Liz & Minnie
Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ce-ketones-advice-please.243283/#post-2743076
Hi again,
Still adjusting Minnie's dose and looking for confirmation of my approach or other advice. She is on day3 @3.5 Levemir BID and still mostly in the red/blacks so I'm planning to increase to 4u tomorrow morning.
She gets 2 meals plus 6ish snacks per earlier advice - trying various lower carb wet food as snacks, DM Selects at 10% carb for meals. Do I need to limit the snacks? I am desperate to avoid another DKA so wonder if I might be overfeeding now, though she is hungry a lot and eats it all. Added back Ondansetron in a pill pocket to avoid nausea/inappetance.
Also I haven't seen a poop from her in over day. Is this known effect of Levemir? Recommendations? Apart from that, she seems fine and normal behavior.
Thanks again. I'm not posting daily but wanted to check in again to make sure I'm on track...or not!
Elizabeth
Below are instructions from the internal med vet, basically increase by 1/2 unit after 2 days if nadir not around 150-200. I think this is almost the TR approach - is that correct?
Hi again,
Still adjusting Minnie's dose and looking for confirmation of my approach or other advice. She is on day3 @3.5 Levemir BID and still mostly in the red/blacks so I'm planning to increase to 4u tomorrow morning.
She gets 2 meals plus 6ish snacks per earlier advice - trying various lower carb wet food as snacks, DM Selects at 10% carb for meals. Do I need to limit the snacks? I am desperate to avoid another DKA so wonder if I might be overfeeding now, though she is hungry a lot and eats it all. Added back Ondansetron in a pill pocket to avoid nausea/inappetance.
Also I haven't seen a poop from her in over day. Is this known effect of Levemir? Recommendations? Apart from that, she seems fine and normal behavior.
Thanks again. I'm not posting daily but wanted to check in again to make sure I'm on track...or not!
Elizabeth
Below are instructions from the internal med vet, basically increase by 1/2 unit after 2 days if nadir not around 150-200. I think this is almost the TR approach - is that correct?
- Start Levemir on 1/2 unit, if BG doesn't get below 280 in 2 days increase to 1 unit.
- Similarly, if not below 280 in 2 days increase to 1.5 unit.
- If doing a 12 hour window her BGs do not fall between the 150-250 range AT ALL, then I would increase by 0.5 units and then give her 2 days to adjust to the new dose. Like I've said before I don't want her to drop below 80-90 but ideally, she should have her lowest point around 150-200 during a 12-hour window of time.
- Increase to 3 units given the readings and her change in water consumption/urination. Should her values after two days not improve at all, then I would recommend that we increase to 3.5 units.
Another great thing about this is to have a community of other people who understand how stressful this all is AND full of knowledge and advice.