2/23 | Jude: AMPS 109; +3 65; +4 48; +5 73; +6.5 70; PMPS 144; +2 151

Jude fell below 50 today. He was struggling last night to keep the dose above 50, so I carb manipulated all evening until we could get out of the lower numbers. He did this same thing where he would slide down each cycle for a week, back around the 10th of Feb.; we ended up cutting his dose quite a bit then to keep him from nose-diving each cycle. He has remained at that dose (1.50U) and has done relatively well until last night and today. Jude is not a "long-term" diabetic; he was diagnosed last March and went into remission in May and came back out of remission in October, 2024. He just finished a round of antibiotics this past Tuesday for a UTI. He is scheduled for a dental this coming Tuesday, and the vet said his teeth did not look good when he examined Jude; the vet was hoping the antibiotic would take care of the UTI but also clear up any infection in Jude's mouth prior to the dental. I'm thinking that the antibiotic has done its job and cleared up the UTI as well as any infection in his mouth, and that might be why his numbers are once again shifting downward. I want to give Jude his dose reduction today; I do not want him nose-diving when the vet is performing Jude's dental (and the vet does not want me to withhold Jude's insulin prior to the procedure--he said he will monitor Jude's bg during the procedure, and will administer dextrose, if necessary). Thoughts?

@Bandit's Mom and/or anyone else who wants to offer advice
 
Hi Mary,

If you're finding it hard to keep up with the bgs and the 1.5 dose, you could take a reduction and call it another dose experiment. See this post, specifically
"And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."
As far as the dental is concerned, have you see this Post.
 
Hi Mary,

If you're finding it hard to keep up with the bgs and the 1.5 dose, you could take a reduction and call it another dose experiment. See this post, specifically
"And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."
As far as the dental is concerned, have you see this Post.
Thanks, Angela. I'll give Jude a .25 dose reduction at his p.m. shot.
 
Good luck this week. That’s a lot going on with Mr Jude, but thankfully all stuff with viable treatment plans. Congrats on the reduction. I 100% subscribe to Angela's advice.
 
Back
Top