2/22 Harley AMPS 164 PMPS 143 0.10u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's topic: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=37309

Good morning all, Harley's AMPS was 164. This after multiple tries to get a reading with the Freestyle meter. I ran through about 6 test strips and 4 pokes and my poor boy was getting frustrated. They just wouldn't suck up the beautiful little blood beads. So I whipped out the ReliOn (my backup meter) and got a reading first stick. (Wonder if I got some bad FS strips because this batch has been very difficult to get a reading.)

Anyway, looks like we are shooting 0.10u again this morning and I'll try to get a reading at Noon.

Yawn, arch back, stretch, lie down, zzzzzzzzzz.

Laura
 
Re: 2/22 Harley AMPS 164

I used the Free style lite and never had a problem. Sounds like you are right and there is something wrong with
Those strips. Good for you and kudos to Harley for putting up with the testing!
 
Re: 2/22 Harley AMPS 164

Call the company and complain. (Just don't mention you are using them on a cat- they are for your son, Harley). Usually they will send you more.
 
Re: 2/22 Harley AMPS 164

Yeah for the good numbers for Harley! That's the pits about the test strips. Testing is hard enough without adding a glitch like that.
 
Re: 2/22 Harley AMPS 164

judy and squamee(GA) said:
I used the Free style lite and never had a problem. Sounds like you are right and there is something wrong with those strips. Good for you and kudos to Harley for putting up with the testing!

Either that or it's user error. :)

hollyall said:
Yeah for the good numbers for Harley! That's the pits about the test strips. Testing is hard enough without adding a glitch like that.

No lie. He's so smart that he knows when it's a good stick and I've got the blood bead and he's ready to leave now - his part is done. But I keep futzing around with this meter and have to poke him again. He just doesn't understand that and gets frustrated.

Hopefully he'll be OTJ real soon and we can throw a catnip party!!!
 
Re: 2/22 Harley AMPS 164

Me too Laura. Max hears the beep the meter makes when it has the blood and jumps up for treat time. He doesn't like it (understand) when I get the "not enough blood" error and have to redo. I'm getting better at it...slowly.
 
Such smart boys we have Holly :)

PMPS = 143, shooting 0.10u tonight. Since his +6 from this morning was a 105, I think it's a safe dose for now. I think I'll try to nap early tonight and wake up for a +6 or +7 reading. My hypothesis is he might have a late nadir. (Look at me using the big words now. Beware!)

I'm thinking of holding this dose until Saturday and curving him as intended if all goes well. But this begs the question: what exactly I am looking for in order for him to go OTJ? I called to update my vet on my progress and to get her opinion on his progress; when I told her I reduced the dose down to 0.10u, she said to stop the insulin altogether and just monitor him to make sure he doesn't go above 180. I kind of disagree. The few numbers that I was able to get without insulin last week showed that he hovered in the high 100's but he wasn't feeling or looking good. He even lost weight. I guess it depends what your definition of remission is. If it's possible to train his liver and pancreas to do what they should by holding this dose, then I'd like to go for it. If I'm not making sense, please blame it on the sleep deprived zombie who's taken over my body.

Many thanks to all who have gotten us this far!!! Harley is more himself than I've sen in a long time. He plays and purrs now and he hasn't done much of that in months.

Laura
 
So glad Harley is back in the playing purring mode again :)

We call the meter beep the “chicken beep” since both cats, not only sugar cat Asher, are poised for the chicken treat they know is coming after "ears time".
 
Anything over 120 is a diabetic number and needs to be supported with insulin to let his P heal, so you are right on.

I'm so glad he's doing so well.

BTW I love his name. :-D
 
Rob & Harley said:
Anything over 120 is a diabetic number and needs to be supported with insulin to let his P heal, so you are right on.

Thanks for the validation, Thank GOD I'm not flying bind anymore!

Rob & Harley said:
I'm so glad he's doing so well.

BTW I love his name. :-D

You have a beautiful boy too! He looks a lot like Angel (GA in my sig. below who was also a DC). Love his pretty blue-green numbers. How's he liking that raw diet.? I've been thinking of switching my kits to raw but don't know where to start.

My guy came to me already named so I didn't change it. But I admit his nickname is "Beau" because it means handsome in French.

Laura
 
You are not alone in this anymore.

Aww thanks, Harley got his name because when he purrs he is loud and his whole body rumbles. Just like a Harley. He's wasn't convinced about the raw until he gave me some high 200's and I quit mixing in the canned food. I was lucky that my vet believes in a raw diet and found a pet food place here that grinds raw food for pets so I could just go buy it.

I like Beau Harley. It fits him.
 
In very general terms, a cat is considered OTJ when in the 40s - 120 range without insulin. Higher than that consistently means you need to give them support for the pancreas. Cats are considered regulated if they run between 200 at pre shots going down into the 100s at nadir.
 
+6 is 116 tonight.

Depending on AMPS, thinking about raising dose a hair tomorrow AM to a 0.15 or skinny 0.20 - we'll see.

Testing is going better with the ReliOn Micro (love that capillary action): prep, poke, sip, beep and where's my treat?

Going back to bed now, good night and thank you to all!

Laura
 
Rob & Harley said:
You are not alone in this anymore.

Aww thanks, Harley got his name because when he purrs he is loud and his whole body rumbles. Just like a Harley. He's wasn't convinced about the raw until he gave me some high 200's and I quit mixing in the canned food. I was lucky that my vet believes in a raw diet and found a pet food place here that grinds raw food for pets so I could just go buy it.

I like Beau Harley. It fits him.

That's how my boy got his name too, he was named by his foster mommy before I got him (very long story there for another time - or a profile). The irony of it is he does purr pretty loud once he gets going but his buddy Princess can blow him away!
 
Sue and Oliver said:
In very general terms, a cat is considered OTJ when in the 40s - 120 range without insulin. Higher than that consistently means you need to give them support for the pancreas. Cats are considered regulated if they run between 200 at pre shots going down into the 100s at nadir.

Aha, so if I'm understanding this right - what I'm doing with him now is bringing him down slowly into the range where he is supposed to be and then watch the numbers to see if his pancreas starts to kick in on a regular basis?
 
Thanks Sue and Judy! The hardest part of playing chicken like this will be knowing when to flinch...

This does concern me though, when Harley went OTJ the first time with Vetsulin, my vet got a 132 in her office and said he didn't need insulin anymore. It probably was a stress induced number but I didn't question it nor did we do any follow-up testing for another 6 months. Guess I can't do anything about it now but he may never really have been ready to go OTJ. It may make remission for him harder to achieve now if his body has grown so used to those higher numbers for the last 2 years.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top