2/21 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
I did his PMPS but don't remember the number... will grab it in a few. Was 14.something. Gonna do what I can of a curve tonight.

I broke my sleep schedule again so I'll be up for a while. SO threw off Scooter's schedule by sleeping through his alarm today. Not a big deal but sorta annoying.

Scooter's still in the pinks/yellows. Not much to say about that. He's peeing a lot again lately. Not as bad as before but I can smell the ammonia in the box even though I clean it at least once a day. I'm trying some new litters but I can't afford anything fancy right now, especially when I go through 40lbs in 3 weeks.

Here's a picture of Scooter having a cat nap beside me on the couch the other day-

33yndvs.jpg


Oh, I finished redoing my aquarium too. Here it is.

IMG_3276.jpg


I think I'm done posting anything but condos on here. I don't mean any offense to anyone in particular but I'm struggling to deal with all the superiority complex issues here. I don't understand why people aren't allowed to help other people unless they are designated "advice givers" or whatever you call them. It's silly... I feel like I'm stepping on peoples' toes every time I try to help someone out. I guess I'll just keep my mouth shut and god forbid (just an expression - I'm not religious) I make a mistake. :YMSIGH:

Here's a song for today, Roads by Portishead:

[youtube]rUm7ak85uHM[/youtube]

I wish I could find a higher quality file of that video somewhere, I think it compliments the song so well.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

Users browsing this forum: Ry & Scooter and 8 guests

Doh. Dead tonight. Waste of time. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

I enjoyed your condo this morning. Scooter is sooo beautiful! I love seeing pictures of him. I want to stroke his lucious fur. And the aquarium (pardon my spelling), are those live plants so the fish can have babies? And I really enjoyed the music, too.
I'm sorry you feel like you don't want to post in other condos.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

Ry & Scooter said:
I think I'm done posting anything but condos on here. I don't mean any offense to anyone in particular but I'm struggling to deal with all the superiority complex issues here. I don't understand why people aren't allowed to help other people unless they are designated "advice givers" or whatever you call them. It's silly... I feel like I'm stepping on peoples' toes every time I try to help someone out. I guess I'll just keep my mouth shut and god forbid (just an expression - I'm not religious) I make a mistake.

To the best of my knowledge, and I've been hanging around here for 2+ years, there is no restriction on anyone lending another person a hand. All of us choose to donate our time; there is no official designation as "advice giver." Some of us have more expertise in certain areas or are very familiar with the dosing protocol, have studied a lot of spreadsheets, or have skills or knowledge based on our experiences outside of FDMB that we can take advantage of here. All of us got here with a limited knowledge of feline diabetes and had to learn.

The larger number of people who are here are uncomfortable when it comes to taking responsibility for providing any advice or guidance. It is a great deal of responsibility because ultimately, if you are wrong or miss something, you hold a life in your hands. (See the note on Advice Giving at the top of the Board.) No one will tell you you're "not allowed" to help. The reason that we do not condone off-board advising is that if you make a misstep, there will be others who can correct you. The information is in the public domain. (It helps to not have your ego invested in what you're suggesting because helping isn't about us -- it's about what's best for the cat.) It's one way that we all continue to learn. Anyone who has made a suggestion can be corrected or there can be differing opinions. And sometimes it doesn't matter how accurate you are, the person who you're helping may choose to not listen.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

I tell Scooter what a pretty kitty he is all the time! He is one of those cats that looooves being baby talked to, silly boy :roll:

And Dyana you can come over and brush him if you want... he sheds so much, the fur gets all caked around the baseboards. I need one of those little portable vacuums so I don't have to haul out the 10 year old Kenmore with 3 missing wheels and a taped up hose lol :-D Wish I could afford a new one.

