2/23 Shadow AMPS=173, PMPS=111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=147
+6=169
+8=177
AMPS=173 ~ 1.50u Lev (11 day)

Yesterday's Condo

Morning everyone ~O)
Shadow ate and waited for his shot...purring and LB action this morning. Last night did not find Greens for us at all but it made for an interesting total Blue day. taking them both for a little car ride to the vet's....always an adventure. We are going for a 4pm appointment this afternoon. I took the carriers out of the closet yesterday and they are all ready with the doors open in my guest room for my two. After 13 years, I have this down to a science. Getting the carriers out the day before the vet visit so they are not all upset on the day of the appointment.
This should be interesting today though. Not sure how the vet will feel about my using Levemir. (But I sure know how i feel about it... :lol:)

Hope you all have a good day today!! Hugs...
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Hey! Latte would love to know Shadow's secret...those numbers look purrrrrfect for her! Different goals, I know!

Why the vet today? And did you switch insulins w/o telling the vet? :lol: Just bring that ss and all will be fine! Remember, Shadow is YOUR cat! You are in charge of his care...the vet is there to offer guidance,extra knowledge, and support....oh, and blood draws. :?

You are so nice to put the carriers out in advance. I verbally warn Latte. When it comes time I just scoop her up and put her in. No messin' around over here! :o

Good luck with the vet visit. Im sure everything will check off just fine! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Gee Shadow - this is great (said very quietly).
And a car ride too. Can't imagine a vet that had complaints about using Lev when they can see the results. Do they get extra treats after the visit?
Good Luck.
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Last year in Feb they had shots...3 year rabies and the others....then Raja went to this new vet and had a dental. I will forgo any shots this time...but wanted to have their blood work done to check them out. Shadow had a dental 5 months ago but want them to be sure his gums are ok too. Plus, the vet is good for a prescription for Levemir if they will give it to me and that's what I really need...LOL
I like going to the vet when I have no issues....ya know? Just realizing now that the two of them are in such wonderful shape I think...and it's just such a nice feeling to not have a reason to go except preventative. KWIM?
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

I'm sure his BG today won't be a pleasant site, after going to the vet, and you will probably get a good nights sleep when he is in the yellows and pinks. Don't worry it's just vet stress it will go away. If your lucky he won't get to upset. I'm sure your vet will be skeptical at first when you mention Levemir (which he probably doesn't know unless he knows some human diabetics) but he won't be able to disagree with the fact that Raja is OTJ and Shadow is spending most of his time in "normal" ranges. I would certainly take Raja's SS (at least the last page or so). My vet didn't like the idea either but he can't argue with my results, he didn't belive that honeymoon was even possible and kept saying I should keep my eye on it (test every few days) because "honeymoon" is usually over in a week or two! No wonder he thinks so, he himself has a diabetic cat (long time) who he has been treating with Caninsulin and feeding Hill's W/D dry, almost no chance of OTJ there! I told him that after treating with Levemir and changing his food I expected his honeymoon to last a long time (forever), and if he didn't belive me that whenever I have checked him he has been within the reference range he could gladly do a fructoseamine test (at no charge to me) to satisfy his doubts. Of course he declined and simply wished me lot's of luck. :mrgreen:

I would at least take the patient information or package insert from Levemir (and explain that it is simular to Lantus (Glargine-a name that vets recoginize more often) so that at the least he has the proper prescribing information and can spell it right! Levemir is insulin Detemir (Novo Nordisk) a U100 synthetic human insulin of rDNA origin. It is a basal insulin used in children and adults with both Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes. Prescribing information

Have fun today!
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Cant believe that you can take carriers out for day before visit!! My cats would be saying "OMG the VET!!! OMG THE VET" :o :o :o :shock:
You really have your cats down to a science!! :lol: --Hope vet visit is a good one & that vet can wrap his head around the Lev!--You have written proof !! Have a good day!
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

I hope the visit goes smoothly today. I have to hide our carriers, too. We actually have to sneak them in really-really-really fast. But a carrier or a suitcase in view of the precious ones? No way!
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Good morning Pat.
Happy nice blue day today.
Good luck with the vet later and be sure to stand your ground (think of Gayle's voice in your head, lol)

That is so funny about the carriers. It's amazing what we do. I hide mine until the bitter end
and then "cough" really loud when I open up that spring door so they can't hear the noise.
They are smarter than us, lol.

