2/22 Kitty PMPS reading 101. No shot. + 1.5 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Hi again!
it looks like Kitty is really starting to respond to Lantus, great news I think :)

After yesterday's interesting day with first more consistenly lowish BGs, his AMPS this morning was 292 and I gave him the normal 2.5U shot. I was not home to test during the day, and at +8 his BG was 157.

Now for PM shot his BG is 101 (+12). So glad to see the low numbers, BUT just not sure what to dose to give again. Again, he has not eaten much since morning, if anything.... I'm trying to offer all great wet food but he just ignores all of it. :sad: I have not yet given any dry food either, but I don't think I should keep him starving either, right?

So, the FIRST question is - what to shoot tonight? and when do give him food (yes, it will be dry to make him eat at least something)?

Follosing questions will come later about the food and dose change --- I will be travelling for over a week starting this Saturday, so I need to bring some stability in the next 2 days.

But can someone please first give an advise on the dose?

Thank you in advance to all of you wonderful people out there :cool:
 
Re: 2/22 Kitty PMPS reading 101. Need again a dosing advise

Hi guys .. no dosing or feeding advice from me .. but that 101 sure is a nice number! I'm sure others will be along soon enough with advice for you ..
 
Samantha:

You skipped your PM shot -- that's fine since we generally don't expect someone that's new to using Lantus to shoot if numbers are below 150.

I'd suggest you take a look at Dr. Lisa Pierson's site on feline nutrition. She has a section on transitioning a cat from dry to canned food. I'm not sure if some of the "tricks" that we use (e.g., freeze dried chicken crumbled on top of the canned food) are available to you in Russia. Rather than giving kibble, if you smash some of the dry food and sprinkle it on top of the wet food, it may be an inducement for Kitty to eat.

With Lantus, you do not slide the doses. If you are following Tight Regulation, you give the same dose consistently unless your cat's numbers drop below 50 or unless a dose increase is warranted. Unlike with Canninsulin, Lantus dose is based on the lowest point of the cycle, not on the pre-shot numbers. Also, you increased Kitty's dose from 2.0u to 2.5u. It may have been better to increase by 0.25u.

Who is going to be caring for Kitty while you're away? We often reduce the dose since most surrogate caregivers don't test as regularly as we do, some cats don't eat well when we're gone, and because safety is paramount.
 
Hi again

I decided not to give a shot. Let's see where this leads..... Since Kitty has not eaten hardly anything all day, i think I will have to give him a bit of dry food to survive. Can't be good for a diabetic to be not eating for a very long (24 hrs?) time, right?

I also wrote in main health page about our challenges to get converted to wet food:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=64369&p=697337#p697337

Now my main concern is that I will be travelling for a week starting this Saturday. I think I will have to start the regular dry food feeding (with wet available also!) tomorrow again so that we get some stable BGs before I leave. While it is not the ideal situation, I think some kind of stability is now needed since my kitty sitter just stops by twice a day and does not test, and Kitty is not stable to wet food (and I will not be able to get him to wet only food before Saturday). Additionally, I think I should adjust the dose down from the usual 2.5U to perhaps 1.5U - 2U, just to be safe.

Any thoughts?
 
yes, we would adjust the dose downward because of the petsitter/no testing situation. i can't remember if you said if there was any possibility of getting your petsitter to test at least pre-shot numbers? at least then she'd know that it was safe to shoot. if you want, you can also let the petsitter log on here and we could give advice if she needed it. we've helped other petsitters before, especially if you're not available by phone while you're traveling.

i understand what you're thinking about getting Kitty's BG stable before you go - the thing is the dry food makes it unstable. maybe what you're thinking is that he could stay in the 300's while you're gone? is that what you mean?

if he had only canned cat food, do you have any idea how many ounces per day he would eat? it's not that we're meaning to be critical about the food, it's just that we've seen cats go off of insulin just with the change to canned food. there are people who've reported that their cat's BG went up a couple hundred points from 1-2 kibbles of dry food, so just through experience we know it's near impossible to get a cat regulated on dry food and i would guess it is impossible to get them off of insulin if they are eating dry food. it is ok to leave canned food out all day - some people put a ice pack under the dish, some just add water to keep it from drying out.

i truly apologize if this comes out harping, i don't mean it that way. i'm just not remembering what has been said already on the topic and sometimes people don't really understand the implications of the dry food.

for today, if you give him dry food, even though you're skipping the insulin shot now, why don't you go ahead and get some tests in so we can learn how carb-sensitive he is and how his body responds to the crunchies. every cat is different and some are more/less carb sensitive than others. this would be really great information to know on Kitty.

as far as the dose goes, it would be ideal to look at where he is 24 hrs or so before you go and make a decision on the dose at that time. cats can change a lot and we wouldn't want to make a decision now that wouldn't be right then. will that work for you?
 
Thanks for replies. Kitty had a bit of Hills MD dry food around +2 when his PM shot time would have been, and BG was now 140 at +3.

I appreciate all comments and advise, and we are still very much learning how this all works. I understand and agree that I must get kitty to wet food. Eventually I do hope that Kitty's diabetes will become just diet controlled.

Just at the moment, when I see that he is not eating anything and he has lowish BG levels and I am soon going away for a week, I am a bit at loss what to do in the short term. I know he will not be eating regularly wet food before Saturday (I have tried this for many days now). My common sense - which may not be right :) - says that while I am gone it is important
1) to make sure that Kitty eats something (=dry food) and
2) that dose is safe that he will not have hypo.

My kitty sitter does not speak English do trying to teach testing and what to do with low readings is pretty much out of question at this stage...

Any how - it's time for us to go to bed now.... we'll keep you posted tomorrow morning on his readings.
Have a great day!
 
:-D your common sense is just fine! :lol: yes, he must eat and yes, the dose has to be low enough that he doesn't hypo.

thanks for explaining about the non-english-speaking pet sitter.

have a good night's sleep!
 
Have you tried crunching some dry on top of the wet as Sienne suggested, most kitties will go for that but yes you are quite correct you don't want a cat not eating for 24hrs. I would make the reduced dose for the petsitter not more than 1.5, I'm thinking I would probably make it 1 unit only.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top