2/21 Leo ? RE dose // AMPS 540 PMPS=486 +2=335 +4.4=273

La-La Leo (GA)

Member Since 2021
No condo for 1/2 month

Leo has been on 2U for 16 days with one day on 2/13 at 1.75, due to appointments that day. Despite reading and rereading all the details for TR, I struggle with knowing when to increase, especially with some of the under 50 BGs.

What do you see in Leo's SS? Sure would like to know if I should do anything different soon?

Thank you so much.
 
Hi Joni, sorry to see the comment on the SS that Leo doesn't see very happy these days. I also saw comment about him throwing up and smacking his lips. How is he doing? Do you think a visit to the vet is in order? maybe bloodwork to see if there is any infection or any other issues?
 
I too hope the vet can find a reason he's not feeling well.:bighug::bighug: It does sound like something is causing nausea.

As far as doing goes, (thanks for changing the access to the SS) and if you can monitor really well, I'd be tempted to increase to see if you can flatten him out. Along with that increase, you might want to try giving him a little bit higher carbs, though still LC. I see you are giving him >7% now, what is the average % he is getting?
 
Along with that increase, you might want to try giving him a little bit higher carbs, though still LC. I see you are giving him >7% now, what is the average % he is getting?

Thanks for the help. As you can see, Leo started behaving today with a nice blue AMPS. Just as I'm getting wrung out completely, things are looking better. His nadir at +5 was 74; PMPS back to blue,so curious to see where this goes. When he was not eating well several days ago, back to tuna water and baby food. Thank goodness the not eating was not as bad as earlier this year and he was onto the pate quickly.

Before he had this last issue (and did the lip smacking you previously asked me about), I tried the EZC sample with chicken, and he gobbled it up and loved it, so ordered more EZC. They are accustomed to raw, so I was thrilled Leo liked it. I so wish Leo could be like Rain's Little Man and get off the juice! After the shorter duration of not eating well, he won't touch the EZC. What's strange is that our other kitty wouldn't eat the trial sample, but will eat the new supply.

I still give the usual LC, but do add a little 10% more frequently than ever to increase the carb %.

What is your thinking about using the higher LC %? I know how I feel when I stay low carb (<50 gr)! I used to go even lower at 25g. :eek:
In fact, I don't do that anymore.

I keep looking for a higher LC %, but everytime I start looking through the database from and then check Chewy, and find they don't have it.... back and forth... end up having to do other things around here, I never get back to finding what is available. Maybe I need to make another post in another area of the forum and query for other Sugar Moms & Dad's for what they use.

As far as the vet, last time I went to the vet for labs when he first started having a problem, the results didn't show anything. The second set of labs was 12/19/23; his annual was 10/28/23. After the 12/19, lab results, I brought up the other test you suggested for pancreatitis, and she said sure, anytime you want. With the many times of not eating, I haven't been too keen on the test because he has to go so long without food. What a crazy lab. He's lost so much weight.
 
Thanks for the help. As you can see, Leo started behaving today with a nice blue AMPS. Just as I'm getting wrung out completely, things are looking better. His nadir at +5 was 74; PMPS back to blue,so curious to see where this goes. When he was not eating well several days ago, back to tuna water and baby food. Thank goodness the not eating was not as bad as earlier this year and he was onto the pate quickly.

Before he had this last issue (and did the lip smacking you previously asked me about), I tried the EZC sample with chicken, and he gobbled it up and loved it, so ordered more EZC. They are accustomed to raw, so I was thrilled Leo liked it. I so wish Leo could be like Rain's Little Man and get off the juice! After the shorter duration of not eating well, he won't touch the EZC. What's strange is that our other kitty wouldn't eat the trial sample, but will eat the new supply.

I still give the usual LC, but do add a little 10% more frequently than ever to increase the carb %.

What is your thinking about using the higher LC %? I know how I feel when I stay low carb (<50 gr)! I used to go even lower at 25g. :eek:
In fact, I don't do that anymore.

I keep looking for a higher LC %, but everytime I start looking through the database from and then check Chewy, and find they don't have it.... back and forth... end up having to do other things around here, I never get back to finding what is available. Maybe I need to make another post in another area of the forum and query for other Sugar Moms & Dad's for what they use.

As far as the vet, last time I went to the vet for labs when he first started having a problem, the results didn't show anything. The second set of labs was 12/19/23; his annual was 10/28/23. After the 12/19, lab results, I brought up the other test you suggested for pancreatitis, and she said sure, anytime you want. With the many times of not eating, I haven't been too keen on the test because he has to go so long without food. What a crazy lab. He's lost so much weight.
Yay Leo eating again! I also find it strange he won't touch the EZC now. Maybe after he is a bit more recovered from this last bout. I unfortunately cannot give much advice on higher low carb. LM had always been so sensitive that we have to stick to 0 or just a fraction of a percent with the raw.

One thing I have learned with fd is there isn't really a magical formula. If you feed raw then remission...or do the same as someone else and remission. It really is ECID...every cat is different. There is no guarantee for any of us with this crazy disease. LM could come out of remission. I'm more nervous now than I was on the juice. Let Leo be Leo and keep doing the awesome job you are doing with him. Because Joni you are doing amazing!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Btw...told you I wasn't gone just been super busy with work ;) when I get home I just want to collapse. Insurance companies are a scam and at our clinic it's my job to deal with them...mentally exhausting :blackeye: love ya my friend...sweet kisses to Leo too!
 
Back
Top