2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PMPS 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning from Max the "almost" rainbow kitty.
Max hit every colour on that rainbow chart yesterday except for the green, oh well.

He is very hungry in the morning and hoovers 1/2 can FF in a matter of minutes.
I leave food in the feeder at night but with the 3 cats, I am not sure if he is getting his share although his sisters spend the night in bed with us and he sleeps in the kitchen, or at least that's where he is waitng for me in the morning.

So here is my funny Max story for the day.
Last night, I am sitting and watching Idol, with my computer on my lap and Max wants on.
So, I move the computer away so he can be on my lap and nuzzle and get lots of pets.
Of course I am in heaven. Well not 10 moniutes later, DH comes over to the couch and Max
is staking him out. Once DH is all nice and settled, Max is up and off my lap and right onto him. Oh the fairness of it all. We had a good laugh though but so not funny.

I am hoping to see some more nice results today but of course in the back of my mind, well getting more close to the front is, how long should I be keeping Max on this dose? And what I mean is yes he has shown greens but we are still a long way off and when or if should he be increased?

The reason that I am asking now is that I will be going out of town from the 4th-10th, leaving Max with DH & DPS so if an increase is due I would rather do it with the weekend coming up so that I have time to get him in a good state. I don't want to increase him while I am away.
Thanks for your help as always.

Every kitty and bean have an awsome day!
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317

Randi--I had to laugh as Moonie goes back & forth between us on our couch, getting pets & scritches, but she usually sits next to me so if my DH is there, she eyeballs him till he moves & she can walk between us both :lol:
As far as changing the dose----When are you going & for how long?
I believe in keeping my cat safe....So I would have to say, with the nice blues you are getting right now, leave the dose as is..
Max is like a lot of cats here, hard to get regulated, including Moonie..
We will all be glad to stay in touch woth the DPS, or whomever is watching dear Max..
Please see what others think about the dose--Hugs to you both~!
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317

Roni and Moonie said:
As far as changing the dose----When are you going & for how long?
I believe in keeping my cat safe....So I would have to say, with the nice blues you are getting right now, leave the dose as is..

As I speak Max threw a 111 at +4 so maybe green again today.
I agree with keeping him safe but remember what happened at Christmas, but Max was still new and I was gone a long time.
This time I am leaving Thursday night (March 4) and coming back Wednesday afternoon (March 11) for a few days in Florida for DD spring break. My girls are in different schools so breaks are different.
Max will be home with regular DPS and DH, no problems there.
I just thought that would still be another 2 weeks at the 6 if I don't make any changes now.
I won't make any changes closer to leaving.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317

Sorry Randi, but I got a good laugh out of your trying to plan ahead haha_smiley - you were talking about a cat, right?

My suggestion is to leave a flowchart for DPS and DH, that gives all explicit details for the 18 branches of possibilities. A good solid if/then/else plan should be good. And whatever you do, do NOT let Max see it!

I think he missed you last time, right? I am betting that fact will play a part in what Max does too.

At any rate, you have a good week's worth of time to plan and prepare for your absence.

I think how many businesses do not do anything disruptive around critical times of the year. I know in telecoms, there are always 'freezes' or 'brownouts' to let customers know that nothing major will be done. For example, Telus has put a condition brown in effect for the duration of the Olympics in Vancouver, BC. They sent out a list detailing what would NOT be done for the duration of the Olympics.

The same could be applied to your absence and Max's situation. Depending on how Max usually reacts to changes, you may want to do something soon or just wait till after your return.

Just my thoughts, for the little they are :smile:
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

Okay be careful what you wish for cuz it might come true.

+4 Max was 111.

Had I been home I would have tested at +5 but it was not done.
Just called home when I saw the 40 and Max is being given MC (LC with gravy) and test
is being done as we speak
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

Ugh, Max sure likes to toss in some craziness!

Let's hope he comes up a bit now with the food.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

+ 6.25 he is at 64. Gave LC with gravy, she followed my instructions.
When I get homw I will see how much gracy she gave him.
I think he is very sensitive to them.
She is checking again at +7.

I am glad this finally happened when I was not home and DPS had to manage it.
No panic, very calm, she did not even vall me.
I came back to my desk at +6.25, checked the ss and almost fell off my chair
when I saw the 40.
DH is there too so he sees what is going on.

Max my crazy cat. He read my condo again this morning and see me trying
to plan an increase next week.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

Wow! Max certainly knows how to stir things up doesn't he. Way to go Max, but lets do it a little more gradually instead of all this up and down from one extreme to the other.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

Wow! Mr. Max is a trampoline artist isn't he?

Pls test before +7. 15 mins to 30 mins max IMO. Glad to hear that your entourage is getting used to the yoyo. Well done!

Also... 40 is a dosecrease (or doseshave number too me think)

Here's something for you to consider. Pls forgive me if I've mentioned it before. To damper the fall or to soften the express elevator ride, here's a suggestion. Feed Max some food at shot time, but more like a snack. Feed him a bigger snack, like almost a meal, around onset. I'd have to open your SS to see when exactly that appears to be, but I'm sure you can figure it out. The food at onset should, yeah... should.... counter effect some of the insulin and soften up the drop to look more like a curve.

