2/21 Ann & Maggie AMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.
nice numbers. :smile:

Not to be a pest (well, maybe to be a pest!), but check out Mel and Joe's condo today to see what can happen when you get rid of the rest of the dry food. :mrgreen:
 
Not to be a pest (well, maybe to be a pest!), but check out Mel and Joe's condo today to see what can happen when you get rid of the rest of the dry food.

Oh :o I see; you're right. Very good notes in Mel and Joe's condo. Is Mel just diagnosed this year? Maggie's having a good week. I should try and wean her off it; even if it's the dry DM, not good?
 
The dry DM is lower carb than many dry foods. The bigger issue is that it is really a crappy source of protein, contains gluten, and other starches.

product ingredients said:
Poultry by-product meal, soy protein isolate, corn gluten meal, soy flour, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), corn starch, animal liver flavor, calcium carbonate, phosphoric acid, fish oil, potassium chloride

If you look at Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition, she goes into detail about the difference between muscle meat vs. by-products. The other issue with dry food is that it contains no moisture. Dry is a great way to keep a cat partially dehydrated.

Also, look at Dillen's SS. In addition to Joe and Mel, Dillen is another kitty who has not been here very long and once the dry food was eliminated, he's on Day 12 of an OTJ trial.

Also, are you able to get any PM checks? Even a before bed check will help. Without any spot checks in the evening, you are missing half of your data. Many cats have lower numbers at night so you may miss a dose reduction.
 
Hi Sienne and Gabby,
I do see your point. I am going to try and eliminate the dry Purina DM. I notice she hasn't touched much of it lately, so it's a good start. I'm impressed with Mel and Joe. I will check out Dillen, too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top