2/22 Bear's PMPS 296 ? for Sienne and others

Status
Not open for further replies.

BettyL

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone-
Why was Bear doing better on here AMPS numbers when I wasn't giving her any insulin than she is now?

Sienne- I was wondering what you meant when you posted that I have to give some thought as to what my goals are for Bear? Isn't the ultimate goal to get her to remission?

I bought a timed feeder today. I was wondering what kind of feeding schedule I should try to get Bear on? I read where cats on Lantus do better if they can free feed. Bear lives with 9 other cats so that is not really feasible for me. I lock her in the bathroom from 7:00am to around 6:30 or 7:00pm and have been leaving her some frozen wet food cubes just so she would have some access to some food through out the day. Not sure when she actually ate them, so also not sure how they affected her PMPS #. I have been feeding her a full can of FF before her AM shot, leaving the ice cubes, and feeding another full can at PSPM, and then around 1/2 can at pre +4 testing. What would be a good feeding schedule now that I have the timed feeder-2 meal capacity- and how do I time food around her testing? If I give her two smaller snacks at night , won't I mess up my +4 test.

Thanks
Betty
 
Betty

Here's Bears 2/21 Condo.

She was getting more insulin. She's only getting a tiny bit of insulin and it can be hard to dose that consistently.

Yes, the ultimate goal is to get her into remission. Sienne was wanting you to look at the TR protocol and compare it to the SLGS approach and decide which you can do. Is your goal just to keep her safe and in the 200s or are you able to learn to shoot lower numbers and let her surf in numbers between 50-120 with the goal of remission?

It doesn't matter what you set the feeder for other than ensuring she doesn't eat between +10 and +12. Some of us have specific feeding schedules to work with the insulin but not all cats need that.
 
How can I learn to shoot in the lower numbers and let her surf if I am not home from 7:00am to 7:00pm Mon-Fri. My first goal is to keep Bear safe, and my second goal is remission. Can both be achieved? Am I wrong that Bear is very sensitive to insulin? She went fairly low with a very small dose.

Bear wasn't getting any insulin in the morning when her AM numbers stayed consistently in the blue range.

Betty
 
Just to add a bit to what Marje posted, not everyone has the goal of remission. Following the TR protocol takes a fair amount of commitment. For some individuals, their work schedule or other real life considerations preclude their ability to test in the way that you some times must test. For those individuals, keeping their cat in healthy numbers is the goal. Of course, there are also cats whose pancreas isn't going to allow them to go into remission. Keeping their cat tightly regulated may be the goal. At this point, it may be too early for you to make a decision. I know I would love to see Gabby go into remission. Realistically, the longer she's staying diabetic, the less likely that is to happen. I just want to keep her in good numbers and let her take the lead in this process.
 
Betty

She wasn't getting any insulin in the mornings but evidently her PM dose kept her depot full enough to allow lower numbers at her AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top