2/24 Leo +1.4=72 +2.25=44 +3=76 +4=69 +5=58 +7.5=43 +8.5=70 PM=170 +1.5=360 +4.75=562

La-La Leo (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Definitely three drops under 50 since 2/18, and even more before that, but had a .25 reduction for one cycle, 2/13. Maybe I shouldn't have dropped for that one day OR the too quick increase after the decrease. Where do I find the details where the under 50 drops for a long term diabetic and going under 40 as the reason for a .25 reduction?
I'm having to use higher carb food too frequently to keep him from going under.
I still flounder in this area of dosing. :oops:

I will post this in one of the other forums I never realized is a hot spot of questions and answers! I. Am. Super. Slow.
 
Last edited:
I did a search on our board and found Chris and China had said to you

On long term diabetics doing TR, it's when they drop below 50 three times or below 40 once.

Generally, we want the three drops below 50 to be fairly close together.
Does this help :cat:

Found another post by another member
If you are following TR for dosing, a long term diabetic (diagnosed originally over 12 months ago), earns a reduction by either going a week in solid green or by going under 50. For a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, you can try 3 times, on separate days, between 40 and 49.
 
Yesterday

Definitely three drops under 50 since 2/18, and even more before that, but had a .25 reduction for one cycle, 2/13. Maybe I shouldn't have dropped for that one day OR the increase. Where do I find the details where the under 50 drops for a long term diabetic and going under 40 as the reason for a .25 reduction?
I'm having to use higher carb food too frequently to keep him from going under.
I still flounder in this area of dosing. :oops:

I will post this in one of the other forums I never realized is a hot spot of questions and answers! I. Am. Super. Slow.
@La-La Leo

Let me tag
@Chris & China (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
Maybe they can explain it better than I can
 
Where do I find the details where the under 50 drops for a long term diabetic and going under 40 as the reason for a .25 reduction?
Hi Joni, here is the sticky for earning reductions:
Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

I'm having to use higher carb food too frequently to keep him from going under.
For long term diabetics, the reduction point is 40. However some caregivers are uncomfortable with the cat dropping to the 30s and choose to follow the 3 drops rule for earning reductions. If you find that you are using too much carbs to keep him over 50, it might be safer to take the reduction to 1.75U. He might bounce from the lows, so you want to give the reduced dose at least 8 cycles to see what he does on it.
 
Yes. Since you find that you're using too much carbs to prop him up and he has dropped below 50 multiple times on this dose, you can try a reduction from tonight.

Thank you, for that confirmation.

Now back to my search for higher LC food. I have 10% I can add to increase the percentage from VLC to LC, but finding an 8% hasn't worked out yet as far as Chewy carrying one I find.
 
Thank you, @Diane Tyler's Mom & @Bandit's Mom. Added this to my SS with a yellow highlighted cell:

3 Dose Rule: "On long term diabetics doing TR, it's when they drop below 50 three times OR below 40 once.

Generally, we want the three drops below 50 to be fairly close together."
"If you are following TR for dosing, a long term diabetic (diagnosed originally over 12 months ago), earns a reduction by either going a week in solid green or by going under 50. For a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, you can try 3 times, on separate days, between 40 and 49."
I shouldn't have to ask again. Oh, the patience you display!! ♡☆♡☆♡☆♡
 
Using the carb calculator @Wendy&Neko shares is interesting...
The 15% I thought I was using is 14% (FF GL Ch & B); plus the way higher carb food* is really only 16% (WELLNESS - SIGNATURE SELECTS Beef & Chicken in sauce), so the catinfo.org database really should be used as guide, but follow-up by using,
https://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html.

*Thankfully not as high as I thought, but certainly off the mark of even a 20%!
 
I don't have a carb calculator I share, you must have been thinking of someone else.

For long term diabetics, the reduction point is 40. However some caregivers are uncomfortable with the cat dropping to the 30s and choose to follow the 3 drops rule for earning reductions.
Tweaking this a bit. For long term diabetics, the reduction point is under 40 or one week is solid green. For caregivers who have a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, (long term or newly diagnosed), then the 3 drops on separate days between 40 and 49 can be used, or once under 40 if that happens first. There is no guideline for caregivers not comfortable with drops into the 30's. Having said that, if a cat has been diabetic over a year, chances are that they don't hold reductions well. But not always.
 
Back
Top