2/22 Moonie PMPS 195 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Today is a bittersweet day for us--Moonie is on insulin & here at FDMB for 3 years today!

My story is long, tedious, but seemed hopeless on that day! Moonie's 1st trip outside was when she was 11 yrs old-(1/08)- She was walking with a strange gait, on her hocks a lot, not standing right!- Eating & urinating so much, she laid by the water bowl all day!! She had terrible dander & ate so much we got scared!!
Took her to the vet & her sugar was 377. Vet felt it was stress! He tells me to urine test her with ketostix & purina glycotest which I wound up doing for many many months.
Next visit her sugar was 127-vet says she's a transient diabetic ohmygod_smile And she has Diabetic Neuropathy! Plus a floating kneecap! This guy was nuts He doesnt give any insulin yet!!
3rd visit, Moonie's Fructosamine test was 600's, he puts her on 2 units TID of Humilin N on 2/22/08!
He raised her dose again shortly after that, & finally says shoot 4 units N! I tell him NO!!- I was already lurking on FDMB and they told me not to shoot 4 U--So we are Off to a vet specialist in FD--
Moonie goes on lantus 0.5U And we are told to keep urine testing her-Vet says her neuropathy may not resolve-But can improve-

Please understand, Moonie was hiding,screaming, fighting, escaping from me every single time I had to shoot her-BG testing is impossible--She is deemed a fractious cat!--The N did not agree with her, think it made her sicker..Lantus did help, but with the help of Jojo & Jill, I was able to manage the shots & the urine testing.
I was literally Shooting Blind without bg tests--UG tested Moonie 3x per day every day--I was dedicated!
Moonie begins to actually get a lot better--I get to manage the Alternative Monitoring forum here on FDMB, to
help others who cannot BG test right away which I was Glad to do for others with fractious cats!

Then one day, a member here on the board came over & showed me how to BG test Moonie!!-Still it took months to get her to let me do that! Many tears, many hours of fighting with her, many posts!
By 9/08 I am able to get some bg tests! --Thank you Jackie!! We will never forget that!

I feel that all those months when Moonie 1st came, she was on such low doses-0.1-0.5U she may have had a chance to go OTJ, but without BG testing, that possibilty was small..I still blame myself for not being stronger with her, not trying hard enough,& not testing.
BUT I am SOOOOO Happy my Darling Girl is Well, Healthy(antijinx),Happy, and somewhat regulated-
I have met some of the Finest people I have ever known here, dedicated, kind, caring...
Thank you everyone for the Hope I always have in my heart That all kitties can live well with this disease, and can thrive...Thanks to all oldtimers, midtimers & newbies, I learn so much from all of you...
My heart is here because Moonie & I were saved here--Happy 3rd annifursary my baby Moonie-You are the bravest & the best----Many Hugs from us!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy 3rd Annifursary, Roni & Moonie :YMHUG:
We love you both & you continue to be an inspiration, friend & supporter to all & we thank you for that.
I hope one day you both can feel the freedom of being OTJ ;-)
party_cat party_cat party_cat
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy anniversary guys! Your post brought tears to my eyes .. Moonie is such a lucky kitty to have you taking care of her .. the love and dedication you show to moonie is amazing and you are an inspiration to the whole site here Roni!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

HAPPY 3RD ANNIFURSARY MOONIE!!!​
flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat​
It is cause for celebration! Three years of being, once again, happy, healthy, and well. Job well done Roni! Your story is one of a dedicated caring bean. My hat goes off to you! Congrats on getting Moonie to where she is today. Mannie approaches his 3 year annifursary come May. That too will be cause for celebration. Three years of having our babies back from what was 3 years ago an uncertain future.

Enjoy your day today - celebrate well.
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy 3rd Annifursary, Moonie and Roni. What an amazing story and it is even more amazing to me how you continue to be an enormous LL inspiration to all of us with all of your love, great humor, positive attitude. And I am not giving up hope that Moonie will one day be OTJ because she's been doing so fab lately. We love you and Moonie, Roni. Thank you for all you give to LL!!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy 3rd Anniversary to Moonie and what a story. Moonie has come a long way and I think we will see him go OTJ and what a party when it happens! Moonie is one lucky kitty to have you as his Bean!
Hugs to you both :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

HAPPY, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY DAY TO BEAUTIFUL MOONIE AND HER WONDERFUL MAMABEAN RONI!!

You are both an inspiration to everyone here. Enjoy this special day, it commemorates true dedication and love, and always keep the conviction that OTJ is doable--it may not be right around the corner, but it is always a possibility.

Love and hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Moonie's +3~203 Hope she comes down more today--( didnt want to ruin her heading :lol:
Thanks for all the love & hope here--The friends I have made here are the support I need every day..We all need & deserve it!
Hope we see blue sometime today-I raised her dose a bit to a hair over 0.5U--Her annifursary gift :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

party_cat HAPPY ANNIFURSARY RONI AND MOONIE!!!!!!! WE LOVE YOU!!! party_cat

I'm so inspired by your story, Roni! You tried so hard, and kept on it, asked for help when you needed it, and look where you are today! Huge Dedication Prize for you, Roni. Moonie has come a long way because of you and the FDMB community. May you experience OTJ in your future.
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

A bittersweet sort of anniversary but Moonie is in good hands and this wonderful place has made dealing with FD so much easier for all of us.

