2/23 Skooter AMPS 133 PMPS 118 +2 102 +4 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter's Sunday Condo (02/22)

Well palm to face moment this morning, I forgot to attempt to fatten up his dose again.....oh well. I did wake up around +10ish and got a +10.25, his number was basically the same at preshot. These days I will take that as a win. I am going to print out my meeting schedule for the week and see what days I can get home to do a mid day check, I am anxious to see what he is doing during the day again. At this point, I just hope my schedule allows me to come home once a week to do it. Very difficult with all these winter vacations to warm spots going on (wish I had one in the works :arghh:)

Skooter has taken over my pillows, so I guess no btb for me. He just looks super cute and I don't want to disturb him. Yup, he sooooooooooooo has me trained.

Well this kid with the sniffles (I really hate a sniffling nose), is off to finish getting ready to go to TBP.

Hope everyone has a great start to the week!
 
Molly. It's easy. But more pillows! More than once I've grabbed an extra pillow and napped spread horizontal on the bed. Or, get an air mattress! Or nap propped up in the corner. Or....Oh, so many solutions that don't involve disturbing the Skoots-man.

Sending ease-up vines for tbp.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Skooter has taken over my pillows, so I guess no btb for me. He just looks super cute and I don't want to disturb him. Yup, he sooooooooooooo has me trained.

I totally know what you mean about not disturbing the sweet little kitties. I feel so bad when I have to wake Sami up to test her. And if she makes her self comfortable on my lap I don't get up until she does. It makes it rather difficult if I just had a cup of coffee.

Hope you enjoy your day.
 
This is a doable preshot number.....feel free to slide on down to the greens tonight, Skooterbear.....and feel free to spend most, if not all of the night in the greens....nice and safe greens please and thank you :D
 
I'll be curious to see if fattening skooter's dose helps bring down the overall range. So close, skooter . . . .

One technique that people use when the kitty's in a situation like Skooter - overall pretty good, green nadirs, but still daily tests above 120 - is to increase the dose while using carbs to keep the cat over 50 for at least a few cycles. Sometimes doing that for even a short time can accomplish bringing down those higher numbers and flattening out the blood sugar into all green. Something to consider maybe beginning on Friday pm's cycle if you're off on Saturday and Sunday. Hope you're feeling better tonight.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I'm not sure if I'd go to 0.5u or not. With a cat on a higher dose, I would increase by the full 0.25u. It just seems to work better than skootching up. The thing is, that would be doubling Skooter's dose and I'm not sure i'd feel comfy with that. Although . . . you test plenty and know what you're doing, so it might be ok. It's up to you. I don't think any of us can know what will happen until you do it. If he were mine, I might try fattening the dose first and seeing if that gets him all into greens. If it's not enough, then you could revisit the question next weekend.

How does that sound?
 
Nice blues today for Skooter. I've laid back down on the very edge of the bed before so I wouldn't disturb the sleeping kitty. We musn't do that.
 
So nice to know I am not the only one that puts myself in uncomfortable positions or off the bed completely to avoid disturbing the cats! :joyful: We really are a whipped bunch, aren't we? As for COL, well, that's as good as a shot of some paralyzing agent. I don't like to even shift my legs when there's a kitty on my lap - mustn't disturb him/her! :rolleyes: Sasha likes to be held to my shoulder, like a baby, and I've had my left arm go to sleep before I would put her down - how could I make her move when she's purring so hard in my ear???!!

Skoots, you look terrific. Now you surf safely tonight so Mama can sleep, 'k?

Sending anti-sniffle vines for you Molly. I've been sniffling, too, but mine is because of the cold wind blowing here - it always makes my nose run.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I am thinking I will do the fattened dose starting Friday again....I forgot to do it with both shots today.....I think the 0.25 that I have been doing is actually closer to a 0.10 (after looking at some pictures) normally the plunger is in the middle or top the last black line, so I am thinking if I do the plunger at the bottom of the last black line that would be our version of a fattened 0.25 (which is probably just a normal 0.25) ???

I am doing a lot of cleaning/purging tonight as well and he is already perking up with the extra room he has to move around....I am hoping this will also help him......the 0.50 does make me a little nervous as well as I am thinking I would be just carbing him up and it would end up being countproductive doing a full increase to 0.50

@carfurby it was actually a good thing this morning as I really needed to get up and get ready for work. Its just so hard when he looks so damn cute laying there....
 
@Tricia & Cinco oh I have had many a body parts fall asleep as well....it is amazing how uncomfortable I will allow myself to get because he looks so happy and peaceful....especially when he is snuggled up near me and I can hear him breath/purr/snore.....one of my favorite things :)
 
it's so hard to know what a dose is from what someone else describes . . . i think the important thing is for you to know you have increased the dose and you can duplicate the new dose again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top