2/21 Sabian (PZI .8u) AMPS-298

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_777

Member Since 2011
Wild night last night. A crazy 318 point dive.

I'm happy Hope suggested keeping the .8u because she could have been in trouble even with the .2 more I was considering.

Today's AMPS is 298. Exactly what it was yesterday morning, and on par with late last week and this weekend.

Today's pic:
 

Attachments

  • sabian_2_21_1.jpg
    sabian_2_21_1.jpg
    320.1 KB · Views: 548
Looks like she is doing some serious thinking about what she'll do with the insulin today :-D Hopefully it won't be a repeat of last night. Humulin N works like that....fast drop, short duration, and back up.....Prozinc is giving her a little bit long duration but......she really drops fast. Upping her may not be the answer either. You can up N but it isn't going to increase the duration, just drop them lower, faster, and then right back up. Glad you work from home and let's see what she does this week. IMHO, if she keeps dropping hard in those first few hours and then back up long before a +8, I would start looking at Levemir or Lantus for her. You will have to read up on how those insulins work.....you build up a shed and go by the nadir I believe. Have never used either one.
 
I know it seems like a roller coaster and stressful with her ups and downs, Patrick. Some things to remember: It's been less than a month and you have her in yellow and blues. These are nice healing numbers. She is not swinging into dangerous numbers - she is swinging into normal, regulated numbers. No need to panic until you see a 40 or below. And if you were the "average" cat owner, she would be getting twice daily shots -perhaps that original dose of 4 units (or was it 6?) and might have already visited the ER a few times.....

Yes, a little knowledge can be a scary thing. But you and Sabin are doing great. She has her own pattern of an early nadir and a surf, but you know that and are prepared. You are doing a great job. Remember to Breathe!
 
+2 is 196

Maybe her food is making it rise a lot right off the bat and the insulin is countering that.

I'm a little confused with those numbers yesterday, but we'll figure it out.
 
Another option since she is getting a short duration on prozinc is to dose TID (three times a day). You would take your current daily dose (1.6u) and divide by 3 (either 0.5u or 0.6u every 8 hours). You would have to adjust the shot times so you can have 8 hours for sleeping though. I tried it for a short time with Oscar, but he had other issues going on. There have been several oldtimers in PZI that have done this successfully. Most of the time kitties don't need TID dosing but for too long, and you will gradually see longer and longer durations as their pancreas heals. Just food for thought.
 
Kelly, I've thought about t.i.d. also for Patrick to try on Sabian. Didn't want to overload him but I also think it may work. He would have to decide of course if he wanted to but it may work for Sabian. I'm with you also on the dose...... .60 t.i.d. would give her 1.80 total, which may be too much. Eyeball .50 t.i.d. would be just a hair under her total b.i.d. dose. Something to think about Patrick in another few days.
 
Just my two cents Patrick .... my Payne was Dx 10/11/10 and has been extremely hard to regulate,
plus she throws off ketones at the drop of a hat! We tried TR and found it was too much insulin BUT one
thing that we did find out was she responded really well to t.i.d. dosing.

I also work from home (you do too?) and found the schedule not hard to follow at all. She perked up almost
immediately and we would be on much lower doses, if not for the ketones. One thing I have found in
keeping a SS is finding the correlation (for her) between how much insulin she needs and how far down I
can go before she throws off ketones.
Nancy and Payne (who hates anyone talking about ketones, esp. on a curve day ) cat(2)_steam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top