2/21 Disco AMBG 56/+12.5 38/skip/+1 76/+1.5 80/+3 63/+6 101/+11 353/PMPS 338/+1.5 385/+3 336/+7 294

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last edited:
let's see if he is heading higher. he was 51 day before yesterday and was higher at AMPS.

you can do this Teri. if he is lower, you are now an expert at the stall and test and shoot when numbers trend higher routine.
 
Now, I know the HC will raise his numbers 'falsely' but will retest in 30 min, reading to see if I am still supposed to skip shot even if his numbers rise

Yes, this is tricky. Let's see just how big a bump he gets and how fast it happens. Sometimes if they make a quick turnaround and you are OK with getting off schedule, it's possible to shoot after a delay in situations like this, but I wouldn't count on it.
 
So, that 76 is great, much better! In terms of shooting, definitely not yet, but if he's up even farther on the next test, it might be possible. Would you be OK with being an hour and half off schedule? If not, or if you just don't want to chance it, I think a skip would be fine here. You are moving to a different dose now anyway, so the cycle count is starting over in any case, the only thing is that you might have to wait a little longer to make sure the depot is filled before making any decisions about dose changes afterwards.

Edited to add: OK, just saw your note about his mealtimes. That's the other factor here-- we don't want to delay that meal much longer, poor little guy!
 
So, that 76 is great, much better! In terms of shooting, definitely not yet, but if he's up even farther on the next test, it might be possible. Would you be OK with being an hour and half off schedule? If not, or if you just don't want to chance it, I think a skip would be fine here. You are moving to a different dose now anyway, so the cycle count is starting over in any case, the only thing is that you might have to wait a little longer to make sure the depot is filled before making any decisions about dose changes afterwards.

Edited to add: OK, just saw your note about his mealtimes. That's the other factor here-- we don't want to delay that meal much longer, poor little guy!
Thanks so very much for being there for us! I am not even breathing heavy, LOL. He was yelling for food earlier but is in his heated bed now. I would be OK with either option, we'll see what he is at the next test and make a decision then.
 
So, that 76 is great, much better! In terms of shooting, definitely not yet, but if he's up even farther on the next test, it might be possible. Would you be OK with being an hour and half off schedule? If not, or if you just don't want to chance it, I think a skip would be fine here. You are moving to a different dose now anyway, so the cycle count is starting over in any case, the only thing is that you might have to wait a little longer to make sure the depot is filled before making any decisions about dose changes afterwards.

Edited to add: OK, just saw your note about his mealtimes. That's the other factor here-- we don't want to delay that meal much longer, poor little guy!
+1.5 80, so not up by much from the 76 30 min ago. And do I call this a +1.5, we skipped shot or is it a +13.5?
 
Not up by much, but since his breakfast is so late, that could start to influence the numbers, too. At least he is not diving back down. I think you could shoot, anticipating that he's going to bounce for real soon, but if you'd prefer to skip, that would be OK too.

No matter what, he gets his brekkie now, and test some more early in the cycle (or non-cycle if you skip-- yes, as of right now you are at +13.5 of the last cycle).
 
I think you're at 1.5 - you've skipped...that's fine considering he was diving after the sharks...

And since you fed him HC food, you can probably wait for an hour to test him again...he looks like he's creeping up now...although it could be food influence.

I'm just trying to catch up...I thought he did get his breakfast...and that shooting was no longer an option...

If it were me, with a 38, I'd skip myself. I think his depot is full...nice stretch of blues...then greens...let's see what happens after he clears the bounce later...
 
I think you're at 1.5 - you've skipped...that's fine considering he was diving after the sharks...

And since you fed him HC food, you can probably wait for an hour to test him again...he looks like he's creeping up now...although it could be food influence.

I'm just trying to catch up...I thought he did get his breakfast...and that shooting was no longer an option...

If it were me, with a 38, I'd skip myself. I think his depot is full...nice stretch of blues...then greens...let's see what happens after he clears the bounce later...
He hasn't had breakfast yet, just the 2 tsp of HC. I am going to skip and feed his usual serving of breakfast now
 
Not up by much, but since his breakfast is so late, that could start to influence the numbers, too. At least he is not diving back down. I think you could shoot, anticipating that he's going to bounce for real soon, but if you'd prefer to skip, that would be OK too.

No matter what, he gets his brekkie now, and test some more early in the cycle (or non-cycle if you skip-- yes, as of right now you are at +13.5 of the last cycle).
I am going to skip and feed his usual serving of breakfast now and fix the SS
 
OK, great!

