2/21 Phobos AMPS 442, +2 478 dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
So, I'm curious if someone could look at Phobos' chart and let me know what you think I should be doing regarding his dose. I'm emailing the vet today (every week or so) regarding how Phobos is doing and his dosing, so I wanted to know what you all think as well, so I can see if recommendations jive.

Phobos' numbers are all over the place. Most numbers are in the 400's, but a couple of days ago he dropped, fast, and to a low of 78. Based on that low, do I just keep him on the 2.25 dose? For how long? Until his numbers even out a bit? This will be his seventh day at that dose.

Thank you so much!
 
Yes, you're getting the hang of things! You dose with Lantus based upon how LOW it takes the cat - and that lovely 78 shows this is a good dose for the moment. Phobos bounced quite dramatically from hitting greens. He's obviously not used to being in that range. Let's give him the full 3 days that bounces can last and then see where he lands when he clears this bounce. That would be tomorrow mid-day. He might clear it sooner, but since he hasn't hit green recently, it may stay high until tomorrow.

From the guidelines:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
If you need a refresher on bouncing, here ya go: Second post in this thread.

I'll be curious to see what your vet recommends.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Thank you for your response & for highlighting the relevant info. I've read through that numerous times, and kept missing to hold the dose for 10 days. Would that be 10 days since the low numbers or 10 days at that particular dose?

I haven't heard back from the vet, yet. I'll be curious what she says, too. Last time we spoke was on the 6th, as I was ready to bump Phobos' dose from 1.5 units. I'd asked her if I should increase to 2 units, then read more here and emailed back about just increasing .25. She said she'd be fine with the more conservative .25, but likely we'd need to go up the .5 and to check back with her about the .25 increase in a week or two. Lol - since that conversation, I increased to 1.75, then 2, then 2.25...not sure how she'll feel about me changing the doses myself.
 
In general, I think that part I highlighted is for when you start seeing multiple days with nadirs under 100, but when a kitty is real bouncy like yours, you do want to see if he can get to green again when he clears the bounce. You can't hurry the process.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top