2/24 Checkers pmps 208 +2/187

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

Good morning guys .. nice ambg checkers! I can't believe he has been gone that long already .. You guys must have gotten the early bird special :lol: I bet checkers can't wait to come home ...
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

Sending good dental vetty vines. Hope all goes swimingly and Checkers is home with you soon
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

Good morning, Barb and Checks!!

Sending good vetty dental vines to Checkers today. I know what you mean about missing him already. Any time I go on vacation, I miss my boys so much I look for them every time I enter my hotel room. He'll be back with you soon enough, with a nice clean grill!
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

Teeth are done, with no extractions....for now. Upper canines showed pain when touched, even under anesthsia.
Tech that always does Check's teeth and knows him well, and has been 'watching' these teeth for a while, says it's a big extraction and obviously don't want to do it until necessary.
I only talked to her on phone, so have lots of questions about condition of those teeth...like what exactly is causing the pain.
I will get better details from the vet, when I pick him up later.
Will get results of T4, also.
Trying to keep this short. I could ramble on and on about worries that he will be in pain and I won't know it.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

I'm glad his cleaning is done and that he didn't need any extractions, for now. Mocha had both of her upper canines taken out when she had her dental done. They needed to come out because of FORL's, kinda like kitty cavities I guess? Anyways, mocha did fine with her extractions .. the only problem is now sometimes the tip of her tongue falls out of her mouth :lol: when we touch it, she pulls it right back in :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

Morning, Barb! so glad to hear the dental went well...

can't wait till you get him back home...

we're looking forward to his sparkly grin!

:lol: :lol: at Devon's story...
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197

I'm glad the dental went well, having them under is always nerve wracking. I hope Checks is home soon.

Checks! You need a spa treatment? KTSS is on the road all over the place and we can stop by! -- Tess
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

WOW - dental day - i am so glad that it went well, and no extractions for now. I have had kitties that have had to have canines removed, with no problems. The pain comment would bother me some - I hope he isn't in pain more often than not... ?? I bet he will be so glad to be home.... wow on the 436: dental stress! I'm sure it will come down once he gets back into the groove.

Checkers!! The KTSS will stop and pay you a visit. Spa treatment? We are going everywhere today and want to see you too. Tobey gives the best massages! See you soon. You be good, relax now - the worst is over.... did your bean starve you this morning? I hated that part... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

The teeth turned out to be the least of my worries. Upper canines need to be watched.
Checks is borderline hyperT. His T4 Snap Test was 4. Last test was 2 years ago, when it was 3.

I could have put him on Tapazole right away, but doc wanted me to research and learn all I could, good and bad, before making the decision. It didn't have to be done today....but soon.
We didn't do a complete blood panel today, not my choice, I thought it was being done.
Six months ago, his bloodwork was perfect. Right down the middle of normal for everything except glucose.

There are symptoms of hyperT, now that I know what I'm looking at, so he will be put on meds.
It's going to be a problem pilling Checkers, especially twice a day.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

Barb, I know you are going to do your research and make sure checkers is taken care of ... Our civvie twix NEVER took a pill in her life .. Even as a kitten the vet shoved a pill down her throat with some sort of device and said There! Then five seconds later twix foamed up the entire pill, whole.

Now, the last time she was really itchy we had to give her AB's for a whole week .. we shoved them inside greenie pill pockets and she ate those bad boys like they were the best things on earth! I know checkers isn't a huge foodie, but maybe try those and see how he does. I think we used chicken flavor.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

uh oh...this wasnt what we were expecting to hear...

but it's the explanation for the concerns you were having, right, barb?

now i'm off to research hyperT in cats...i am woefully ignorant about it...
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

Glad Chex is home and made it through the dental okay. So sorry about the other diagnosis...but wonderful you have a vet that doesn't just hand you pills and tell you to blindly does them. So refreshing to read about a vet telling you to do research to make an informed decision!! :shock: :shock:

Hope you guys have a great night!
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

happy to hear checkers' dental is done! bet you are, too.
you know the routine... feed only small amounts for the next few hours. you don't want him to vomit. if he's having problems eating (some do, some don't) you can add water to his food so he can lap it up easily. tonight you might want to shoot a reduced dose. some kitties experience a blood glucose lowering effect from the anesthesia a few hours into the PM cycle. keep an eye on his numbers tonight.

i'm not familiar with the snap test, but if checkers does need tapazole, it can be given as a transdermal gel rubbed on the inside of the ear.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

Im not familiar with a snap test either - do you medicate based on this or is full blood work best?

I think HyperT is extremely common in older cats. Maverick seems to be tested for this every year. When he was younger they didn't bother testing this ever.

Wow on the post dental BG. Goes to show you what stress can do. Hugs for Checkers today.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

I know hyperT is common in older cats. I didn't expect that diagnosis tho. We never do, do we? I'm very upset right now, because all meds come with side effects, Tapazole included
Jill mentioned reduced dose. I was wondering if I should shoot a little earlier, because he skipped this morning, but he has come down on his own.
In light of this, should I shoot normal dose, at proper time?
Doc is pleased with Check's progress with diabetes.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers AMBG 197 Post Dental 436

Barb & Checkers said:
Jill mentioned reduced dose. I was wondering if I should shoot a little earlier, because he skipped this morning, but he has come down on his own.
In light of this, should I shoot normal dose, at proper time?
what has he come down to?
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

ok, i see your edited the subject line.
checkers has come down to 239 @ +22. is that correct?
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Sorry I wanted to be comforting that its common and you'll get lots of help with it :(
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

barb, i have to pill alex. i'll be right back so we can continue this conversation.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

yes Jill, 239....shot due in one and a half hours. 7:30 EST

I read about the gel when I got home. I need to ask doc, because I can't pill Checks more than twice, then he won't let me near him after that.

