2/22 Faith Ambg 333, PMPS 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vegetable (GA)

Member Since 2015
Good morning,

I just posted my intro a couple of minutes ago.

Faith is my extra sweet kitty that I adopted and she arrived at my place yesterday morning thanks to an awesome team that worked hard to get her to me.

Faith is on lantus insulin and we will be following the TR protocol.

This morning I checked her blood sugar and she was at 333. It's not a great blood sugar but it could be worse. She has not had insulin for 24 hours now since she was not allowed to have insulin before her long journey yesterday and I thought I would give her a day to settle into her new home. Tonight I will start her lantus again.

So far Faith seems to be settling in nicely. She is a good eater and is exploring the house. She has already claimed her spot on the couch :)

Faith is a good sport when it comes time to check her blood sugar especially since I'm rusty at it!

Faith 2.jpg
 
Aw, what a lucky, pretty kitty.....congratulations to both of you, and thank you for adopting her! I am sure Vegetable is so proud!!
 
She's beautiful and lucky to have you. I hope things go well with the testing as you get into a routine and her numbers come down.
 
Faith's foster mom was dosing her on a sliding scale, I know it was not ideal but she was trying her best.

I need to come up with a good starting dose for her shot tonight. She weighs about 8 pounds and she has a bit of a belly when you look at her walk from behind. I was thinking 1 unit would be a good starting point, would that be right? I cant tell yet if her belly if it's actually fat or if it's just she has a bit of a belly cause of her surgery and things never went back down. Faith had Pyometra in 2016 I believe and then she was diagnosed with diabetes after that and then a couple of months ago she had a dental done. She's been through allot for being only 4ish.
 
Hi Jennifer, and thanks for taking on another sweet kitty.

Is Faith eating low carb wet now? Do you know what she was eating? If you want to use TR for dosing again, 1.0 unit is a good start. For her weight, the starting formula says 0.9 units. Good luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top