2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +11 346 -Home, shoot in 45m-

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
Well, there it goes again. Darn it all...

1.10u given no problems. Buddy seems to be stiffing up where I usually shoot, maybe he is getting sore there or tired of the tent pinching? Made them all wait for late dinner so I could test Buddy. They protested by were kind of patient about it.

Sore on the side of his head is the size of a nickel but it starting to coagulate now, but it looks yucky but clean.

Buddy's box of Atopica pills expire in April. I wonder if its still good?
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314

hi there

have you tried rotating around the same area for each shot?
I was on health yesterday looking for info on atopica (if you do a search you can bring up all threads that mention it) but I saw you had already asked there some time ago.
Have you checked with your vet about it and the expiration question?
Hope your day goes well and Buddy brings it down a bit.
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314

Hi guys .. sorry to hear buddy is having problems with his shot area .. maybe rotating would be best for awhile? No advice on the meds here ... hopefully you get an answer soon ...
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +4 174 +8 214 +11 347/393?

His +4 and +8 looked better, but this +11 has me questioning it. I took a reading of 343, then about 1 minute later a reading of 393. I always hit both ears when they get really high or if it happens really low. So, this difference; do we give it a variance by division or did he spike adrenalin? There was some food left over which he may have eaten, but he also starts running around the house when Dad hits the snooze alarm and does not get up right away. But a 50 point difference under a minute?
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +4 174 +8 214 +11 347/393?

Keep in mind that the FDA allows meter manufacturers a 20% margin of error. At higher numbers, that range is quite large:

343 really says that the number is somewhere between 274 and 411.
393 really says that the number is somwhere between 314 and 472.

Given that these were done within a minute or so of each other, what you know is that, barring meter error, is that Buddy's number was in the range of 314 and 411 (the overlap of the two ranges).

In the grand scheme of things, pink is pink. low red is low red. There isn't danger in not knowing the precise number.... you just know that you want them to come down.

Because the variance is a percentage, it shrinks with smaller numbers...
50 means a BG somewhere between 40-60.
35 means a BG between 28 and 42.

You know you need to keep an eye on your cat. :)

50 points seems like alot, but it really isn't. Hope that made sense!!
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +4 174 +8 214 +11 347/393?

HI, GUYS!

hoping you see some better numbers, and sending healing thoughts for his sore...

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +4 174 +8 214 +11 347/393?

Mike --

when you have a few minutes could you complete a profile on Buddy? There's some additional info that would be good to have (e.g., when he was diagnosed, what meds he's on and for what, etc.) Here's the link to the template. You can link it to your signature the same way you did the SS.

I tend to think you're going to get better results if you increase your doses according to the protocol (i.e., by 0.25u vs. 0.1u).
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +4 174 +8 214 +11 347/393?

We are home and the first thing I did was go straight to my boy. Well he was in his recliner and looked at me as if to say "what?" His paws were needing and I do my little acuity test with my finger to check him and he does the nose sniff and eye following just fine. Dad I think had to wipe a tear or two.

But we just tested him and it was 346, the food bowl is empty so I am not sure when the last time he ate. I guess the others will have to wait till after test and shoot time.

As for the explanation of margin of error it kind of made sense, not very assuring to me being an over worrying furdad but I understand the data fairly well.

I will look into this profile thing and try to work on it when I can.

So, should we go from 1.10u to 1.25 now?

Thanks.
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +11 346 -Home, shoot in 4

I see we have some divers so I know they take priority. But I wanted to let the pros know we are home now and can chime in when they can.
 
Re: 2/22/11 Mike's Buddy PMPS#314 +11 346 -Home, shoot in 4

Sorry, I'm not really equipped for dosing advice, but giving your post a bump! Hope you guys are having a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top