I wish Moonie great numbers and a long happy life
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Congratulations on your bittersweet annifursary, Roni and Moonie. I remember well all of your difficulties with testing Moonie, and your expertise with alternative monitoring. I really appreciate your support and upbeat attitude in LL all of these years, too. You are a fantastic Mom to your Moonie.
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

+4.5~167--Doesnt look like Moonie's gonna be green for her day!! Oh well-Love her still :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Even though it is a bittersweet annifursary, Moonie really is doing very well. So keep the sweet and throw out the bitter, Roni. Moonie is happy and healthy and all because of you. So here's to many more annifursaries drinking24 ! Go Moonie!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy Annifursary you two!!! So glad you found FDMB and that you continue to help :smile:

Course, that reminds me our 3 year is coming up too...better get her SS updated :lol:

I hope you have a wonderful annifursary day! Only the finest low-carb treats for Moonie. For you Roni...have whatever you like! You are a wonderful furbaby mom!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

* :RAHCAT Happy Annifursary Moonie and Roni! party_cat​
You are at the core of FDMB and an inspiration to us all. Congratulations on Moonie's good health and thank you for being so dedicated to her and to us. drinking24
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy Annifurrsary Moonie. We lubs you!

All the dancing and partying lately is hiding the greens. I know they will come out soon.

Here is a photo that BigMac took when he saw Moonie dancing the other night. He thinks she's very pretty!

Moonietutu.jpg
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

have met some of the Finest people I have ever known here, dedicated, kind, caring...

What a coincidence -- that's what I thought when I met YOU!

I never knew Moonie's "backstory." I can't believe you feel any guilt -- no room for that!! You are one of the most patient and dedicated mamabeans ever, and you give so much back to this board while you're taking care of Moonie.

hugs hugs hugs on your annifursary!!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy anniversary, guys... and thank you so much for sharing your story! I am so happy to see what a better place Moonie is in today compared to where she was 3 years ago. You guys are such an inspiration to us newbies and have been a wonderful source of support. I hope you are enjoying this joyous, even if bittersweet, day!
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Sometimes it is the hardships that form the strongest bonds.

Happy Annifursary
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Congratulations to Moonie and Roni on their third year of becoming part of one wonderful family unit here at FDMB!!!​
Wow, Roni....three years, huh..time goes by so fast, doesn't it? It will be three years for Spot on July 25th....sigh...what a terrible day that was, huh, finding out that our baby's had FD, but it was also a good day because we got to be a part of such a wonderful family here on FDMB!!​
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

SOME TRULY BEAUTIFUL THINGS COME FROM ADVERSITY...AND FOR US, YOU AND MOONIE ARE TWO OF THE LOVELIEST!!
I CAN'T BEGIN TO TELL YOU HOW WONDERFUL WE THINK YOU ARE...YOU HAVE BROUGHT US LAUGHTER, TEARS, FRIENDSHIP, AND GREAT SUPPORT...
AND FOR THAT, WE THANK YOU FROM THE DEEPEST RECESSES OF OUR HEARTS!!

SO HAPPY ANNIFURSARY, DEAREST FRIENDS!!!

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Roni,

I bet there is a huge difference in bean stress from before and now. I know because even though Sara wasn't that hard to learn how to test I still felt overwhelmed and scared till I found FD. The stress I felt before had a how am I ever going to do this feeling. I was shooting blindly in the begining too and my first vet never even mentioned it.

I know exactly how you feel. Even when I don't post here on a daily basis my minds never far away. I'm so ever grateful too. I've meet many caring and nice people here and feel more closer to them than some of the people I see everyday.

So glad that Moonie is happy and healthy and living the life of Garfield. Keep up the good work Moonie. cat_pet_icon

HAPPY THIRD ANNIFURSARY!!!

jan and sara
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Happy Annifursary to both you and Moonie.

Got tears in my eyes reading Moonie's story.
I know you always had that guilt feeling but as you said, she is doing beautiful, and she is
healthy and she has you to love her.

You are included in the amazing, wonderful, kind, loving......group of people that
makes this place so special.

Max misses his pretty girl.
((hugs))
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie Amps 241 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary here!

Anniversaries like Moonie's are truly sad/happy days (sorry/glad you're here kinda thing). This is a wonderful community and thank you for being a part of it.
 
Thank you all so much for the beautiful messages today, they really touched my heart...
Gave Moonie her shot tonite & it may have gone through & through ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Gosh & on this day!! Hope some got in..
I am so priviliged to be a part of a wonderful place like our lantus land!
Hope she comes down We'll see :shock:
 
party_cat HAPPY ANNIVERSARY MOONIE AND RONI!!!

It IS a happy day because she is healthy and happy today! And you have done a great job...all that you learned and did with Moonie to help her. You are such a wonderful friend...and a dear person to everyone! Sending hugs to you both on this special day!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Moonie PMPS 195,+5~247 Moonie's 3rd Annifursary her

And so it was a thru & thru shot tonite cat(2)_steam -I cant believe I did it!--
And again trying to shoot her in a different area!!! Gotta give that up--
We are so thrilled & happy for this beautiful day--Thank you for a Great 3rd Anniversary!
Love you Lantus Landers old & new--Together we stand!

Have colorful dreams, sweet sleepus and good health!--Prayers for Tori, Rocket Whiskers, Butthead and all other ailing Kitties--May tomorrow find you healed & well--Many Many Hugs tonite--We lubs you all-Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top