I read there are lowcarb pill pockets. He loves the original.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

don't shoot early, k?
checkers is experiencing what we call the "nom-nom" effect from having been put under anesthesia today.

if I were in your shoes i would shoot a reduced dose tonight no matter what the preshot number is. checker's numbers may run a little bit higher tonight from the reduced shot, but that's ok. it's much harder to bring numbers up when we're dealing with the nom-nom effect. better safe than sorry by shooting a reduced dose.

ss isn't up-to-date. is checkers still on a fat 0.5u?
if so, i'd shoot a fat 0.25u tonight. you can go back to the regular dose in the morning.

how is checkers doing? eating?
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Thank you Jill. Yes, he is stil on F.5.
He has been very hungry since he came home today. I've been feeding a little at a time. I don't want him to eat now until ps test, but he still wants food.
Should I feed? I'm going to reduce dose to F.25 anyway.

I was using an old laptop , so it was taking forver to answer you. I'm on my 'fast' dialup desktop now :-D


EDA. offered food. he refused. good. I'll get a better preshot test in 45 minutes
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

i'd let him eat little bits at a time even though it's within 2 hours of shot time. he's hungry, been through a lot, and you're reducing the dose. we're not looking for an award winning cycle tonight. all you want to do is get some insulin in him and not have to fight low numbers all night long.
tonight, both you and checkers need a break. tomorrow, you can get back to business as usual.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

ps --- "IF" checkers should continue dropping into the low 100s or below at pmps time, post the number BEFORE shooting and ask for advice, k?
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

I was typing while you were. He refused the food.

I got to the kitchen just in time to see him about to knock a glass of milk on the floor.....on purpose.
Apparently he's feeling good.

Jill thank you for taking the time to advise us.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Stop typing faster than me. :lol:

I absolutely will look for advice if he is low at preshot.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

see if he'll eat in a little while. you could try another food. :-D
see my "ps" above...
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

don't want to interrupt...just letting you know we're thinking of you
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Will try his favorite fish FF in half hour. That'll give food on board for shot.

The civvies were happy to clean his plate for him. :-D



Hi Celi. :-D
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Here's a link to a good site for hyperthyroid info and a vet site on the topic.

My read of the Snap T4 is that it's a screening test. I suspect you need to still get a Free T4 in order to confirm the diagnosis. Ella/Rusty may be a good resource for info. Stu was going to have radioactive iodine treatment for hyper-T.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

I remember that about Ella and Stu, Sienne. My head is swimming right now with hyperthyroid info.
My DD's old cat is on Tapazole for it. I'm going to see about the gel. Checks won't let me pill him, and he isn't a good enough eater to hide it in his food.
I'm still learning.

Thank you for links. Will check after doing SS

He gave me a 208 for pmps, and I reduced from fat 0.5 to fat .25.

Gotta update SS, which slows down 'puter, so will check condos later.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers ambg 197 Post Dental 436.. 239 /2hours P

Hi Barb - Good luck with Checkers. having gone through this a few months ago with Mannie I thought i'd throw in my 2 cents, FWIW. Mannie has a few anesthesia issues - and due to that I also had to shoot a reduced that night, as well as the next morning. I took him a long time to want to eat, and I ended up finger feeding him syringing water. Long story.... Went back to the original dose when he would eat - come to find out that with the clean teeth etc, his original dose was now too much. It was a long night that night, and very difficult to keep Mannie's numbers up. I ended up skipping a shot. Bottom line I guess is: be prepared to watch him for the next day or so.

Sorry for the Hyper T diagnosis. Try not to worry - it is treatable. Ella would be a good source for you. I have also been through this with another kitty. We opted for the radioactive iodine treatment. it is pricey, but it does work, and no pills! I founds for us that the price of the pills long term over the price of the treatment would have costed us more.
 
Re: 2/24 Checkers pmps 208

http://www.animalhealth.msu.edu/Bin/Cat ... st&Id=2172 Barb we do snap T4 all the time where I was working and its pretty reliable but many times the vets wanted more information and we use Mich state for our K9 and feline thyroid panels so you could get this for Checkers if you wanted more info but the snap test IMO of doing bloodwork for 14 yrs is pretty darn good sorry to hear he is going to have to get meds I understand trouble pilling I have 2 abys here that even with a pill gun there is no way I can pill them I think I am going to try the greenie pill pockets next time they need something. Glad the dental went well (((((HUGS))))))
 
Barb..glad the dental went well and glad to see this decent PMPS...guess you shot the reduced dose.

I have lots of experience with hyperT, too. To check hyperT in our older kitties, I send the blood to Dr. Dodds at hemopet.com. She is an authority on thyroid issues esp geriatrics; you can't diagnose hyperT with one number and lots of vets try to do that. You need to look at free and total T4 and free and total T3; Dr. Dodds does that and it is CHEAPER than Antech by a longshot. Let me know if and when you want additional info. We also had the I131 done on our Gussie several years ago after he was hyperT for three years.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top