So, before I have to food police after me, I am not suggesting more food in Max's belly, just a different distribution of the food schedule.

What do you think?
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122

Helene & Tizon said:
So, before I have to food police after me, I am not suggesting more food in Max's belly, just a different distribution of the food schedule.
Thanks Helene
I have a schedule at home for when Max should eat. He just hoovers his breakfast which is 1/2 can at shot time. I am going to split that up for 1/4 then 1/4 half hour later when I walk out the door.

Now I have a dosing question so ignore my first post of the day when I was asking about increasing Max. I keep forgetting he reads my condos when I go to work.

This is the second time this week he has it 40. Modified protocol would say at least 3 times on different days BG 40-50 reduce the dose.
I am good with following the revised protocol as Max has been a tough nut to crack and I do
like seeing these sporadic green.

So my question is, leave him at 6u until I see nother 40, which woul be the 3rd, or decrease now?
Shot time is at 7:00pm
Thanks
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40

Randi & Max said:
I am glad this finally happened when I was not home and DPS had to manage it.
No panic, very calm, she did not even vall me.
I came back to my desk at +6.25, checked the ss and almost fell off my chair
when I saw the 40.

She didn't call you.. but how quickly did you phone I wonder? I would have grabbed the phone and been dialing on my way down from falling off the chair :).

Password protect your computer so the cat can't read your condo and toss curve balls.. change the password daily.. cats can crack anything :).
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

Dawn & Nova said:
She didn't call you.. but how quickly did you phone I wonder? I would have grabbed the phone and been dialing on my way down from falling off the chair :).
I did Dawn, lol, well maybe not lol.
It was 15 minutes after the test, DPS had already started the MC proces and was retesting
as I called. Now I have to make sure I go for lunch before or after +6.
Very detailed list of instructions are on the kitchen counter.
She did great job but maybe gave a bit too much gravy. I told her that since it happened
at +6 there was not that huge fear he would continue to drop, unlike if it happened much earlier in the cycle but I complimenetd her on a job well done.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

This condo had a very funny progression today....started at the first post and as I was reading I was laughing more and more!!! Good ole Max... :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

Randi & Mad said:
So my question is, leave him at 6u until I see nother 40, which woul be the 3rd, or decrease now?

If you are using the 3 times then decrease modification, you wait to decrease until the third instance of numbers less than 50. So if this is the second time Max dropped, you'd continue to shoot your current dose. The other consideration which I think is viable for Max, and this is regardless of whether you're using the original Tilly vs. the modification, is that it is likely that Max will have bounced up to a higher number by PS time. If his numbers are over 300, I would shoot the old dose through the rebound.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
Randi & Mad said:
So my question is, leave him at 6u until I see nother 40, which woul be the 3rd, or decrease now?

If you are using the 3 times then decrease modification, you wait to decrease until the third instance of numbers less than 50. So if this is the second time Max dropped, you'd continue to shoot your current dose. The other consideration which I think is viable for Max, and this is regardless of whether you're using the original Tilly vs. the modification, is that it is likely that Max will have bounced up to a higher number by PS time. If his numbers are over 300, I would shoot the old dose through the rebound.
Thanks Sienne. I think for Max the revised protocol is a good choice for him, especially at 6u and not those microdoses of some other kitties here. lol.
I am anxious to see what PMPS will be seeing that +9 is only 122.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

LOL, Max is such a comedian, isn't he? :lol:

40 is right on the edge, but as much as you test I think if you want to hold on to the dose for a tad bit longer that should be ok. I would at least hold the dose through the rebound.
 
Re: 2/24 Max AMPS 317~+6 40~+9 122~PM Dose Advice

Libby and Lucy said:
LOL, Max is such a comedian, isn't he? :lol:

40 is right on the edge, but as much as you test I think if you want to hold on to the dose for a tad bit longer that should be ok. I would at least hold the dose through the rebound.

What if his PMPS is below 300? Max rarely sees a ellow PMPS so that would not be rebound.
I am inclined to hold it and see what happens tonight (no sleep, you hear Max) or tomorrow.
 
OMG OMG OMG!!! You must have fainted at 40!!! Moonie had a 27 once & I turned BLUE!!!!(held my breath too long) :lol: :lol:
Glad he came up so nicely with someone other than you at the helm...Now you have a little less worries about going away--Max can be managed, experience was gained today!! Just the phone call would have been good!
Moonie will have to hold some low numbers a few times as well, as she tends to not hold a dose decrease that well like Max--See the similarites with these 2??? Full Moon party, could be interesting.... :razz:
 
Goodness! I am getting dizzy just trying to follow Max's numbers!

Max, when all of us wanted you to come up, we did not mean this high up! ohmygod_smile Let's try this one more time now, Max; slowly, come down slowly.

I hope you have a much calmer nite tonite Randi.
 
(((Randi & Max))) You sure do have a Rainbow of colors.. these crazy kitties haha_smiley

Max looks like he had a good AM cycle :thumbup

Best wishes to you with the dosecrease & I totally understand wanting to do it when you are around.. I am the very same way ;-)
 
exciting day here for Max!!

Good job DPS!! She's learning and she's doing a good job too!

:dizcat no more silly's Max!! :lol: (yea right)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top