Can't wait to hear the report back later.
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Shadow's ss sure is looking purty these days! :thumbup

I'm so glad he's behaving for you, (((Pat))).
It's so much easier to watch the countdown on that meter without the feeling of dread!! ;-)

Sending vines for the vetty visit. Go show those kitties off & let us know how things turn out, ok?
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

+3=140
+6=122

Just fed them at those times today..instead of +4 and +8. Shadow and Raja will have an hour to digest before I put them in the carriers. I surprised Raja again with a test before eating and she was a whopping 69!!! Yay! :mrgreen:
When they were kittens I put them both into one carrier for the first vet visit. They were so cute and tiny...and ignorant of where they were going.
They both got shots.
Two weeks later, I tried to put them back in the carrier again for their booster shots and it was an absolute nightmare....Raja was so upset cause she remembered how she hated the vet...(ended up biting the vet who was so shocked...she said "That is the first time that ever happened to me!! :o " She wanted NO part of that carrier!!

Put one in, the other would sneak out...I was alone and ran all over the house trying to catch two kitties...it was awful but very funny when I think about it now. I got another carrier. The sound they make when you are taking them out of a closet is undeniable. Raja always hears it (like the vacuum coming out of the closet when it isn't even turned on yet) So, now i take them out and put them in the spare room with the doors open.
I know that once you get one in successfully, that one cries in a way that is saying in CAT talk "She's got the carriers and she caught me and now you are next...run for your life!!!"

This should be quite an adventure. I have the Levemir inset Monique and I printed some stuff up on it too...and I printed Raja's SS and I am almost ready to go. I bought this stuff called "At Ease" at Petsmart and sprayed in the the carriers....will see if that makes a difference. Late appointment time so there might not be too many people waiting. This vet must advertise for oversize dog breeds or something cause I cannot believe the amount and size of the dogs I have seen in their waiting room.... :o
Wish me luck kids!!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Wow, Shadow is doing great! You must be so thrilled and relieved! Best of luck at the vet's office. I think your vet is going to be shocked when she sees what you've been up to...but in a good way. :mrgreen:

Mine are the same way with the carriers! Logan just seems to know when I'm only thinking about getting it out! Lately, we've just been taking him in w/o the carrier. He does so much better in the car if I hold him. We haven't had any vomiting issues with me holding him! He doesn't get nearly as stressed. I just wrap him up and try to hide him from all of the dogs in the waiting room. Why don't more vets have separate dog and cat waiting rooms?!
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

All your stories of how you guys work the carriers are really funny! :) I like Randi's "cough" trick. Like Pat, I take the carrier out the day before, or at least quite a few hours beforehand. I guess it lulls them into a false sense of security.

Good luck at the vet, Pat, and let us know how it went! :)
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173, +10=146

We made it! :-D I tested Shadow when we walked in the door and he was 146!!!!! Yay!! He was very, very good. They took blood, said he needs another dental....(had one Aug 31) and said he was 10.4lbs
Raja was a rolled up gray basketball. :roll: She was under such stress, the poor little thing. Needs a dental too. She is 13.5 lbs but looked to be about 30lbs the way she was so rolled up. I should have taken her BG when we walked in the door but the meter might have broken. Little Miss Vet Stress. She was sent home with
Amoxicillin for dermatitis that she seems to have on her neck. She got a shot of AB too and the doctor said to put Preparation H on it. She said that the condition can come from fleas and yet there is no sign of fleas at all.

I had their nails clipped and they both had blood drawn for a Superchem (SMA)25 $30 for office visit for the two together. Grand total=$134.00 which included the Amoxi drops for 2 weeks. Good, no?

They will get results tomorrow and I will have to set up for the two dentals. Might as well do it on the same day if I can. I hate the fasting the night before since they don't understand why I am not feeding them. This time they will go through it together.

It turns out that this vet graduated last year...she happens to be the daughter of one of the vet techs who is very nice and she remembers me of course. She had never heard of Levemir and gave me a rather blank stare and seemed hesitant. She gave me a prescription for it though so that was good.

When I said that I was home testing, she gave me a sly smile and said "Not many people are willing to do that". She wanted to give Raja a shot "that would be good for 2 weeks" for the skin condition and I said "Is it Covenia? Can I have something else?" She had not heard anything about problems with it. (I know it might be ok for skin things, but I just didn't want to take a chance at this point) She is not very talkative actually and seemed surprised that I didn't want the shot...but didn't have much to say really.

