2.22 Rufus AMPS 168, +6 86, PMPS (RS) 195, +3 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
Roller coaster of numbers from Tues through today. He was acting a little subdued, but was still purring. Ran out to the kitchen with me for food. Usually happy, purring and appetite is high numbers. Well, he ate his whole bowl of food. In the meantime I was trying to find the cap for the lancet device. Can't find what I did with it after the 3am check. Ugh. Oh well. Manged to get a check, 168! I though for sure it would have been higher by the way he was acting.

Now we have to leave in about 20 minutes to go to the vet for dental check up. Kinda nervous on what they'll say about him eating kibble funny and licking at wet food instead of chomping through it like he used to.

Happy to see his bounces are breaking faster, now if the damn nausea could go away.

yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-512-5-496-8-475-pmps-363-4-299-8-149.191501/
 
Last edited:
It'll be good to have them take a look inside his mouth to see if there's any unusual irritation in there. He could just be "favoring" that area while it heals in the same way as he did when the sore teeth were there, but if it's something more you want to get it taken care of, for sure.

Good luck! With him breaking the bounce, try to get an early-cycle test in, maybe right after you get back. Most kitties go higher at the vet due to stress, but there are some that go lower, so don't assume you'll have a buffer because of that.

Rufus is looking good! :cat:
 
It'll be good to have them take a look inside his mouth to see if there's any unusual irritation in there. He could just be "favoring" that area while it heals in the same way as he did when the sore teeth were there, but if it's something more you want to get it taken care of, for sure.
They way he devoured the treats last night was positive. No dropping and maneuaving them in his mouth. As far as wet food, he hasn't "chewed" in the last 5 months. Maybe he has to re-learn to chew? I'm just worried that if did need those canine removed, he just had surgery, I don't think it would be good to have it again.
 
As far as wet food, he hasn't "chewed" in the last 5 months. Maybe he has to re-learn to chew?

Yeah, habit plus a little soreness (he just had some teeth yanked, after all!) can explain a lot. No reason to worry unless there's something else going on.

Glad he went after the treats with more gusto last night, that's a good sign!
 
It does take a while to recover from dental surgery...I don't know if you had your wisdom teeth out, but ouch!

Good luck with the check today. Great start for Rufus - his bounces are becoming shorter!
 
So vet appointment with the dentist went great! She said not to worry about what she had written about his canine teeth, they are nowhere near needing help. She just wanted to let me and herself to know there was minimal boss loss, but that's it. She said his mouth looks awesome and he's in no pain at all (mouth wise at least). Just have to be aware of the tooth resorption and to make sure and come back in a year. She wasn't too thrilled with me going down on his dosage before the follow up with the internist, but I said that's what I did when he went below 90 he earned a reduction. She wasn't too sure. Anyways, she was really cool and actively listened to my concerns which is always nice. She gave me some advice, which somebody told before also, that I should take a step back and look how good he's doing. Stop fretting over everything with him, which is sometimes hard :)

So, now I get home and do a +6 test and he's 86. So he's earned another reduction?? Scary he's only been on this dose for 4 cycles. I'll keep an eye on him. He's acting pretty good and active, but the nausea is still there. She said to give him the 8mg in am and pm of ondansetron (which is huge dosage, bot ok). She wanted to give me a script for cerenia but I said he didn't really work for him and it's expensive.

Anyways, thanks to all for checking in. Also applied for my passport so I can drive to Canada to get him his Lantus. $300 here, $64 there. I'm about 5.5 hours away. Good savings!

Hope all of you and your kitties are doing well today :)
 
Great news about the vetty visit. Rufus is doing great!

Usually we don't reduce quite so soon after a reduction; however, given the dental and the fact that Rufus's dose was on the higher side, I'm not sure how to answer your question about reducing again so soon. I've put feelers out with some other members to get their thoughts.

Definitely keep tabs - it does look like he's either really getting used to insulin, or that dental is working some magic!
 
Great news about the vetty visit. Rufus is doing great!

Usually we don't reduce quite so soon after a reduction; however, given the dental and the fact that Rufus's dose was on the higher side, I'm not sure how to answer your question about reducing again so soon. I've put feelers out with some other members to get their thoughts.

Definitely keep tabs - it does look like he's either really getting used to insulin, or that dental is working some magic!
Yeah for sure feeling better! I kind of used to be able to guess his numbers by how active he was. Now today he's doing the opposite. Low numbers and being active! Now if we could just get the nausea to go away. Even with that 8mg of ondan this am he's still being picky and a little inappantence.

I'm going to get some more tests in to make sure his number bump up.
 
Sounds like you had a great vet appointment. Good to know he's probably not in pain and just getting used to the new configuration of his mouth.

Since you are following SLGS, and might be seeing some impacts from the dental, I would reduce down to 5.0 units.
 
Great post dental surgery follow up outcome! Go Rufus!
I kind of used to be able to guess his numbers by how active he was. Now today he's doing the opposite. Low numbers and being active!
Good signs and good observations.

I agree with Wendy on reducing. It is amazing how dental health can impact BG for some kitties. So glad you were able to get his mouth addressed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top