2/24 Baby G AMPS 358 +5 299 PMPS 301 +2 233 +4 210 +6 175!!

How do we know if this is because she needs more insulin vs too much insulin? I'm guessing because we're not catching any lows?
Yes. You know she isn't bouncing from lows because you are (a) getting enough tests to see how low she is going and (b) you are increasing by 0.25U so there is no chance of bypassing a good dose.

How could she have such glucose toxicity when less than a month ago she had blues.
Some cats have gotten glucose toxicity within days of a failed reduction. So it's possible.
 
Ok, thanks for answering my questions. I appreciate it. I even tried a test with another meter just in case there was something wrong with my usual meter, but the results were almost identical so I ruled that out.
 
I guess I was worried too about bypassing a good dose since we're going faster and I've seen her react to a dose later on after holding it longer, though normally she shows a response pretty quick to a dose change so that doesn't always mean anything either. She's still not fully converting over to wet either, but I keep offering different ones to entice her. Sunday I work my second job from 8 to 3 and she gets her shot around 7... if we increase again tomorrow, will that still be ok for Sunday since I won't be able to get a test in for the AM cycle until I get home around almost 4? That job unfortunately is even further away and doesnt give me a lunch break that allows me to come home.
 
I guess I was worried too about bypassing a good dose since we're going faster and I've seen her react to a dose later on after holding it longer, though normally she shows a response pretty quick to a dose change so that doesn't always mean anything either.
I don't think she has bypassed a good dose. You would see lower numbers at some point.

Sunday I work my second job from 8 to 3 and she gets her shot around 7... if we increase again tomorrow, will that still be ok for Sunday since I won't be able to get a test in for the AM cycle until I get home around almost 4? That job unfortunately is even further away and doesnt give me a lunch break that allows me to come home.
I think it will be okay. Do you have an autofeeder or any way for her to have access to food when you are away?
 
I checked the mail yesterday evening and nothing. Going to check it again tomorrow morning. Even though YA emailed me first and I was under the impression they had mailed out the food right away, they emailed me today saying just now it was going out, so who knows, lol. But they said they are including some of the Zero treats for diabetics, too, so I guess good things come to those who wait. :)
 
Also, think we got her prescription refill all sorted out and set up now with her current vet, so I'm happy about that. We talked briefly about her numbers and the vet said she may have to go up to 4 units, which kind of seems like the direction she's going, as we've been seeing...however, the vet thinks to hold the 3.5 but I'm worried about the whole toxicity thing and can obviously do quarter units with the calipers, so the 3.75 seems a good compromise.
That reminds me, sometimes I get irritated that even with calipers, the dose can be a hair off because sometimes the lip of the barrel can be tilted OR the plunger inside can be tilted and wonky, too, so I try to do my best with it. I realize there's no such thing as perfect, though. Anyone else have that problem? I don't run into it all the time, but it happens. This is with the Relion syringes from Walmart.
 
I would continue to increase only 0.25u and not go straight up to 4U. That way there is no chance of bypassing a good dose. In fact, if you see blue tonight, you want to hold the 3.5U dose longer.

That reminds me, sometimes I get irritated that even with calipers, the dose can be a hair off because sometimes the lip of the barrel can be tilted OR the plunger inside can be tilted and wonky, too, so I try to do my best with it. I realize there's no such thing as perfect, though. Anyone else have that problem? I don't run into it all the time, but it happens. This is with the Relion syringes from Walmart.
Yeah, I've found this with many brands of syringes. I use ReliOn now but I've used SureComfort and CarePoint Vet as well. We do the best we can!
 
Excellent! Hold this dose now. Don't increase tomorrow. She has broken through to blues and the switch to YA/Elsey's will also make a big difference. :cool::cool::cool:
 
Also, think we got her prescription refill all sorted out and set up now with her current vet, so I'm happy about that. We talked briefly about her numbers and the vet said she may have to go up to 4 units, which kind of seems like the direction she's going, as we've been seeing...however, the vet thinks to hold the 3.5 but I'm worried about the whole toxicity thing and can obviously do quarter units with the calipers, so the 3.75 seems a good compromise.
That reminds me, sometimes I get irritated that even with calipers, the dose can be a hair off because sometimes the lip of the barrel can be tilted OR the plunger inside can be tilted and wonky, too, so I try to do my best with it. I realize there's no such thing as perfect, though. Anyone else have that problem? I don't run into it all the time, but it happens. This is with the Relion syringes from Walmart.

Yes, I am not a fan of the Relion syringes. I am using the Carepoint brand.

With my last sugar cat, Walgreens used to have their own brand, and they were the best, but they discontinued them. Even the BD syringes sometimes have a wonky plunger.
 
Back
Top