2.24.22 - Gizmo - AMPS 292

And just when I think none of this makes sense, she pulls 211 at PMPS. I’m inclined to reduce.
Go with your gut, no harm. She doesn't seem to be bouncing, if she was going to it probably would have happened already

Responding to other part shortly...
 
I would do the food both cycles, since at least right now it seems to affect her the same way each cycle for the most part

Each cat reacts to insulin differently. Some do nicely on ProZinc, others take awhile to settle in, some never do.

The depot insulins (Lantus/semglee/glargine/basaglar, Levemir/detemir) are usually the most stable, but even some cats swing on those. I usually let people try to optimize on ProZinc for a month or two, then start thinking about a switch
 
I would do the food both cycles, since at least right now it seems to affect her the same way each cycle for the most part

Each cat reacts to insulin differently. Some do nicely on ProZinc, others take awhile to settle in, some never do.

The depot insulins (Lantus/semglee/glargine/basaglar, Levemir/detemir) are usually the most stable, but even some cats swing on those. I usually let people try to optimize on ProZinc for a month or two, then start thinking about a switch
It sure is a living, breathing process, that’s for damn sure.
 
down to 1 or just a .5 you think?
1U, assuming you can keep an eye. 0.75U if you really want to be comfortable, I think 0.5U too low.

Remember it's not linear, so just because she's dropped 200-300 pts at 1.25U does not mean the same will happen at these lower numbers.
 
You're in the weird in-between land, where her body wants to come down but is still fighting itself. It's a haul to get regulated, but once she is it's usually fairly smooth sailing
 
You're in the weird in-between land, where her body wants to come down but is still fighting itself. It's a haul to get regulated, but once she is it's usually fairly smooth sailing

thank you for all your help today, I know it’s been a constant whirlwind. Idk how I would get through any of this without someone to bounce this stuff off of.
 
1U, assuming you can keep an eye. 0.75U if you really want to be comfortable, I think 0.5U too low.

Remember it's not linear, so just because she's dropped 200-300 pts at 1.25U does not mean the same will happen at these lower numbers.
I think I’ll do .75, gotta be out most of the night grocery shopping and errands.
 
Side note, I just opened the can of DM for later and gave her like a pea sized amount to see if she actually likes it and she went nuts and is now refusing the other stuff. FML. :banghead:
 
Side note, I just opened the can of DM for later and gave her like a pea sized amount to see if she actually likes it and she went nuts and is now refusing the other stuff. FML. :banghead:
Hahaha hopefully it's just the newness of it, many of them get sick of it quickly.

Now when you actually need her to eat it she'll turn her nose up I'm sure.

And you're welcome for the help, it's why we're here
 
Gizmooooooo

I'd move that DM to 2.5 ish

when we are admonishing her, we can add to that “Gizmo Lynne”. Cause you know, she has a middle name and all. Of course we only took two bites of the DM and it has to be administered straight from the can. Fabulous. Might have to do the 13% ones.
 
Without it she probably would have gone below 90. If you don't think she'll reliably eat it, might be better to reduce to 1U. Your call
 
I’m starting to get kinda good at predicting it a little and encouraging her to eat it, then like you said, I can get it to stay flat. I’m giving her a little break here to nap but gonna test again in 45 minutes or so. I’m just concerned that if I’m not home or next week for my trip, there won’t be anyone here to say c’mon, eat this, stir it around with a fork, bring it to her. She requires that kind of coddling. I’m inclined to reduce it to see what actually happens. As we saw last night, she didn’t go high from that .75. I’m just thinking if I can’t do so much management all the time, it might be better to restart at 1 once we get this food routine more stable and then increase from there. We’ve made so many changes these past few weeks it would be interesting to see what 1 does.
 
We don’t know, maybe 1 could be the right dose for now and we went past it with all the changes. Not all of this routine and food was set in at that juncture I went up to 1.5.
 
Going to try to make the most out of the next few days while I’m still here testing. Feeling hopeful for the first time!

Will start a new thread tomorrow if no developments tonight. Thanks for checking in!
 
Yes very happy to see it!

We would reduce while you're gone, just have to see where she settles
PS - just sent the vet a screenshot of the spreadsheet. “You go girl, you don’t even need me!” Glad I paid $2000 a few weeks ago to not even need you. -_- I better get whatever prescriptions I need going forward with a text message alone lol.
 
It's funny these are the numbers you want, but it's scary the first few times. Not a bad drop between PMPS, so just check in 45 mins or so (can always do sooner if you want, just trying to spare her ears a bit). Don't want to wait an hour just in case she's got another big drop
 
It's funny these are the numbers you want, but it's scary the first few times. Not a bad drop between PMPS, so just check in 45 mins or so (can always do sooner if you want, just trying to spare her ears a bit). Don't want to wait an hour just in case she's got another big drop
I know, for how long was I crying that nothing was happening and now I’m constantly white knuckling a can of high carb food.
 
It's funny these are the numbers you want, but it's scary the first few times. Not a bad drop between PMPS, so just check in 45 mins or so (can always do sooner if you want, just trying to spare her ears a bit). Don't want to wait an hour just in case she's got another big drop

45 mins later I did two tests cause the first one was crap blood. 101/111. She’s eating a full bowl now
 
I lost track of the latest thread, few more days!! :D:D:D

Today was a crap day for testing, too, but - I haven’t seen friends or gone out to eat since I had COVID in Jan and then this happened, so I took the day off work to see friends and do stuff for myself. Was really nice.
 
Today was a crap day for testing, too, but - I haven’t seen friends or gone out to eat since I had COVID in Jan and then this happened, so I took the day off work to see friends and do stuff for myself. Was really nice.
Oh I don't blame you. It's nice that life is getting back to normal a bit more
 
Oh I don't blame you. It's nice that life is getting back to normal a bit more
Been thinking of ways to do a little party for her - maybe an upside pate on real china with a candle LOL. I may grab her a balloon so we can watch her get frightened of it and it be a waste of money. I’ll post the party for y’all!
 
Ha!

Oh you know what, I forgot @Katsallday volunteered to do the ProZinc and Vetsulin OTJ videos. Life got busy for her so not sure if she's still around.

You're making me feel guilty I never gave Mr Kitty a party! Better late than never I guess....
 
Ha!

Oh you know what, I forgot @Katsallday volunteered to do the ProZinc and Vetsulin OTJ videos. Life got busy for her so not sure if she's still around.

You're making me feel guilty I never gave Mr Kitty a party! Better late than never I guess....
Oh yeah, we gotta do it up big for this one. Her most life threatening feat yet! I think she’s past her ninth life - black cat magic.
 
Back
Top