I feel so bad for the poor little guy with that delayed breakfast, but at least he got some HC yummies out of it!

Hopefully he'll behave himself for the rest of the day. I mean, he should bounce to the stratosphere after that 38, but then again, he should not have had a 38 at pre-shot, sooooo.....

Congratulations on the reducie!
 
I'm not sure why I am having such a hard time wrapping myself around these notations, and can't find the thread where someone explained it to me, but...
for instance, if Disco's AMPS was due and done at 7:30am (or pm for that matter) and we skipped a dose, on the SS, I put the test results for the 1st pre-shot in the AMPS column, and then until we decide to skip the shot, do I put the additional tests (like the 12.5) in that same AMPS column? And after shot skipped and cat is fed, I think I am to put the next tests in the +1, +2 etc columns, right? and I name them +1, +2 etc? But what time do I start counting from to put the number in the correct column? 7:30am?

Here's the readings from the meter if that helps:
+11 this morning 65
AMPS 56 at 7:30am
38 at 8:00am
76 at 8:34am
80 at 9:00am
63 at 10:27am
85 at 12:01pm

Thx in advance
 
Last edited:
Personally I would start the clock at what the regular shot time would be, and then the column with the dose given would stay blank or be a zero. That way you know no insulin was given. Make sense?
 
The column that is for the AMPS, if you could put AMBG and then the value - to show that no insulin was given sometimes that can be helpful
So, you wouldn't need the +12.5 I think since we would know you didn't give anything after the "AMBG"

AMBG (56)
+.5 (38) and then +1 (76) ...maybe in the same square if you can fit it
+ 1.5 ( 80)

and so on
 
Spreadsheet looks good to me.

Does Disco get any food in the wee hours? Does he have access to an autofeeder? I think you really need to start getting into the habit of a little LC snack around +9.5 or +10. He's really showing he tanks without food.

Hindsight is 20/20, but there really wasn't a need to stall at 56 as long as you could monitor today, had HC and plenty of strips. He was above 50. You could have fed slightly higher carb brekkie, shot, and then got a test 1/2 hour later to make sure he was behaving. Once you have experience and data - and Disco is giving you plenty of data in these situations :rolleyes: - you can shoot lower. The goal is to see if we can get him so spend nice long stretches in healthy healing greens. Feeding him might have aborted the visit with the limes. I know it's hard to wrap your head around this, especially in the morning if you are just up and not yet had coffee.
 
Hindsight is 20/20, but there really wasn't a need to stall at 56 as long as you could monitor today, had HC and plenty of strips. He was above 50.

Even though he was 65 at the +11? I know it's not much of a drop from that to 56 when you consider meter variance, but I didn't want to advise shooting what might be falling numbers at this stage. Disco is definitely showing some patterns/habits, but I at least don't feel like I have a good enough handle on him to be able to predict what he's going to do and advise shooting when he's showing numbers like that at pre-shot. Maybe I am missing something?
 
Disco definitely has a pattern. Which is dropping and often nadiring at or near preshot and keep on dropping as long as Teri is stalling and not feeding. The best thing is to avoid him dropping too low by feeding a snack a couple hours before preshot. It's also OK to shoot a dropping number, provided you are ready for it. Here is an excellent post on the Myths Debunked, Shooting a Dropping Number. I shot dropping numbers all the time because Neko liked to nadir late, often at preshot (sometimes as late as +15). I had enough +1 data to know how much food would bump her up and how to put the brakes on further dropping. Shooting a 56 might be a bit much to ask at first, but definitely higher greens should be doable. And more important, shouldn't need a stall.

The downside to skipping is you don't know if the 38 after a delay was because the dose was too high or because of lack of food. But Teri has to reduce now.
 
Shooting a 56 might be a bit much to ask at first, but definitely higher greens should be doable. And more important, shouldn't need a stall.

Thanks, Wendy. I agree with your interpretation. Still not sure I would have advised differently this morning on those numbers, though. I think I am always more cautious when advising others than I was with my own cat-- somehow these situation seem scarier to me when I'm on the other side of a screen and can't actually do anything, lol!
 
Spreadsheet looks good to me.

Does Disco get any food in the wee hours? Does he have access to an autofeeder? I think you really need to start getting into the habit of a little LC snack around +9.5 or +10. He's really showing he tanks without food.

