2/22 Mike's Buddy AMPS#439 +1 438 Concern?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
Yikes, where did that come from? 1.10u shoot. He was fasted for two hours before I shot, what is this all about? Another bounce I suppose.
 
Re: 2/22 Mike's Buddy AMPS#439 :(

Hi, Mike & Buddy.. sorry to see the higher #, I suspect it is a bounce but not sure. Others will chime in, I hope he comes on down for you.
Have a great day! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/22 Mike's Buddy AMPS#439 Bounce? :(

I hope so, its been a roller coaster with my boy. I hate to think we will have to start another increase.


Thanks.
 
+1 check, only by one. Do we have a bounce here? I will have to leave for work soon, I know high number for a short time are safer than low ones. But, what is a short time, hours or days?
 
Hi, I don't have experience with higher #s, but I know you need to leave for work soon so I am bumping your condo up for eyes to see.
Typically the +1 is higher/similar to the shot #, here is an example of what a curve looks like.
Are you testing for ketones?

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Yes, testing when ever I can, yesterday was a test. Negative.

I am going to work now.... needless to say I'm going to worry about this.
 
It could be a bounce but I'll throw a couple other things out there...

1) How old is your insulin? You're coming up on 28 days and if you've left it out at all, rolled it, etc. it could be starting to go wonky. If the high numbers continue, I'd consider starting a new cartridge/pen/vial of insulin.

2) How is Buddy doing otherwise? Is there any chance he could have an infection anywhere... teeth, etc.? Infections can have a big effect on BG #s. Willie's spreadsheet provides some good examples.

Hope that helps!
 
hey Mike

please try to plink your last condo so we can easily peek back quickly if needed.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37325 here it is for you.

I was gonna ask the same question Christie did, how old is your insulin?
is anyone around when u are at work? maybe to spotcheck him around +5, +6?
either cycle.

did you have a chance to ask your vet more about the atopica meds?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top