Re: 2/23 Checkers amps 265 +1.5/162 +3/93 +4.5/97
Checkers got a basic exam today; heart, lungs, temp, palpating, etc.
Bloodwork will be done tomorrow.
He has inflamed gums/gingivitis, and heavy tartar, so I am having dental done in the morning, so bloodwork will be done then.
His concern is thyroid, because of age, and it was normal/high, last Aug.
Although one of the vets at that clinic has access to my SS, this vet had never seen Google SS, and was genuinely interested.
He wanted me to explain dosing, pointing to AMPS, asked if I changed dose according to pre-shots, and I showed him the low greens, in the 30's, and said I change dose according to nadir, not preshot. He was impressed.
He wanted to know how I manage such low doses. I'm not sure he knew there is syringes with half units marking.
He asked a lot of questions about Checks eating habits, and since he eats wet, and doesn't really chew, I wouldn't have noticed of he's in pain when eating. I don't know that he is....just sayin'.
Doc is uncomfortabe with giving insulin on empty stomach in morning, so no shot before dental.
I was very happy that he said, they will try to get him done and home as soon as possible, so he's not so stressed. I'm sure he'll still be there all day, since anesthesia is involved.
Little pee pot growled the entire time Doctor Dave was touching him. :lol: