2/22 Tiggy AMPS 106 PMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just wondering, have you given any thoughts about testing for acromegaly?

I saw that you posted to another person whose cat is back on insulin, and you said that Tiggy was OT for awhile but is back on again. On Tiggy's ss, he's sitting around 7u and was a bit higher, he's male, kinda big at over 17lb...

You had posted in December in Michelangelo's thread that you thought acros are high dose cats, but that's not so at all. There's one lady whose cat was on insulin for maybe 6months, but earlier, her vet suggested testing Chuck when he was around 5u on Lantus..... sure enough, he tested positive.
The highest dose that Chuck reached was a couple shots at 7u, then he went off insulin. Gina checks every once in awhile because he could need insulin again if the tumor starts secreting growth hormone again.

There was another acro cat who went OTJ at least 3 times in his life, so it does happen.
My Oliver has been OTJ for over a year now, but he's still tested here and there because you never know...

I just thought I'd mention it to you.
 
I didnt really see the point because I think the treatment is pretty much the same... Increase insulin till you hit the right dose.. All it would do is give me peace of mind.
 
Very true that you will still treat the same, insulin wise, but if the test were to come back positive, there are some issues that need watching....

Acros has soft tissue growth issues, so you want to take care if you have any action taken that requires anesthesia.... you want the vet to use caution with a kitten sized tubing used, just in case.

Also, acros seem to have heart issues as well, so that's something else to watch.

So yes, you are correct that you will still dose pretty much the same, but watch for the other conditions as well. You have a cat with a functional pancreas if he's acro, so you want to take special care on lower BG because he may not be one who can come up with HC.... my Shadoe reacted nicely to HC when needed but Oliver did not.... he stayed low which can be scary.

Sometimes it's good to know what's going on, so you know what to expect may be possible.
 
Asides the dose, does his SS look acro to you? I wasn't convinced given other people's SS didn't show nearly as much green..
 
I sent you the link for Oliver, but he was a higher dose acro.
You will find that acros can be high or low dose; it depends on the hormone output... if you think of a faucet - it can be just dripping, a small stream, or full blast open.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top