And yes those are all live plants. I'm a "planted tanker" with a bad case of collectoritis, I have more plants than I know what to do with. My fish do spawn a lot, but because its a community tank, everyone just eats the eggs. My black skirt tetras just spawned about a week ago and there was a nice "cleanup crew" following them around as they did it. ohmygod_smile

These are all my plants right now -

Anubias barteri var. nana "petite"
Cabomba caroliniana (Green cabomba)
Cryptocoryne wendtii 'Mi Oya'
Cryptocoryne parva
Cryptocoryne wendtii Red
Cyperus helferi
Didiplis diandra (Water hedge)
Echinodorus amazonicus (Amazon sword)
Echinodoruz "Ozelot" (Ozelot sword)
Echinodorus tenellus (Pygmy chain sword)
Glossostigma elantoides (Glosso)
Hemianthus callitrichoides (dwarf baby tears, HC)
Hygrophila difformis (Water wisteria)
Hygrophilia angustifolia (Willow hygro)
Ludwigia repens
Microsorium pteropus 'Narrow' (Narrow leaf Java fern)
Vallisneria americana (Jungle val)
Vesicularia dubayana (Java moss)

Still want more.. :D

Sienne, I know how forum politics go, I'm the administrator of a pretty large pet site myself. When you've got seniority, your word is more valuable than anyone elses. I'm not asking for my ego to be stroked, I'm asking to be treated like a human being, not an idiot who hasn't taken 5 minutes to research what I'm talking about. I've never given off board advice so that doesn't apply here.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

Oh, +3 223 and +5 187. Didn't realize it was 5AM already though, should brush my teeth and head to bed. Take care all you early morning folks.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257

Ry & Scooter said:
Sienne, I know how forum politics go, I'm the administrator of a pretty large pet site myself. When you've got seniority, your word is more valuable than anyone elses. I'm not asking for my ego to be stroked, I'm asking to be treated like a human being, not an idiot who hasn't taken 5 minutes to research what I'm talking about. I've never given off board advice so that doesn't apply here.
good morning, ry. i read Dr. Lisa's response to your post on Health as well as your edited response. i'm truly sorry if you were offended. please don't take her comments personally because i guarantee you that was not her intention... nor is it anyone else's who offers thoughts, opinions, or suggestions different from yours.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

As someone who has dealt with chronic urinary tract infections for 3 years that really set me off... I probably shouldn't have gotten so offended because humans and cats are different but her response just came off as unnecessarily harsh and accusing. I can't compete with her level of knowledge and seniority. I'd rather just take back what I said than try to argue with someone who will no doubt prove me wrong every single time. I have nothing more to contribute to the thread.

I'm not just talking about this one incident though, or even necessarily incidents with me, I see it all over the place unfortunately.. it seems to be an ongoing issue that rears its ugly head sometimes.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

I didn't mean to suggest that you were giving off-board advice! For me, the advantage of having a public discussion is that we can all learn and there's always at least one person who has your back.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

Oh.. yeah, I understand. You just can't interpret tone of voice and whatnot in type - it comes out cold and harsh and if you're not careful, what you say can be interpreted the wrong way. I know that's just the way that some people are. I like to add emotions into what I write with smileys and stuff to make sure people know I'm not trying to pick their guts out. Not everyone does.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

i'm sorry you feel that way.

personally, i'm grateful for the open discussion and peer review available on this board. there isn't a day that goes by that i don't learn something here... sometimes about things i thought i already knew.

you're right. things can be interpreted the wrong way without the benefit of hearing the tone in which they're said. this realization has taught me to take the time to step back to consider what was said and the intention behind the remarks whenever my feathers have become ruffled.

sometimes i'm better at it this than other times. :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

I'm just going to drop it now... I can't really say much more without making it too personal. I just want to say I'm not just talking about this one incident, and I'll leave it at that.

