2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107, +12 103, +3.5 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Not a bad AMPS, considering Trix's +12 was 131 and she didn't have a shot last night. I have a feeling she's going to be close to vet's new no shoot number of 170 come PMPS time, but I could be wrong. The vet said to call if I got any readings over 180, so I did that, but naturally today is her day off :roll: . I'll definitely be touching base with her tomorrow, which will absolutely include further discussing cutting back Trixie's dose to half a unit and shooting BID, rather than this 1 unit once a day deal. Of course, if she's over 170, she'll be getting a second unit tonight anyway....

Amy
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Hi, Amy & Trixie.. great #s today ;-)
I LOVE her avatar!! Absolutely adorable!
I am not familiar with your plan of care for Trixie (shooting 1xs daily, etc) but wanted to drop through & say hello and wish you both a wonderful day.
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Hi Nicole-

Thank you for the welcome and compliment. I'm a little biased, but I think Trixie's a pretty cute little cat myself. That picture was taken her first Christmas with us. Long story short, she had been abandoned by our former neighbors. She was nearly starved to death when we found her; you could see her skeleton through her fur. Her avatar was taken a few months later, after she gained a few pounds. That was 6 years ago.

Her course of treatment is, shall we say, in "transition" right now. On Jan 28, she started on 1 unit BID. For the first few weeks, we were only spot-checking her BG...trying to ease her into all these pricks and pokes. Last Sunday, though, she caught me off guard by tossing a +6 55 at us. At that point, we immediately started with the AMPS/PMPS testing, and so far this week we've also been able to get the +6 after her morning shot. Unforutnately I'm not going to be able to do a full curve for another week-ish, due to my work schedule.

The reason she's in "transition" is because the vet is a combination of pleased and concerened (about hypo) with Trixie's response. Obviously, she has responded quite well (her intial, pre-insulin BG was 371), so the vet wants to begin decreasing her dose. As of yeseterday, the vet wants to try 1 unit, once a day, and gave me a "no shoot" number of 170. I want to go with 1/2 unit BID, but the vet thinks Trixie is responding very well to her diet change (more about that below), that she wanted to give the 1unit/1x day a try first, to see where that puts Trixie's numbers. Knowing how Lantus works, I'm iffy on this approach, but I can say the vet is not completely close-minded about the 1/2 unit BID that I proposed; she just wants to try this first. I'll be touching base with her tomorrow, to iron this out a little better, when we have a couple days worth of data to go by. Her numbers did creep up a little bit today, but I figure they are good enough that a day or two of humoring the vet won't hurt. But that doesn't mean I won't push hard for the BID dosing I want to follow. I want to keep the vet on my side, both for Trixie's sake, and for the sake of other future kitties she treats.

I did forget to mention here yesterday that I think Trixie had some sort of hypo episode last week, and that's another thing that has the vet's radar on high alert. At the time, I thought it was an episode of FHS - she has a lot of FHS symptoms. but never anything like this before. It was as if she was hallucinating; she acted like something was flying around her head and swatted at it a few times. It was several hours after her evening shot, and the whole thing lasted less than 10 seconds. After seeing Sunday's 55, I started thinking maybe it wasn't FHS after all. I mentioned the episode to the vet, and that - along with the data I provided - is what got her thinking harder about changing Trixie's dose sooner rather than later. The vet was unsure as to whether or not the episode could have been because of her possibly being hypo or if it was FHS, but it caught her attention as a possibility. And unfortunately I wasn't testing regularly at the time.

Before diagnosis, Trix was eating a 50/50 mix of Wellness Chicken canned, and Orijen dry. We completely removed the dry food from her diet 4 days before she started insulin. It seems the food change has had a huge impact, but only time will tell.

Amy

PS Baby's avatar is adorable, too! I can never get a good face-cleaning action shot...paws always get in the way!
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Nice numbers for Trixie today!!

Is there any chance you could start getting some PM spot checks... at least a before bed test and, if possible getting up early for a +10 or a +11? I'd be very curious to see what Trixie is doing on the cycles where she's not getting any juice. If she's not showing as much progress during those cycles, it might be the data you need to convince your vet that .5u BID rather than 1u once a day is the right approach.

Just a thought! Hope you guys are having a great day!!
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Great idea...yes, I'll do some evening spot checks. The morning would be more of a challenge...I've got a herd of 6 cats, and they all demand food the second I get up. They're tolerating waiting for Trixie's AMPS, but I don't know if they'd be thrilled about waiting any longer than that for chow. I'll see if I can work around them, though...
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Trixie is just precious!!! And what a lucky kitty! She was meant to be yours - hard way for her to go about finding you though.

Others will give you great advice on how to work with your vet. Unfortunately I could not follow our vets advice. It was irresponsible and she was uncompromising. Maverick went from 1.0 unit twice a day and is now down to a micro dose. Lantus is dosed best twice a day and the others can give you the crash course on why so you can be more assertive with your vet. I'm talking like a hypocrite though - because I'm not assertive with vets and get flustered. So practicing out loud with what I want to say and how to counter their objections is what I'm working on for next time. You are on the right track with using Lantus, and home testing and in great hands with the gang here in Lantus Land.
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107

Maybe you could ask him about going to 1/2 unit twice a day and monitor her there and increase from there if needed? Thats less risky than 1 unit once a day I think. Again one for the experts.
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107, +12 103

Thank you, everyone, for making us feel so welcome! I really have learned so much here!

I am stunned right now. Trixie's "PMPS", which is now really a +12, was 103. I truly expected her to be close to 170. Unfortunately, my husband had to run out so we couldn't run a second test right away in case something was wonky with the test strip, but we will definitely test her again before we go to bed this evening. So, no shot for Trix again tonight. Maybe the vet was on to something, and Trixie is some weird and unusual case???

Trixie's journey to us was very hard, but she's definitely where she belongs. I can only imagine the condition she would be in - if she were even still alive - if she were still in her old "home."
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107, +12 103

hi Amy

I haven't visited you yet, but welcome to Lantus Land.
Someone mentioned some evening spotchecks, I'd actually like to suggest a spotcheck around +4.
Since you didn't shoot - it would be interesting to see where she goes after a few hours without insulin.
Give it a try ok?

Good luck!
 
Re: 2/23 Trixie AMPS 189, +6 107, +12 103

Trixie doesn't sound wierd or unusual. Since you don't have a curve, you don't know where her nadir is yet or how low she went. And you aren't giving lantus like its meant to be given - every 12 hours. The experts will be able to explain whats going on with Trixie better.
 
LOL...they do look alike, and Binks is quite handsome! Trix looks very tabby-like in her avatar, but she's actually a dilute tortie with the underlying stripes.
 
Aw, thanks...I'm glad she's spreading good cheer! I love seeing all the gorgeous, and most importantly well-loved, kitties here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top