Hindsight is 20/20, but there really wasn't a need to stall at 56 as long as you could monitor today, had HC and plenty of strips. He was above 50. You could have fed slightly higher carb brekkie, shot, and then got a test 1/2 hour later to make sure he was behaving. Once you have experience and data - and Disco is giving you plenty of data in these situations :rolleyes: - you can shoot lower. The goal is to see if we can get him so spend nice long stretches in healthy healing greens. Feeding him might have aborted the visit with the limes. I know it's hard to wrap your head around this, especially in the morning if you are just up and not yet had coffee.

I have the timed feeder out, but have not yet utilized it as he shares my bedroom with the other 2 cats at night and I'm only feeding him about 1-2 tsps for those snacks, as I have been testing so much at night lately, I just get up and feed him (and the other cats get to lick the spoon to distract them). Now, if it doesn't matter how much he eats for these snacks, I can put more food out and he may or may not get 2 teaspoons, but he has also put on about 6 ozs with the extra feedings and I don't want him to get fat again. So, everytime you see a test, he is getting 1-2 teaspoons of food up until 2 hrs before pre-shot testing and this has been since 2/14/2020. That is why the tanking is confounding me! I have read not to feed after nadir, but I have yet to really figure out when his is consistently.

I also appreciate your hindsight (and now mine) as to being able to shoot him at 56. I won't be afraid to do it next time and would be around to monitor. Thank you for that encouragement! I hate to skip, especially after he had a night with so much blue, but in a way, as he has not had many close to all blue cycles, I was apprehensive. Good to know I could have, though.
 
Last edited:
The column that is for the AMPS, if you could put AMBG and then the value - to show that no insulin was given sometimes that can be helpful
So, you wouldn't need the +12.5 I think since we would know you didn't give anything after the "AMBG"

AMBG (56)
+.5 (38) and then +1 (76) ...maybe in the same square if you can fit it
+ 1.5 ( 80)

and so on
Oh yes, I'm sure it was you that told me about the AMBG before. Thx!
 
Disco definitely has a pattern. Which is dropping and often nadiring at or near preshot and keep on dropping as long as Teri is stalling and not feeding. The best thing is to avoid him dropping too low by feeding a snack a couple hours before preshot. It's also OK to shoot a dropping number, provided you are ready for it. Here is an excellent post on the Myths Debunked, Shooting a Dropping Number. I shot dropping numbers all the time because Neko liked to nadir late, often at preshot (sometimes as late as +15). I had enough +1 data to know how much food would bump her up and how to put the brakes on further dropping. Shooting a 56 might be a bit much to ask at first, but definitely higher greens should be doable. And more important, shouldn't need a stall.

The downside to skipping is you don't know if the 38 after a delay was because the dose was too high or because of lack of food. But Teri has to reduce now.
Thanks for the link to the article, I will read it! The last snack he got last night what is it +7.25, so if I set the alarm for +9.75 and feed him, I’ll see how that goes.
 
Disco definitely has a pattern. Which is dropping and often nadiring at or near preshot and keep on dropping as long as Teri is stalling and not feeding. The best thing is to avoid him dropping too low by feeding a snack a couple hours before preshot. It's also OK to shoot a dropping number, provided you are ready for it. Here is an excellent post on the Myths Debunked, Shooting a Dropping Number. I shot dropping numbers all the time because Neko liked to nadir late, often at preshot (sometimes as late as +15). I had enough +1 data to know how much food would bump her up and how to put the brakes on further dropping. Shooting a 56 might be a bit much to ask at first, but definitely higher greens should be doable. And more important, shouldn't need a stall.

The downside to skipping is you don't know if the 38 after a delay was because the dose was too high or because of lack of food. But Teri has to reduce now.
Wow, that article makes sense...explained to me that I am not shooting the number he is at now, I’m shooting what he will be at in a few hours and I could’ve done it and steered him with food if needed. In a scenario like that, if he started dropping, I would feed LC until he got below 50 and then change to HC, correct?
 
No harm in feeding higher LC or even medium carb if you shoot low the first few times. Just gives you a bigger cushion and helps with data gathering on Disco. Theoretically it’s OK to shoot anything above 50, but you should have a good handle on your cat’s response to food and be able to monitor closely. Because Neko got at least a 30 point bump from her meal, shooting 50’s was easier for me, plus she had a later onset on Lev so there were many hours until the next shot kicked in. Check out the Sticky Note on shooting lower numbers and make sure you have done your data gathering. Disco is proving to be an “advanced knowledge” kitty. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top