2/23 amps 102.6

Marley1

Member Since 2024
I lowered his dose today because his amps number was low and I won’t be home all day to monitor him.
I’m very confused about dosing. From what I understand, the dosage needs to be consistent and shouldn’t go up or down more than .25 at a time. But what if the dose seems too high based on his BG. Isn’t it safer to give say half a dose or so? And also, if you skip a shot all together, is that not inconsistent? Can someone clarify please. This is all so confusing.
 
I don’t understand your dosing. It’s also necessary to test before every shot to be sure it’s safe and get some other tests to see how low your cat goes on a dose. You will get the best benefit from lantus if you find a. Dose you can safe.y shoot every 12 hours.
Previous post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-do-i-do.286917/#post-3155173

I see from your previous post you do test before every shot. Please keep your spreadsheet up to date and fill in what data you have.
 
I lowered his dose today because his amps number was low and I won’t be home all day to
But what if the dose seems too high based on his BG. Isn’t it safer to give say half a dose or so? And also, if you skip a shot all together, is that not inconsistent? Can someone clarify please. This is all so confusing.

If you find you need to skip and change the dose a lot it’s best to lower the dose and stick with that dose. Are you going to follow one of our dosing methods? Seems it would be SLGS. Have a look at that.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
I don’t understand your dosing. It’s also necessary to test before every shot to be sure it’s safe and get some other tests to see how low your cat goes on a dose. You will get the best benefit from lantus if you find a. Dose you can safe.y shoot every 12 hours.
Previous post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-do-i-do.286917/#post-3155173

I see from your previous post you do test before every shot. Please keep your spreadsheet up to date and fill in what data you have.
I don’t understand it either. That’s why I’m asking. It was recommended by the vet to up his dose to 3 units but I also started dosing based on his bg numbers.
I guess my confusion is that I’m hearing that you must test before every shot or you’re putting him in danger. And then I’m also hearing, don’t change the dosage by more than .25 at a time. So my question is, what’s the point of testing before each shot if you don’t change the dose regardless? Am I just understanding this all wrong?
 
Last edited:
If you find you need to skip and change the dose a lot it’s best to lower the dose and stick with that dose. Are you going to follow one of our dosing methods? Seems it would be SLGS. Have a look at that.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Thank you for that. I haven’t found I have to do it a lot. Just a couple of times. But in looking at other peoples spread sheets, I’m seeing that they don’t seem to change the dosage much regardless of numbers. Which is great for consistency but it worries me to give him his regular dose if his BG is low.
 
I don’t understand it either. That’s why I’m asking. It was recommended by the vet to up his dose to 3 units but I also started dosing based on his bg numbers.
I guess my confusion is that I’m hearing that you must test before every shot or you’re putting him in danger. And then I’m also hearing, don’t change the dosage by more than .25 at a time. So my question is, what’s the point of testing before each shot if you don’t change the dose regardless? Am I just understanding this all wrong?
Because If Marley is too low to give a shot, you need to know that before you give the insulin injection.
 
You change the dose based upon how low a dose takes your cat. With SLGS, you hold the dose when the lowest bg, called the nadir, is under 150. You reduce if under 90. You increase or decrease in .25 increments and when you do either an increase or decrease, that dose is held for 7 days. If you skip a dose, the 7 day count starts over. If under 200 at shot time, stall, don’t feed, and retest in 30 minutes to see if the bg goes up. Whi,e waiting it would be a good idea to post for dosing advice. You dint have any idea how low your cat is going at night and many cats have lower bg at night. During the 7 day period it would be good to get a before bed or at least a +2-6.
 
Back
Top