Guess it had been a long busy day there. I waited and her mother, the vet tech came out with the script and I asked if her daughter was annoyed at me (re: the Covenia & the Levemir) but she said that she just loves people who go the distance for their kitties. She told me that her daughter gets discouraged when people don't want to treat their pets with anything more than one pill. So, I whipped out all my paperwork and said "Do you think your daughter would be interested in reading about Levemir and the Tilly Protocol....and here are the SSs I printed up for her from Raja and Shadow....." She took them and said that she was sure her daughter would like to read about it and she walked me to the car with the kitties and we talked some more...she thought Raja went into remission from just a diet change but I told her about the long acting Levemir. She agreed that the Vetsulin is too short of a duration...but that's all they had been using up until the recall. So, we will see if they bother to read the stuff I printed. At least I got my script....yay!

I'm exhausted. :shock:
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

What a great report on Shadow and Raja.
Your vet bill is pretty cheap......I think I pay around $200 just to open the door to the office....it is another $200 to go into a room. ohmygod_smile

I think you are smart to do the dental at the same time. Just think you could go out for the day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

I am glad that the vet visit went so well; the vets who are willing to listen and work with you are the best!
Good thing you got the rx for Lev; I can't really relate because I don't need any rx for the insulins, I guess that's a Canadian thing?

I wanted to comment on the pet carriers; I don't put our away! They are always out in the open, doors open so the cats can go inside and lie down. And the do! Even if Shadoe does not really want to go to the vets, she is at least comfy with the container and her own special blanket inside the carrier.
I am not sure why but Shadoe does not have her BG numbers upset when we visit the vet.

Having both get their dental on the same day is an excellent idea. Fasting is no fun, so misery loves company and the two of them can comfort each other maybe. It would be mean to make one fast but let the other one eat.

Nice flat blues, now how nice is that!!
 
Re: 2/23 Shadow AMPS=173

Pat,
your report just made me say, "aaaaaaaaawwwwwwww" a hundred times! :smile:

You are so kind and approached everything in such a positive manner. It sounds like not just Raja and Shadow did a good job...but you too, advocating for them! :thumbup

I like fresh vets. I had been seeing one (or many) who had been practicing for years. Eventually a new one came along. Didnt like him at first , but he grew on us, as he started opening up to learning. Now we LOVE him! To me that is the most important thing in a vet...the willingness to do what is best for the cat...not the drug companies, not the clinic, not what the books say...but the cat. Im glad you gave the ss to the vet's mom and hope that she does take the time to look over it. I bet she will be soooo impressed!

Good report for all (except the dental...blah!pssst..no metacam, btw :roll: )
I hope they get lots of good treats for their adventure. :lol: Thats what I always tell Latte...'ready for an adventure?!?!" Seems to make it sound more fun, at least to me. And quite frankly, a vet visit is always an adventure!

Have an awesome evening. Its a BIG night for the olympics. Get yourself settled in soon!!
 
I am so proud of you!!!
What an amazing vet visit!!

$134 total for two kitties?! SAY WHAT!? lol, I'm moving to florida! :lol:

So looks like ur gonna be preparing urself for dentals soon, but at least u have been through recently, and with what u know now, compared to last year, you have all the power - no convenia please Love it! So proud of u!

Heal soon Raja kitty - take ur meds and get well, soon!
 
Aloha Pat!
Good work, corralling the kitties for their vet visit. Terrific job. I laughed when I read about catching one kitty and the other yells a cat scream/warning to the other .... run for you life! Hahahaha!! My kitties do the same thing and it drives me crazy. I finally found a new young vet that makes house calls (for a fee of course.) And it is so worth it since both my kitties are big and strong and can read my mind. Now I just have to trap them in the kitchen about 30 minutes before the vet arrives. But somehow they both become invisible an hour before I begin searching. Stinkers...

Back on topic... I'm glad to see Shadow is still doing well and has had such pretty numbers. What a good boy... well, we all know it is YOU. If your vet and her vet tech mother only knew HALF of how hard you work for your sweet kitties, they'd be blown away. Not only do you go the distance, you go to the moon and back. :lol:
 
Now that is an exciting day AND amazing numbers for Shadow, after the whole trip.
So glad that visit s behind you now.
You were so worried about getting the script for the Levemir and it sounds like
daughter vet might be a good find.
Can you ask if she has friends in Montreal?
I still cannot find one who is open minded at all.

I had a good laugh picturing you runnng around chasing cats.
In a good way laugh!!
What we do for our babies.Sigh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top