2/22 - Scooter - AMPS 290, +4 216, +6 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
I decided to make a new thread cuz my other one from yesterday was getting kinda ugly and confusing... here

Today's AMPS was 290, AM +4 was 216... gonna do another test here in about 15 for his +6. I think we're increasing to 2.25u tonight. His numbers still aren't budging, he has been very yellow lately.

When I came back to sit down from prepping dinner, Scooter had taken over my chair. I put him on the floor and Ben asked why I didn't just let him sit in my lap. So I put him down in my lap and he sat with me for a good 5 minutes purring and kneading my leg, until I stopped petting him and he got crabby and left. :-D Maybe I can train him to be a lap cat.

Tonight I'm making potato leek soup for dinner. I tweaked a recipe to what me and Ben prefer, it's fast and easy to make. The worst part is cutting the potatoes but I make Ben do that :lol:

Cut leaves and dark green bits off the leek. You only want the white and light green parts remaining. Wash it good cause they get sand in between the layers. Chop up the light part into small pieces and sautee it in 2 tablespoons of butter. Add a bit, maybe a teaspoon, of ground or fresh thyme and fresh ground pepper. After about 5 mins of sauteeing, I add a quart of chicken stock. I use Better than Boullion paste if I don't have any homemade frozen stuff. Veggie stock works just as good if you are vegetarian. Bring to a boil. Then I add 2-3 bay leaves and 1 1/2 - 2 cubed potatoes, golds are best but I just use the cheap baking ones. Bring to a boil again. While it's warming up I mix a good amount of corn starch into cold water in a cup, anywhere from 2-4 tablespoons, it depends on how heavy of a cream you are going to use. I usually just use coffee cream or half and half so I use more corn starch. Add the cornstarch water and stir it well until it thickens enough. Then I let it simmer for about 30-40 minutes. Reduce the temperature so it doesn't curdle and add half a cup to a cup of cream, depending on what kind of cream you use and how rich you want it. Then you can puree it with an immersion blender or if you like it chunky just use a potato masher. Fresh chives and ground pepper on top. Some people like to add bacon and cheese into the soup too, but I like it basic.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - AMPS 290, +4 216

Hi guys .. I hope the increase helps with scooters numbers .. we'll be thankful he's been yellow, but we'll be grateful when they are blues right? :-D Your soup sounds good .. but so much work! I do not enjoy cooking at all and tend to buy more of the pre made dinners :sad: oh well .. we survive!
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - AMPS 290, +4 216

Blues would be nice, greens even nicer... Haven't seen a green in a long time.

Honestly it sounds like a lot of work but it's really not at all, especially if you have someone to help you. Took about 15 minutes for me and Ben to prep it. Cooking is an art. I love it :-D
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - AMPS 290, +4 216

Here's the soup:

soup.jpg


mmmm...
 
Hi Ry and Scooter,

That bowl of soup looks delicious! I love to make soups, too.

It looks as if it might be time to increase Scooter's dose to 2.25 units. He has some nice, flat yellow cycles on the current dose and an increase might help to bring the whole range down a peg. What do you think?

Have a fine evening. Scooter is a very handsome guy!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top