2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157 +3=118 +9=138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Gosh!!
Maggie is in the green at AMPS 94. She was feeling supper great this morning, very playful and running and just a good day. She has been doing so good at .75/unit since February 12. With this 94 BG, do I still give her .75 or lower it just a little?
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Question on Dose

Hi Ann,
Great start. Exciting and a bit scary at first too.
I'm no expert on this but as I have been in this exact same spot a bit lately I can share the advice given to me. "Shoot low to stay low". I did it with a lot of nail biting but it worked well for us. The 94 is not a big drop from where Maggie has been at other AM times so it's not a major drop. If you can be around to check her it will make you more comfortable.
I'm sure others will be along soon.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Question on Dose

Thanks Amy and Pedro,
That is exactly what I did -- .50 this morning instead of .75. She was just feeling so good this morning and being active that I hope it is a good sign that she is leveling off finally. Yes, I will be around for a few hours this morning, so I will check her again. Thanks again.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Question on Dose

yesterdays link
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7066&p=71622#p71622

Hi Ann,

nice number today, :mrgreen:

I'm prob too late for a +1 check, anytime you have a lower number, especially green, you'll want to grab a +1...maybe +2 is coming up for u?

and if you're heading out this morning, please grab an "out the door test"
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Question on Dose

Um.... I think you maybe misunderstood Amy's point. "Shoot low to stay low" doesn't mean to lower the dose. The shoot low part refers to shooting a low number. In many cases, if you shoot a low number there isn't a big drop. Rather, the numbers reflect the flat curve that is characteristic of Lantus. What you did was shoot a reduced dose or a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is one option with a low PS number. Another option is to stall. When you stall, you do not feed and you re-test in 15 min. You can repeat this process several times until you see that the PS number is rising or is a surf. The final option is to skip the dose. The choice of which is most appropriate depends on the amount of data you have and the impact of each of these choises on the shed.

Please remember to put the dose you shot this AM on your SS.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Help +2=59

ok, I would retest now (15 min later) or wait till 1/2 passes, which would be your +2...

just make the adjustment in ur subject line & SS that 59 was +1.5

how long are u home till this morning?
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Help +1.5=59

Okay, thanks Ronnie. I'll be home for another hour and a half. I can be a little late. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Help +1.5=59

ok, lets see what the next test says, ur doing fine ok?

how much food has she had? and was it LC? how long ago did she eat?
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - Help +1.5=59

Um.... I think you maybe misunderstood Amy's point. "Shoot low to stay low" doesn't mean to lower the dose. The shoot low part refers to shooting a low number. In many cases, if you shoot a low number there isn't a big drop. Rather, the numbers reflect the flat curve that is characteristic of Lantus. What you did was shoot a reduced dose or a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is one option with a low PS number. Another option is to stall. When you stall, you do not feed and you re-test in 15 min. You can repeat this process several times until you see that the PS number is rising or is a surf. The final option is to skip the dose. The choice of which is most appropriate depends on the amount of data you have and the impact of each of these choises on the shed.
Oh, I see!!! You mean I should have stuck with the .75 dose?? Or stall and retest would have been a better option, I think. Poor Maggie!
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157

lol, poor Maggie is doing good thou! Think of the benefits! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

now ya know, when u get a lower than usual preshot, no feeding, stall 15min, retest, and since u are home for half the morning, this would of been ok.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157

Whew!! I'm a wreck! What a relief to see the BG rising instead of opposite! She was being a little pick with the FF this morning, mostly sucking the juice, but a little while ago she ate better. Thanks so much for all the help and support.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157

oh that's some rise...

so ur home for a little while longer, you'll be able to do a +3?
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157

I know, it is quite a rise. On the BG 59, I was having the worst time getting a reading, as I couldn't get a good drop of blood; then when it finally went off, I was surprised! This is the Alpha Trak meter, and it seems like it needs a fair size drop to test. I can try and do a +3. Maggie is really annoyed with me waking her up, poor baby! She was snuggled up in a ball last test.
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157 +3=118

looks good...so ur leaving soon?

she should be ok, with food available to her...she should pretty full by now? did she eat a lot earlier?
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157 +3=118

Hi Ronnie,
Yes, I'll leave now and be back in a few. Yes, she has been hungry, so eating good now. I will leave some FF LC out for her, but I think she will snuggle up and sleep. Thanks a bunch. Give Luna a hug!
 
Re: 2/23 Ann & Maggie AMPS 94 - +1.5=59 +2=157 +3=118

Hi,

At +9 Maggie is 138. I thought about adding in the subject line, but I hated to put so many numbers in the subject line.
I did decide to add the +9 BG after all!
 
Maggie is doing good. Her PMPS is 179. I am having problems with the comments side to the right if you see strange things. I don't have Excel. I wonder if that is the problem. Thanks again for all the help today.
 
Hi Ann,

I don't know that I have visited you yet... welcome to lantus land.

I don't want to flood you with more infomation than you can digest today, however I would like to make a couple of point.

Very important tip for lantus users.... most of the time (unless cat is in the 40s or low 50s at +10), pick up food. So... no more food 2 hours before shooting time. Reason is that you don't want to have food clouding the number you are actually shooting. Feeding HC or MC before a shot will only thicken the fog.... kwim?

Also... and I'm sure Ronnie beat me to the punch, you need to try to add a test before your bed time. Those tests are very important in providing a picture of the evening cycle which is often slightly different than the day time one.

Poke around and visit others, there is a lot to learn in this forum!

I hope this helps.
 
Thanks Helene. I know Ronnie has mentioned the before bed time check. It just seems like so many pricks for her ear, but I know it is necessary, so I will try. The strips I get from the Vet are so expensive, not that I wouldn't spend any amount of money on her as I sure would. do anything for her.
 
what a nice day for Maggie. :smile:

If the strips from the vet are too expensive, you might consider getting a human meter from the store or by ordering online (use the Hocks.com link on this board). The meters are often free or inexpensive and most of them have strips that cost less than the vet ones.
 
hey Ann

just wanted to add to what Libby just said, many of us do have back up meters,

and in your case, the animal meter strips are expensive and typically only available at the vets, sometimes online too...
the Relion meter from Walmart, for example, their strips are reasonable and easily attainable.
Just something to consider down the line.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top