2/24 Luci AMPS 108 - Update - Cast Removed! And surfing the lagoon too!

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Sunday's condo

Luci's appointment for another evaluation of her broken foot is this morning - hopefully this is IT. If the bone is healed the cast can come off! Fingers and paws crossed...I'll post the results and some more pics from the art show later...

Luci's cast has been removed! However, she isn't really able to use that foot very well at all. Not unexpected that her foot would be weak and she's favoring it and she's keeping it off the floor...and the poor baby is limping around here looking for a comfortable place.

I certainly hope that it's just a matter of needing a little PT and it'll take some time to get used to the fact that there's no cast to help support her foot. It has after all been 3 1/2 months that she's been wearing this cast so she's become accustomed to the support.

The vet said that he wanted us to give it a few weeks before we proceed with the dental in hopes that she will become used to using her foot again. IF she's in pain and after a while unable to walk on her foot, the toe will need to be amputated.

Let's hope that she just needs a little time to get used to walking on her foot again.

Fingers and paws crossed...prayers helpful. I know that the collective power of this group is a mighty healing force. Thanks everyone in advance! :bighug:
LuciWithoutCast.jpg
 

Attachments

  • LuciWithoutCast.jpg
    LuciWithoutCast.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 235
Last edited:
oh awesome! I'm glad that the cast could come off and I am sending all the healing vines so that she can use her foot normally soon and avoid a toe amputation :)

feel better soon Luci!
 
Fantastic!!! How is she?

She's limping and hobbling around...seems to be having a hard time finding a comfy spot. I'm wondering if the foot is just sore and weak from her not having walked on it for 3 1/2 months or if she's in pain???? She won't talk to me about it at all...but her numbers are dropping like a rock...which seems so odd considering the stressful morning she had...or was it just me? She's certainly guarding that foot...and doesn't want to put it on the floor when walking...and now she's heading behind the sofa...ugh...

I sure hope she just needs some time...and that it's nothing more serious...:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
I know when I got out of my cast for a broken foot, I was limping for a while. It wasn't even painful for me, it was just that all the muscles had atrophied and things just didn't seem to be working correctly. And I was only in the cast for six weeks or so-- poor Luci has been in that thing for months! It will take some time for the normal stuff like that to go away so that you can figure out if she's got some deeper problems.
 
So true what Nan said. And also, it must feel really weird to her, she got used to having compression around it and now there's none. Poor Luci, I hope it's not hurting. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She was relying on the cast, now she will have to learn to use the muscles a little. It is ok, it happens to everyone. Give her a couple of days to realize how to use it again. The cast was more like a crutch and that is why it was comfortable. Now she may be also afraid to put it down so it would not break again. That is great news Luci and congrats for the blues in amps :bighug::bighug::bighug::kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
Sunday's condo

Luci's appointment for another evaluation of her broken foot is this morning - hopefully this is IT. If the bone is healed the cast can come off! Fingers and paws crossed...I'll post the results and some more pics from the art show later...

Luci's cast has been removed! However, she isn't really able to use that foot very well at all. Not unexpected that her foot would be weak and she's favoring it and she's keeping it off the floor...and the poor baby is limping around here looking for a comfortable place.

I certainly hope that it's just a matter of needing a little PT and it'll take some time to get used to the fact that there's no cast to help support her foot. It has after all been 3 1/2 months that she's been wearing this cast so she's become accustomed to the support.

The vet said that he wanted us to give it a few weeks before we proceed with the dental in hopes that she will become used to using her foot again. IF she's in pain and after a while unable to walk on her foot, the toe will need to be amputated.

Let's hope that she just needs a little time to get used to walking on her foot again.

Fingers and paws crossed...prayers helpful. I know that the collective power of this group is a mighty healing force. Thanks everyone in advance! :bighug:
View attachment 51492
She is a BEAUTY!!! Look at her doing beauty work on her leg. She did not see that leg in a while and she might wonder why she needs four of them now when 3 and a cast were enough...hahahahaha. Mama Sue, you have to understand that she cannot go explore the world before exploring her own leg she did not see in months. Is it possible that she might have some pain now that the cast is not there anymore?
 
She's limping and hobbling around...seems to be having a hard time finding a comfy spot. I'm wondering if the foot is just sore and weak from her not having walked on it for 3 1/2 months or if she's in pain???? She won't talk to me about it at all...but her numbers are dropping like a rock...which seems so odd considering the stressful morning she had...or was it just me? She's certainly guarding that foot...and doesn't want to put it on the floor when walking...and now she's heading behind the sofa...ugh...

I sure hope she just needs some time...and that it's nothing more serious...:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
Walter and I agree with the others--Luci probably just needs some time to adjust. We're sending you warm and positive thoughts and prayers.
 
She is a BEAUTY!!! Look at her doing beauty work on her leg. She did not see that leg in a while and she might wonder why she needs four of them now when 3 and a cast were enough...hahahahaha. Mama Sue, you have to understand that she cannot go explore the world before exploring her own leg she did not see in months. Is it possible that she might have some pain now that the cast is not there anymore?

I'm wondering about that...she only walks short distances now ... and then she lays down on her side and extends her foot like she became used to doing when the cast was on. She isn't crying or growling or any thing like that so it's hard to say whether the foot is painful or if her behavior is due to such a foreign feeling...If I had to guess I'd say that her foot is weakened and her muscles are atrophied from not being used in such a long time and her foot - being newly exposed to the air is probably super sensitive and she just doesn't know what to think. She does seem to lick it...I can only assume that's part of her healing process...she is unsure of where to find her comfy spot and goes back and forth from inside to outside to the lanai holding her little foot up...poor thing...just breaks my heart to see her so unsteady and possibly uncomfortable...but that's the same thing we encountered in the beginning when she first wore the cast...she'd walk, then lay down, then walk...until she adjusted to it and then running and acting silly with that cast a-thumping along...

I'm hoping that each day will bring strength and healing to that foot....stay tuned!

Hope you and Chanel are having a good day!
 
Have you tried touching her leg? I'm wondering if she'll let you or pull away? That was a really long time for her to be in a cast. Hopefully it will just take time for her to re adjust? Baby steps!
images
 
Have you tried touching her leg? I'm wondering if she'll let you or pull away? That was a really long time for her to be in a cast. Hopefully it will just take time for her to re adjust? Baby steps!
images

She won't let me touch her feet when they're well...much less now....

She's laying out there on the lanai...she looks comfortable enough...
 
Yeah for the cast coming off! Hopefully she's taking in some healing sunshine. Did the vet give you any physio exercises to do?

No, he didn't mention it at all...

I was just joking when I said she needed PT...I wouldn't have a clue as to how to go about getting her to participate in PT...maybe she should have a visiting physical therapist - like DH last year when he had his knee replacement?
 
I have had a vet show me how to do PT but that was someone who was trained in more than just basic vet medicine. She also did chiro, acupuncture, chinese meds. If it works for people, it should work for cats. I think the basic problem is you would have to touch her leg. :mad:
 
There is rehab for felines. You can ask your vet for a referral or contact your nearest University Small Animal Hospital & they should be able to help you. Sometimes they can give you a protocol and you can manage it at home, including instructions pertaining to massage. Obviously treatments like acupuncture or laser therapy would have to be done either by a vet who comes to the home or by a clinic near you that offers it :)
 
My local specialty vet clinic also has a rehab specialist, so worth checking if you have one near you. Dogs often get swim therapy, don’t think that will work for Luci!
 
They actually do underwater treadmill with cats now as well :joyful:. Ortho rehab as well as for obese cats with arthritis are two examples where they will use it. It’s awesome!

Definitely reach out or have your vet reach out to a specialist. If you don’t have a rehab near you, your vet could probably discuss the case with a facility to get some suggestions for you to do at home.
 
So glad to hear that the cast is off. I'm sure that Luci will heal nicely in her own good time. She needs to get used to "normal" again. Sending lots of strength and vines to your girl.
and some :bighug::bighug::bighug:s for you, Sue.
 
Back
Top