2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238,+9/308,PMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355

Well don't feel too bad, Lucian and Autumn are starting the morning in the exact same place...See Autumn's condo.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355

Hon I realize the rush to get him stable but we have no real control over that, it will happen when it happens, some of them do it very quickly and even go OTJ quickly, some takes months to even become regulated let alone tightly regulated or OTJ there is one kitty that followed TR and it still took 22 months to get her OTJ. There are others that are now and will always be insulin dependent. At yet there are others that are regulated but are no where close to being tightly regulated and they may never be tightly regulated and anywhere close to stable....Every Cat Is Different. Plus there are hundreds and hundreds of cats that we will never see here that are ferals that suffer from this disease and die from it never even knowing a warm bed, a full tummy and a gentle touch or love. Or those that their owners just put down the moment they get the dx of diabetes.

Lucian at least has it better then the later two, he is loved, he is being cared for and you are trying to treat him. Right now you are barely over a month into this dance, it doesn't happen overnight, Autumn and I have been at this since last March and we are just within the last few months getting truly regulated and heading down the dosing scale and then we hit bumps in the road that we have to work around. Life happens and like everything in life we can only do the best we can do.

And there are really only two choices, either keep plugging along and working the best we can to get him down, or let him go. Which I can't see you doing unless it looked like he was suffering and I don't think he is.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355

If I could just stop being greeted by the blasted meter, it would help, I'd feel like there was some improvement. :sad: My heart drops every time I see it, I keep thinking about the damage it's doing to him. That's what I can't handle.
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238

His +6/238, he ate an hour ago, I'm hoping it will keep him from dropping too low and jumping so high tonight. Keeping fingers crossed. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238

Maybe Autumn got tired of waiting for him to come down to her,so she conned me into paying for her to get her grill fixed and went up to get him and show him the way back down to the green floor...lol

Afterall he is a guy, and they will never ask for directions regardless how lost they are... ohmygod_smile :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238

Aw geez! Another expense! Now I got to get Lucian a GPS! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238

That's one weird looking ss you have going on there... there are just too many extremes, then you get the odd blue out of nowhere. It just made me think IAA, but never mind that... my Shadoe also had more extreme numbers on Lantus but she seemed smoother on Levemir.... just something to keep in mind for later consideration if needed.

OK, what about the food? Let's see if we can analyze when you are feeding what and how much.
Something's happening at the tail end of those cycles; you should not be seeing all those crazy 500s and HIs.

Try putting a 2nd line under your BG numbers - put in food and amount into the +field where you feed... include the snacks as well and you can expand in the comments column for the food line.
The info you have in the comments.... put them underneath your BG numbers.
What did you feed for the AM shot today? Put that in the field under the 355. There are others who also do the 2-line recording because it's easier to see the food and the numbers at the same time without having to look left and right all the time. I know one person who fed 1tsp every hr for 4hrs after each shot to slow down the drops and therefore minimize the bounces at the end of the cycles.

Take a look at Michelle's ss for Mannie as an example of recording foods and snacks
https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key ... utput=html
 
Re: 2/21 Lucian AMPS 355,+6/238,+9/308

Please don't go HI again tonight Lucian!

@Blue, Lucian eats about 1-1 1/2 5.5 oz cans of low carb, under 5%, per day, in 4-6 small meals, depending on how high he's running. If He surfs yellow, he only eats about every 5 hrs. When HI he eats more often. Normally, I always make sure it's been at least 2 hrs when I test him. The exception being his +6 today.
The last 2 days, I've been 'steering' him with a teaspoon or 2 of 8% every 1.5 hrs or so, during the first half of the cycle, to try to keep him from dropping to the point of bouncing at the end of the cycle. Although he surfed yellow the 1st 6 hrs yesterday, he still jumped at the end of the cycle. I don't know what else to do and we would have never gotten this far without Mel's help. She keeps me from losing my mind with frustration.

I'll try to see if I can do something with his SS, not my area of expertise.
 
I just don't get him...he stays so nice and level all day and then between +9ish and pmps he jumps 300pts...and gives you a nice amps afterwards to boot...

Lucian, kitties are suppose to run lower at night not higher....go read your stickies on how to be a good sugarcat.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top