2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108, PMPS: 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
I didn't have a condo yesterday; I took a day away from the internet and I feel refreshed. :) The SS is up to date but nothing exciting happened yesterday.

WCR: Buzz is doing fine. She has found a spot on the recliner that she loves. There's a pillow sitting a certain way and it sort of makes a cave behind it, and she curls up in there for hours and hours. Her right ear seems very sensitive (that's the one that gets about 75% of the testing done on it) the last few days. I have been using Neosporin afterwards but I'm not sure it's really helping at this point. Her ears don't feel hot so I just try to be as gentle as I can.

I feel very unsure about this dose (0.5s). I feel like there's no real way to tell if I am getting it right each time, plus DHW has been giving most of the shots this week so he's the one who has been doing it. He left for a business trip today so it's just me for a week. I gave the shot the other day when her numbers were high, and I wondered if it was because I somehow did the dose wrong or what. I don't guess 0.25 is any easier, though, so I guess I'm in trouble either way. ;)
 
Re: 2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108

+3: 46 (fed LC snack)

Will I reduce the dose at tonight's shot, or will we wait and see if she bounces? For the skinny 0.5, I have been going to 0.5 and then getting rid of one drop of insulin because I don't really know how to measure. Should I get rid of 2 or 3 drops tonight? Is that too much? I feel like these are uncharted waters; although I have shot lower doses before on PZI, that was a U40 insulin and I was using U100 syringes. It made smaller doses much easier to see. ;)

I will get a +4 and report back. :)
 
Re: 2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108, +3: 46/Dosing question

I haven't gotten Gabby's dose down that far so I'm of no practical help. What I might suggest is to practice with an old syringe. Use a more easily visible dose like 1 or 2 units. Then, measure off from there by counting the drops. See if you idea works. Or, alternatively, use a colored liquid and practice with the dose you will be using. AT least you'll be able to see the amount more easily.
 
Re: 2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108, +3: 46/Dosing question

Lantus users require big and ugly reading glasses!!!!! :lol:

Wait and see what the number is tonight, however, the 'shave' dosecrease from SK0.5 is 0.25 I think.
Sienne's idea of practice with old syringe and coloured water is a good one.
 
Re: 2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108, +3: 46/Dosing question

Oooh good idea, Sienne! I will try that this afternoon. Helene, I need a magnifying glass instead, since I already wear contacts. ;) But that's not a bad idea either.
 
Re: 2/22 Buzz AMPS: 108, +3: 46/Dosing question

(((Sarah))) good luck with the dosing in the syringe. I totally understand. When we got down to those low levels (forget it when we got to 0.1U-I sware that was like 2 drops, lol). I think that it is important that you are consistant. I found that twisting the plunger helped to really slow down how much I removed. I could almost go drop by drop. Sorry if you already know about this...just some ideas. I had to actually take my contacts out or glasses off to see that close up. :roll: :lol:
 
Thanks, Paige. :) I will try twisting, I hadn't heard that before.

PMPS: 279
+2.5: 270

tonight I did 0.5 minus 2 drops. I had been doing minus 1 drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top