get any tests in this evening? I'm just reluctant to increase without SEEING that he did clear the bounce. Once in a while a cat will take an extra cycle or so.
 
yes, i'll try for a few tonight. tomorrow i work from home, so should be able to get a few in again. What time frames do you suggest for this evening and/or tomorrow? does it depend again on how high? (as I write he's eating ravenously :() ? also, there were 2 very small feces in the box when i got home, and he just did one more tiny one; they all seem pretty hard. a bit constipated? update again, just pooped again, this one larger, 3 pieces and better looking, but stinky!

damn, the Lantus is not quite 1 mo. old, but could it be losing potency?
 
Last edited:
No, i don't think it's the lantus.

i'm not sure what exactly is going on, but it will become clear as you get tests in. no worries!

Some butter, olive oil, vaseline, 1 tsp pumpkin puree (no seasonings) all can help with constipation. Constipation can also increase blood sugar in some cats.

I'd get one test tonight before you go to bed - say +4 or so if you can. When to test tomorrow would depend on his amps. I usually got a +3 and a +5-6 when i was home. If he's lower, test more often. If he's HI, test once or twice mid-cycle.
 
after reading more about the "depot", I'm wondering if the few partial fur shots recently (3 in last 6 days) along with the short green spell, have contributed to this run of high numbers? great googly moogly, i have to get better at the shots!! pretty sure both of todays were good at least...
 
We all hate furshots but it happens to everyone a times. Oren will get over it, don't beat yourself up over it. P.S. no one likes to see the meter "waving" HI to them, but I have been there and done that too :rolleyes: - it will pass... you're doing a great job! :bighug:
 
well pm+4 yielded 444, interesting, last night at pm+3 it was exactly the same...still not liking these numbers, but don't know what else to do.
no more tests tonight, will resume tomorrow. bummer. taking someone's advice (forgive me for forgetting which lovely person told me) in that the bright spot today was simple 1 and done tests all 3 times. maybe that's finally going my and Oren's way. But he can't keep up these reds and blacks. NOT good...
 
Last edited:
It's not good to see reds and blacks, but i've seen cats go months with solid high numbers that still have gone off of insulin.

A lot of time these crazy high numbers are bounce numbers, and high numbers that come during a bounce aren't the same as high numbers that are from not enough insulin. Lantus dosing is based upon how low the dose will take the cat, and you've got lots of evidence that this dose will get him into greens and blues. Otherwise I'd be shouting for you to increase the dose. I really think he's got some lower numbers in there while you're at work. Let's hope they show up tomorrow when you're home. My fingers are crossed!

I'll be watching for you tomorrow.
 
very true - if you weren't patient before, you will be after doing this a while.

The one thing that i tried to tell myself was that punkin's illness belonged to him, not to me. Just a perspective that helped me separate a little bit and not have my mood go up and down with his health. As much as I could, at least.
 
right now I'm also suffering guilt feelings for not knowing better, and feeding him the dry kibble all along; perhaps bringing this on. but, that isn't productive, so just on we go...
 
no guilt, no worries. I also fed all of my cats dry food. Who knew? It's marketed and why would anyone doubt it until they ended up with a cat with diabetes or kidney disease.

You didn't cause it. Lots of cats eat dry food and don't have a problem with it - likely he has something, maybe genetic, that has made him more susceptible to diabetes. My in-laws had a cat that only ate dry food that lived to be 21. Some cats can tolerate it. I have tried to tell my friends who saw what we went through with punkin about dry food - but several still feed their cats crunchies. Until it hits you i guess it doesn't make an impression. In any case, you just plow on.

When I began the original advisor on FDMB was just going off the board. I heard many "Jojo-isms" and one of them stuck with me. She said something like "be the tank. A tank gets where it's going." It's great advice.

You will get Oren regulated. Really. He'll get there - he didn't become diabetic overnight and you're not going to get him regulated instantly, but you'll get there. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top