2/21 Chino|AMPS=506|PMPS=240 (NO SHOT)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

THIS IS KILLING ME.
When his BG continues going down until +12, he tends to dive 4 hours after the PM dose. I wish I could've asked the sitter to give the full dose with the high-carb (23%) cat food on the counter, but I've never tried that, so I don't know if it would keep him safe :( So I asked her to skip, and I'm expecting a ridiculously high BG tomorrow morning.
 
I totally agree with Paul, safety first. Chino will recover soon enough. That's the one "good" thing about a larger dose is the larger depot. I had plenty of experience with that when I did fur shots. :oops::rolleyes:
 
Chino should be fine with the skipped dose. He's still got quite a ways to go to the danger zone.

Try to relax tonight. :bighug: Chino will give you the opportunity again soon enough when you are home.
 
I got a call from the vet around 9 PM. He's still not convinced that's it's acromegaly because he's read 3 articles that say it has to be above 1000. Again, I told him that might refer to the European scale. He wants me to keep the 6 unit dose in case it's the Somogyi effect. I told him that I checked with the AT2 last time the BG went under 100 on the human meter to make sure he wasn't rebounding from hypoglycemia. He wants to give the methimazole some time to see if it will have an impact. I hope the methimazole's impact is what we saw tonight... At any rate, I'm going to send him the articles that I've been reading, and we'll see what the 3/03 bloodwork shows.
 
I've been kidnapped by my boss and 2 coworkers. (2 are also former RNs and one is a former psychologist.) There are several bottles of wine in the trunk and I found Cards Against Humanity in my car. I think the idea is to drink until I forget that I have a little diabetic kitty at home who didn't get his insulin tonight :(
 
I like your coworkers. :)

Your vet just needs to read the summary from MSU to see the ranges. Over 90 is positive on the MSU test. Over 1000 is the test done at RVC, who have a lot of articles referring to their ranges. Sort of like the US vs rest of world BG, different measurement scales. It's not Synogyi, that's very rare in cats that have been increased safely as you have done.
 
I asked the tech that checked his BG TONIGHT if she could check again at +4 for $20 but she couldn't. I have to trust that he'll be OK tonight. Love my boss and co-workers. I can hardly type right now but Chino should be OK and I'll be back halfway through Thursday to test, give him low carb high calorie. I wish this were just hyperthyroid but I don't believe that's the case so we'll see what happens mid cycle when I get back.
 
I've been kidnapped by my boss and 2 coworkers. (2 are also former RNs and one is a former psychologist.) There are several bottles of wine in the trunk and I found Cards Against Humanity in my car. I think the idea is to drink until I forget that I have a little diabetic kitty at home who didn't get his insulin tonight :(
Hahah YES! This is exactly what you need. Remember...you are supposed to be decompressing while you're away. I'm so glad to hear this. I hope you are getting to enjoy yourself tonight Adrian!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top