2/24 Kitty AMPS 338, +4 257, PMPS 398! Dose advise again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Good morning!
Kitty's AMPS was up again to 338, sigh. Oh well...

Since i will be away for a week starting tomorrow, I thought to start the lower dose now, down from 2.5U to 2U.
Do you think Kitty will be safe with 2U, or any other suggestions? He is on dry food still and kitty sitter does not test BG.
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338 & starting to get prepared to be awa

here's your condo from yesterday


you may want to go to 1.5u to be safe, as long as Kitty hasn't had a history of ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis. i think you would know if he had. you've had such a good response to the lantus so far - that 95 last night is a good sign. you just don't want that good response while he's home alone!

but of course, you know kitty best and the decision is up to you.

you could add "dose advice?" to your subject line to get more thoughts on it.

you can pick up ketostix at any US pharmacy, same product that people use. they're found in the section with diabetic supplies.

i'd encourage you to get the syringes with .5u markings. i don't know you can get them over the counter, though, basically they are for pets, i believe. i don't think people use doses that tiny. many of us order online - perhaps there is an address you could send them to and get the supplies while you're here. hocks.com, americandiabeteswholesale.com both are used a lot by people here who buy online.

have a great trip!
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338 & dose advise?

Thanks Julie for all your advise - most helpful and so comforting to know that I am not alone with all of this :)

I have syringes with .5 markings and they work just fine.
My logic for thinking of doing 2U was that Kitty was on 2U for first 2 weeks and then his readings were consistently in 300's. Ok, that was still the time when he was adjusting to Lantus, so I guess now it has changed as he's now responding more to 2.5U dose...
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338 & dose advise?

ok - i wasn't certain if you'd gotten the .5u when you got syringes or not. excellent.

you're definitely not alone. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338 & dose advise?

Mia...I agree with Julie that 1.5u is probably safer. Sometimes when kitties start to do well and adjust to a dose, they can come down. If he's not a DKA kitty, I'd give him 1.5u.

Have a safe trip.
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338, +4 257, PMPS 398!

Hmmmm.... I took's Kitty's dose down to 2U this morning. I was only able to get +4 reading and it was 257. Now PMPS is almost 400! Quite a change from the pretty nice readings earlier this week... Can it really be that the lower 2U dose this morning made just a dramatic difference BG just today?

I was considering to give him keep him with 1.5u when i am gone, but this makes me think if I should remain at 2U.... Or perhaps I just give the advise to my pet sitter that she gives 1.5U but if the litter box is heavily used in 2-3 days, she could increase it to 2U? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338, +4 257, PMPS 398! Dose advise again

Hello Mia,

This is my first visit to your condo - I saw you had a question and wandered in.

the 398 *may* partly be a reaction to the lovely greens on 02/23/PM; Kitty is not used to those numbers and his liver may have sensed danger casing glucagen and counter-regulatory hormones to be dumped into the bloodstream. This is referred to as a "bounce" and can take up to 72 hours to clear. You always want to be sure a bounce has cleared before making dose adjustments.

FWIW I think Julie and Marjorie's suggestion of 1.5u, as long as Kitty has no history of ketones, is wise, particularly since the pet sitter will not be testing. Better a day too high than an hour too low if you are away.
 
Re: 2/24 Kitty AMPS 338, +4 257, PMPS 398! Dose advise again

hi mia,

not sure if you've left yet, but i saw your question about the high number. you were going to switch Kitty back to the dry food for while you were gone - if you did that, it could also explain the higher numbers. it might be a combination of these factors - bouncing off the lower-than-used-to numbers + less insulin + more dry food. not really any way to know which of those things, but each one of them alone could cause high numbers.

regarding this morning's dose - i screwed up and forgot to pick up punkin's insulin yesterday - so today he got less than 1/3 of his usual dose. tonight he's at 528. :sad: so yes, a drop in dose can show up immediately.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top