2/21 Kitty AMPS 200: then +2 151, +3 104, +6 275

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Hi,
Kitty had BG 167 this morning?! Never there has been this low PS reading!! His PMPS reading last night was 343.
For the night I left only wet food, which I don't think he ate, or if he did, it was very little. Is that why his BG is so low this morning?

I did not give a shot now - any tips what to do?

- mia
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Ok...breathe. Did you shoot yet? If not, do you have plentynofntestmstips, HC food/ gravy, karo or honey, and will you be home to test him
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

No, didn't give shot yet. I will be home for at least 4 hours and can test him them.
He just had a bit of Hills MD dry food (we are in a transition to full wet food), and tested him again just to check if the first reading was right.... Now it was 196.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

I'm not a dosing expert, and you are in good hands with Marje. This will bump you back up.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

We don't advise that you feed between +10 and his shot. If you don't shoot and are stalling, you do not want to feed. It's complicated further because of the dry food. Dry food takes a while to fully affect the numbers and then frequently hangs around for a time.

One of the requisites of following the tight regulation protocol is feeding a low carb, canned diet.

If you read the "Dealing with Low Preshots" in my signature block, you'll see there are three choices:

1. Shoot the full dose on time

2. Stall, do not feed and wait for numbers starting to rise and then shoot

3. Shoot a token dose OR

3. Skip

What are you most comfy doing? Remember that shooting late acts like a reduction.

I' m concerned because the BG is now influenced by food and we don't know to what degree.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Yes, I am here :)
I think I want to shoot, but perhaps a lowered dose, 2U? Just a guess...
We are new with all of this and I appreciate all of your help!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Just to add - I will be home for the day, so I can monitor and test Kitty through out the day
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Normally I would say not to shoot after a food spike but since it's dry food, it probably won't wear off soon. Also, normally if we stall, we shoot the full dose. However, if you are only there four hours and you needed to shoot now, you can shoot 2u.

If you shoot the full dose and get a +2 and he's coming down do you have to leave...can you stay and monitor him? If not, and you feel it's safer, then you can shoot the 2 u.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Since I will be here for the whole day, I'll give the full shot.
If his BG starts to come down at +2, what should I do then?
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Read the link in my signature block for handling low numbers.

If the + 2 is not close to the PS number then you can expect it might be an active cycle. If he gets into the 50 s, you will want to feed a small amount (tsp) of low carb food to get him to hang out I n the 50s....called " surfing".

I f he will let you and you feel better, you can get a +1 but he' s probably going to be up.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Many Thanks Marje!
I think we'll manage the day with these advise and stickies, when many of you will be going to sleep (we're in Moscow).
I'll keep you posted how the day goes - good night! ;-)
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

You're welcome. Serryn is in Australia so it's daytime for her, too. I asked to check in on you in a couple hours. Also, some of our east coast members will be up in about four hours so post if you need any help.

In the past I've seen the dry drive the numbers up but if he's still eating much of that, it's hard to say which way he'll go. If you've been feeding some wet, then his BG may go up with dry.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

At +2 Kitty is coming down and is at 151 (pre-shot was 200).
Let's see where this goes --- good that I am home today.... Well, it's good and bad: I am having a flu so that's why I'm at home, but good for Kitty obviously :)
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167 ?!? Urgent dosing advise needed

Hi Mia

Serryn here just checking on how you're going. Can you please edit the subject line in your original post to remove the urgent dosing advise part and include your +2. Update again when you have a new number so we can easily see what is happening and that you have updated.

Sorry you have the flu but good news for Kitty he must be loving having you at home!
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167: then +2 151, +3 104, +6 275

Thanks Serryn. I see the need to change the subject line; I hope I got it done right now...

Kitty's BG at AMPS was 200
+ 1 196
+ 2 151
+3 104
+4 144
+6 275

Around +2-3 hours he was very active and alert, and then quite intensively washing himself. Not usual behaviour, but I don't know if it had anything to do with the dropping BG levels. I any how gave him a bit high carb food, as I was worried if the BG was continuing dropping as quickly as it was. Again, not sure if that was the right thing to do...

Certainly a "wobbly" day today. I wonder if we are going through this because Kitty just does not settle with wet food and his eating habits are not normalized.
 
Re: 2/21 Kitty AMPS 167: then +2 151, +3 104, +6 275

You have to go back to your original post to change what we see in the subject line on the board. There is an 'edit' button in the top right hand corner. You click that and then you will be able to change the subject line from there.

I would not have given the HC at that time but nevermind. The drop looks quite nice to me it just looks like Kitty may have an early nadir. If you want to get your cat to surf usually a little low carb is enough to do the trick. Was the HC wet food?

I see you only started Lantus this month. It is normal to be quite wobbly in the first 4-6 weeks so don't be concerned. Looks to me like Kitty is responding well.
 
hi mia! glad you made it over here to Lantus Land! sorry i missed your excitement tonight but you got great advice and looks like all is well. there's a lot to learn and you're doing great.

hope you're feeling better by this morning. the flu is awful.
 
Hi guys .. so glad you had all these wonderful people here helping you .. it's nice knowing you aren't alone in this, isn't it? I hope you see some more of these blues soon!
 
Thanks all for your great advise and help! It is so good to know that there is support available.

it looks like Kitty is finally having a curve with Lantus :). I'll update later today with his latest BG readings. I will also need advise how to change the dose, will write more about that later too...
 
yay! and good morning - i think - here it's almost 10pm but i'm thinking you just woke up.

so you've got syringes that are small enough now for .5 unit dosing - awesome.

the "wobbly" numbers could be from several different things. there are several factors that affect BG - and cats are just hard to get regulated even in perfect circumstances. i think of it like a math equation - you've got several variables and when multiple variables change at the same time you can't tell what's causing what. so part of what we learn to do here is to control as many factors as we can, then tinker with one variable at a time. i feed punkin basically the same food, same quantity at the same time of each day. he gets 3 oz of low carb canned food with his shot and 1.5 oz at +3. different people find different things work with their cats, but that's where i started and it seems to work ok for punkin. i give boiled chicken breast for post-poking treats, but only a little bit. holding the food the same then lets me tinker with the dose when i think something needs to change.

i think for a few days, you'll want to focus on not giving any dry food, letting it clear kitty's system and let's see what that 2.5 units will do. right now the higher numbers today going straight up from +3 are possibly either from the dry food or it could be that Mr. Kitty is bouncing from not being used to the 100's numbers. either way it could take a couple of days for those things to clear out of his body. in the meantime, you will want to hold the dose until he settles down.

there's so much to learn - hang in there and don't get discouraged! we're in it with you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top