2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 +4 222 +7.5 151 +9 137 PMPS 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Well, I bit the bullet and went ahead and increased Cobb by 1 unit. It looks like we see our best results every unit versus every half unit, although sometimes he'll dip into the blues on occasion after a 1/2 unit dose. So...I took a risk and popped him on up. We'll see what happens from here. Not really sure where else to go from here.

Cobb has a vet appointment on March 29th. It's the soonest we can get an appointment where we both can go and have my parents help with Matty. Can you imagine wrangling the baby at the vet? So...until then, after today, I'm going to be a bit more conservative on his increases of Lantus, and using the R to keep him as flat as possible. I'm really just to the point of thinking: what's the point? Even with a diagnosis it just seems like there is no end in sight. If it's IAA, which I think we're all pretty sure it is, who knows where the dose will end up? :sad:

Regarding Cobb, all Ps are in place. Matt and I were startled yesterday afternoon by hearing him run at full speed across the upstairs, and then back again, and then back again, and finally downstairs. Crazy cat! :roll: Cobb and Matty came face to face this morning. Neither looked too impressed, so maybe Matty is over the fascination with Cobb, and Cobb has finally accepted that Matty is here to stay!

Happy Friday to all!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 dosecrease

Good Morning Suzanne!

I guess my intention is to bring his numbers down. The time he spent down in the blues really spoiled me. I've decided right now I'd like him to stay consistently under 250 and see what happens from there. I'm kind of at a giving up point to tell you the truth. I don't see him going into remission, and at some point I'm going to have to say enough on the insulin increases...diagnosis or not.

I know this is so tough, but you have to keep the hope alive. Isn't it interesting, when our kitties numbers go down, we go up and when they go up, we go down. When they're in the blue, we're in the pink and when they're in the pink, we've got the blues. What an emotional roller coaster for us. I think it is important to be true to your feelings, but at the same time recognize that there is always hope, until there is truly not. You have so much to do, and to balance, with Matty's care, your care and Cobb. You have a tough row to hoe without a doubt. You also have a supportive mate, people who care about you and a terrific kitty who enriches your life, good and bad and a strength of character that is second to none. I have learned soooo much through this experience. Not only about the crazy FD dance, but I've learned a lot about myself. My resilience, my tipping point. I've defined my limits only to realize just how fluid those limits are. I know I can't do it all, but I can do, and I will do.

A bit gibberish, but it's a pep talk! Written in truth, but perhaps not very eloquently. I hope my meaning still reads. Do you have a little vacation coming up? Your niece's baptism?

Enjoy your day.

Cobb, get down from there and work that juice!

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 dosecrease

Very well put, Rebekah. It is a tough roller coaster. Ozy has been doing well lately and I have to remind myself not to get too attached to those good numbers but still to enjoy them. We're pulling for you Suzanne!
 
Re: 2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 dosecrease

Good morning, Suzanne,
I hope that the 1-unit increase will jolt Cobb's pancreas into action. I think that your goal of keeping him stable in relatively good numbers is a good approach. When you see your vet you will have good data. Try to stay positive. I can imagine how challenging your life is right now. Do try to take some time to relax, maybe set aside a half hour every day just for you.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 +4 222 +7.5 151

I see blue!
upozna12.png
Good job on the dosecrease! Sometimes a little bit larger increase is what is needed to get ahead of whatever is causing the resistance in Cobb's body. BTW: I'm not betting one way or the other what that is.

I too can relate to the seemingly never ending increases. :YMHUG: Neko teased me by giving greens starting at 3+ units so I kept on hoping the next increase was the one, but up and up we went. Then we started down and every time we have to go back up now, I feel like a balloon deflating. But I have to keep on remembering the words from the internal medicine vetty Neko saw at CSU - the most important thing you can do is manage the diabetes. For me, my goal is to do what I can with the dose to try to maximize the amount of time Neko spends below renal threshold. The dose is what it is. What's equally important is how Cobb's feeling and the sounds of running show that he's feeling better. :cool:

And Suzanne, you are doing a fantastic job with Cobb. Handling a young bean and a large dose cat is a lot of work.
 
Re: 2/21 Cobb AMPS 346 +4 222 +7.5 151 +9 137

Hi Suzanne, it must be a very difficult caring for a kitty on a high dose right now and a baby. Lovey was on a lower dose, but went through a period of numbers in the 200's- 400's for awhile and I got pretty discouraged so I can only imagine how disappointing it can be with the continued increases... I think Rebekah, Donaleen, Julie, Wendy and others have gone through or are going through it now. Do you have a vet with a good understanding of FD and kitties on high doses? My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Cobb's behavior tell a story of improvement and are definitely positive signs.
 
Nice PMPS! Woot! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Looks like Cobb knows when his mamabean needs a break!!

Not gonna lie. I was pretty perturbed this morning. Thank you all for your encouraging words. High dose cat and baby are difficult to balance. Daytime is good, nights not so much. I try to grab the night tests when I get up with the baby but that's not always possible. I made Matt grab a test at 1:30am this morning. He was NOT happy. :lol: oh well

We are in the process of switching vets to one recommended here. Sooty was acro and IAA and required a lot of insulin, like 200units a day?, so I surely hope the vet read up on how to treat. She is our next step, at least.

I'm feeling better this evening. I'd say I look forward to a good night's sleep, but I know that is unlikely, especially since a certain cat has commandeered my spot on the bed already! :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top