Scooter's oat grass has sprouted nicely. I put it under a spare 35 watt halogen light from my fish bowl until I can find somewhere else to put it. It was growing all sideways towards the window. I'm in a basement so there's not a LOT of natural light... I need a few lamps for around the house but rent, food, and the cat are the priorities right now, not lamps ;-)

IMG_3277.jpg


I also forgot to say that I contacted the local Humane Society a few days ago about a cat they had featured up for adoption... a beautiful Maine coon cross girl... only to find out she had been adopted the same day. That's fine. She told me about another male that was being fostered at Petsmart for 3 weeks... so I went in to see him and he was already adopted. That was NOT so great. I visited another lovely little tortie and she was the cutest thing, had a hilarious squawky meow and just wanted nothing but face rubs, and as much as I wanted to take her home, I don't know if I want to get another cat when money is so tight. Maybe if/when I ever find a job. Scooter wants someone to play with so bad.

Okay, 6AM, I gotta sleep now. I'll post his AMPS in the morn.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

I visited another lovely little tortie and she was the cutest thing, had a hilarious squawky meow and just wanted nothing but face rubs, and as much as I wanted to take her home, I don't know if I want to get another cat when money is so tight. Maybe if/when I ever find a job. Scooter wants someone to play with so bad.

Since the other two were adopted, and if you return and this little cutie tortie is still there, then it may be meant that this kitty is still waiting for you. :-D I have the same dilemma with finances and another kitty, so I understand.

Neat the way the oat grass is sprouting under the halogen light.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

Hi guys .. it's nice to see scooter dipping down into blues for you .. and look how handsome he is in that photo! I hope he enjoys his grass when it's ready .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

oh that sweet belly is just itching for a little rubbing! i love scooter's long fluffy hair - he is so gorgeous!

i always seem to want another cat, so i totally understand. realistically punkin is more than enough, and i have anya too. she follows me around and is like my little shadow. right now she's on the arm of my chair maybe 4" from me. cat_pet_icon

ry, i've seen your advice many times - and i think it's sound, fwiw. if it wasn't, you'd be getting pm's from people telling you that you're putting cats in danger. you've learned things very quickly. so i'd encourage you to just try to learn from whatever other advice is added and let it go if people seem too critical. hopefully no one intends to be that way, but i suppose sometimes we all have bad days. :YMHUG: we're all just trying to help out the cats!

can't believe what a difference in your aquarium! i kinda liked the rain forest look, but this is beautiful now.
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

Ry, it was bothering me last night that you felt this way about having your advice corrected and it's still bothering me this morning so I wanted to give you my thoughts :smile: . Many smilies included so you don't take me the wrong way :smile:

I do not give advice unless I'm pretty sure I have the right answer or if I do I make it clear that I'm not sure and they should wait for further advice (I'm not saying that you don't do that too :smile: ) but I take corrections as a great learning opportunity and maybe you could try and view them that way too :smile: I'm sure if someone gave you incorrect or incomplete advice for Scooter (I'm not saying that you did that either I have no idea what happened I'm just concenrned about how you feel about it :smile:) that you would be very grateful that someone else came along and corrected or clarified that advice :smile:

Try not to let these things stress you, it's a waste of your energy and I'm sure you have enough to be stressed about already :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile: :smile:
 
Re: 2/22 - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187

AMPS 290, AM +4 216

This is his 9th cycle on 2u, no number improvement AT ALL... guess we're increasing again tonight...

The little tortie girl's name was Lucy, she was about 8, left behind in an apartment with no food or water when the owner was evicted/moved out... she had previous healed hind leg injuries and they said she limped when she exercised a lot. she was tiny and plump with a short tail, hilariously cute, but i just wasn't ready for her.

Here was a proper pic of the tank, one of the last pics i got before my 8 year old camera crapped out. this was just before the algae invasion happened

DSC07372.jpg
 
Re: 2/22 (early) - Scooter - PMPS 257, +3 223, +5 187, AMPS

Your acquarium is gorgeous, and so is Scooter, by the way. So sad about Lucy, the little tortie, being left behind. She sounds like my Manx kitty, Maggie with the short tail. You have to be ready, I agree, for a companion kitty. I hope she finds her forever home. Good luck with the increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top