2/23 Checkers pmps/269

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162

Good morning guys .. wow checkers, nice +1.5! Barb, I hope the vet appt goes well for you .. will be sending positive thoughts your way and calming vibes to checkers ...
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162

Hi, Barb & Checkers.. thinking of you both today... wishing you good vet vines & look forward to a wonderful report upon your arrival home :YMHUG:
Be safe going & coming home.. I hope Checkers doesn't get too upset... nice #s today!
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

Checkers got a basic exam today; heart, lungs, temp, palpating, etc.
Bloodwork will be done tomorrow.

He has inflamed gums/gingivitis, and heavy tartar, so I am having dental done in the morning, so bloodwork will be done then.

His concern is thyroid, because of age, and it was normal/high, last Aug.

Although one of the vets at that clinic has access to my SS, this vet had never seen Google SS, and was genuinely interested.
He wanted me to explain dosing, pointing to AMPS, asked if I changed dose according to pre-shots, and I showed him the low greens, in the 30's, and said I change dose according to nadir, not preshot. He was impressed.
He wanted to know how I manage such low doses. I'm not sure he knew there is syringes with half units marking.
He asked a lot of questions about Checks eating habits, and since he eats wet, and doesn't really chew, I wouldn't have noticed of he's in pain when eating. I don't know that he is....just sayin'.

Doc is uncomfortabe with giving insulin on empty stomach in morning, so no shot before dental.
I was very happy that he said, they will try to get him done and home as soon as possible, so he's not so stressed. I'm sure he'll still be there all day, since anesthesia is involved.

Little pee pot growled the entire time Doctor Dave was touching him. :lol:
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

Glad to hear the vet visit went well :smile: And hoo-ray for dental! Checkers will feel so much bettah :smile:
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

:thumbup overall very encouraging, yay Barb & Checkers!!
What is Checker's age? Has he had a dental before?
Happy to hear it went well & I hope he can chill before the big day tomorrow!
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

265 amps
162 + 1.5
93 +3
97 +4.5
197 +7.5


Nicole, he will 15 this summer. He has had a dental every year since about age 3 or 4.
Even with brushing, he still got a lot of tartar. He's had many extractions.

One drop of Karo at +3, and he is 197 at +7.5. That seems like a very high bounce to me...3 hours later,..for just one drop!
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

Not sure on the numbers. Maverick was higher after his vet appointment.

Little pee pot growled the entire time Doctor Dave was touching him.
:lol: Go Checkers :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

Sounds like Checkers made it known he was not happy being at the vets good luck in the morning for his dental :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97

Thanks Lisa. I just realized, part of that jump may have been vet stress.
He yoweled, "Owwwwwwwwwwwwwwww," the whole way there, and I swear, he was smiling on the way home. I always wondered how he knew he was on the way home.
He was gone for an hour, and had to re-scent everything in the house, when he got back. :lol:
(With chin, not tail lifting). :lol:
 
Hey Barb! My kitties will be 15 too in May!--
They both make that frightening noise AARRRRUUUHHHHHOWWW!!! All the way to the vets
I used to cry in the beginning, but I'm OK now!--I comfort them now...

Moonie has had many dentals too, and vet is right, no shot in the am..
Hope the dental goes smooth as can be & Checkers is home feeling fine.
Checkers, You will have the most beautiful toofs of all tomorrow & you'll be chewing in no time..
Moonie & Cop both have few teeth & they chew anyway--Will be thinking of you tomorrow! HUgs from Us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top