2/23 Kai AMPS 555, +2 460, +4 376, PMPS 306, +2 164, +4 44, +5 47, +6 54, +7 53, +8 63

I gave him some MC 9% and hopefully that will stall that rapid drop at +2. But maybe i should have given him something higher like 15%... we will see
 
Bouncy boy! I tried to catch up on Kai’s health matters since I was away from the forum for 3 weeks. You were having multiple tests done early this mth. There was a lump being evaluated and kidney recheck. I saw that the recheck may have confirmed elevated kidney values (?). Have you been given guidance or treatment plan? I am not current with kidney disease but I recall that some protocols involve reducing protein. I also recall there being debate about this.

Kai looks great in the pics from several days ago! Sending positive vibes. :bighug::bighug:
 
Bouncy boy! I tried to catch up on Kai’s health matters since I was away from the forum for 3 weeks. You were having multiple tests done early this mth. There was a lump being evaluated and kidney recheck. I saw that the recheck may have confirmed elevated kidney values (?). Have you been given guidance or treatment plan? I am not current with kidney disease but I recall that some protocols involve reducing protein. I also recall there being debate about this.

Kai looks great in the pics from several days ago! Sending positive vibes. :bighug::bighug:

Thank you! He is doing fine...well he just dipped to 44 tonight because of the bounce today :rolleyes: but besides that, overall, he is normal, which is sort of the head scratcher lol the vets keep saying AKI or CKD or possibly both but Kai's not showing any of the common physical symptoms for kidney issues. He is eating and drinking fine. Bathroom situation is very normal besides peeing a lot when his BG is bouncing:rolleyes:. And his energy levels have been normal if not better than they have been the last few months. We just can't figure out what is causing his BUN and creatinine to be so elevated. Until we get that figured out and stable, surgery to remove the mass on his side has to wait. Which worries me but i'm taking it day by day. I feel like its a ticking time bomb because his regular vet thinks it might be fibrosarcoma but we really don't know cause the needle biopsy came back inconclusive. But one problem at a time.

Tomorrow, i'm going to drop him off at the vet for a urine culture and to check his blood pressure. So I am hoping those two test will give us a little bit more info on what might be going on with his Kidneys. I may ask the vet to put him back on an antibiotic because we were only on it for 2 weeks and sometimes it can take up to 4-6 weeks for a kidney infection to clear up. I joined Tanay's CKD Forum and several people think he should go back on the antibiotic and that it was stopped to soon. I'm also continuing to give him Sub Q fluids each night to help with any dehydration.

Paw's crossed we are able to learn something new tomorrow.
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Thank you! He is doing fine...well he just dipped to 44 tonight because of the bounce today :rolleyes: but besides that, overall, he is normal, which is sort of the head scratcher lol the vets keep saying AKI or CKD or possibly both but Kai's not showing any of the common physical symptoms for kidney issues. He is eating and drinking fine. Bathroom situation is very normal besides peeing a lot when his BG is bouncing:rolleyes:. And his energy levels have been normal if not better than they have been the last few months. We just can't figure out what is causing his BUN and creatinine to be so elevated. Until we get that figured out and stable, surgery to remove the mass on his side has to wait. Which worries me but i'm taking it day by day. I feel like its a ticking time bomb because his regular vet thinks it might be fibrosarcoma but we really don't know cause the needle biopsy came back inconclusive. But one problem at a time.

Tomorrow, i'm going to drop him off at the vet for a urine culture and to check his blood pressure. So I am hoping those two test will give us a little bit more info on what might be going on with his Kidneys. I may ask the vet to put him back on an antibiotic because we were only on it for 2 weeks and sometimes it can take up to 4-6 weeks for a kidney infection to clear up. I joined Tanay's CKD Forum and several people think he should go back on the antibiotic and that it was stopped to soon. I'm also continuing to give him Sub Q fluids each night to help with any dehydration.

Paw's crossed we are able to learn something new tomorrow.
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
The culture is great idea, so if bacteria are present, the most effective antibiotic can be prescribed. I’m curious what antibiotic he was on for 2 weeks. Minner recently had urine culture, my vet uses IDEXX and they have technology that scans the urine and supposedly can tell immediately if there are no bacteria present, so a negative result is available right then w/o waiting to see that nothing grows in culture. Here’s information about it in case you are interested.

https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary...logy-provides-faster-accurate-urine-cultures/
 
Back
Top