2/22 Harley PMPS 297, 281/+3.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley is 379 this AM. He does not seem to be coming down at all. I have gone back to only FF for food but....I might go get a script for 1 pen lantus to see if that might be the problem. What should I expect to pay.

Haven't decided yet, but I might try a touch of R to get his attention and get him down a bit. Will decide in about an hour.

I know I need to stay at the 3.25 a bit longer but he is in the pink way to long and it is not good for kidneys. I did read Dr. Lisa's site on the renal threshold and don't want any problems. Will see what happens today.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64224
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379

I feel your pink! We're going through the same thing and can only seem to pull the pink down with R, even after an increase. Some folks have been able to find a source that will sell a single pen, but usually you're stuck with buying the whole 5 pack. We're using vials, so I can't give you current pricing. Good luck.
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379, 365

Harley is down some but not enough. Bit the bullet and gavy 0.1u R. He HAS to come down some. Am going to call the vet for the script for lantus pens. Need to call around to see what is my best cost.

Pattie
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379, 365

Hi guys .. sorry to see harley is stuck up on the pink floor .. have you ever purchased lantus from craigslist? You might be able to find a better deal on there, if there is any in your area .. Good luck on your search .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379, 365

I agree -- all of the pink is not where I'd want to see Harley.

[url=http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm:1izcl3ww][b:1izcl3ww]TR Protocol[/b][/url] said:
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

I pulled this info out in case you forgot about these options -- i.e., increasing a bit sooner and by 0.5u given how much pink Harley's been seeing. If you're going to be aggressive with dose, I would make sure you increase on days when you can be around to monitor.
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379, 365

i buy one pen at a time from the local Sav-On pharmacy for $43. do you have one of those near you? if not, perhaps a local pharmacy instead of a big chain might sell one.

in my fantasy world i keep thinking we'll only need one more pen ohmygod_smile but perhaps i should suck it up and buy a box.

sorry you're seeing these high numbers with mr harley. i'm a little discouraged with controlling the R drops so am just being more aggressive with the Lantus. i worry about kidney or other organ damage too. it's a little scary.

hang in there - you'll get harley back on track again. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Harley 379, 365

Oh. I forgot -- try the outpatient pharmacy at the U of MN hospital or at the vet school. They may sell single pens. Often, a hospital outpatient pharmacy will sell single pens since the boxes get broken apart for use in the hospital.
 
Re: 2/22 Harley PMPS 297

Harley dropped into the yellow – barely but he did drop into yellow

379/AMPS
365/+1.5 (gave 0.1u R)
404/+5 Workmen here for 1 hour
328/+9
294/+11.5
297/PMPS

Still too high. This is cycle 4 – if tomorrow AM he is still too high – I go to 3.5

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top