2/20 Tipper AMBG 132 +1 148 +8 590 PMPS@+11 590 +1 410+3-374

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Yesterday-http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37166&sid=182f62dab3a8f7ce8775872b73dc49b2#p391108

Good morning,
I know it's early but what should I do? I am not giving her the am shot of 3.25. I will be leaving for work in 1/2 hour. Hubby is home and can test and shoot. She is eating now. She did vomit last night all food and a tiny hairball.
Thanks
Patty
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

Hi Tipper,
I'm not a dose adviser, but hopefully someone will be by shortly to help. Can your husband test and post results here for some help after you leave? It's good she's now eating.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

Yes, I would encourage you to have your husband post the numbers and ask for help with dose, if you still want help at shot time.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

hi

I dont know if you are still here, but if a re-test can be done to see if number is rising.
has she eaten yet? hopefully not, since you want to get a clean number with no food influence.


by the way, any numbers from last nite? was she checked?
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

I'm not sure what DH is shooting or when,
but please do get some early checks in, +1 and or +2.

For future reference: Dealing with low preshots

And remember whenever he does shoot, the PMPS shot time will have to be adjusted, you shoot PMPS 12 hours from when AMPS was shot.
It is a good idea to have DH trained on posting too, this will help you a lot while you work.
Update when you can ok?
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

looks like a nice breakthrough. :smile: Too bad it had to happen on a work day. I'm curious what you decided to do!
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please

Hi ,
I did test her @+ 1 and she was 148. DH did not test after I left for work, and we did not shoot. Now at + 8 she is 590
Do we wait for +12 or give her the shot now? Please advise Tomorrow my husband is home, I am not. I work 6am to 2:30 everyday but
Wed and Thu.
Patty
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

I think the high number is a combination of the skipped shot and the bounce from the lows this morning. Do you have ketone strips for testing urine for ketones?
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

Took a quick look at Tipper's SS - since you did not shoot this morning, don't forget to take that out of your SS. If you shoot now, it will change your schedule going forward, though you may want to shoot a little early tonight to try to get some insulin in him. I'm hoping someone more familiar with Tipper can advise you better. Hoping the bounce clears quickly, that was bound to happen from the blues alone.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

Thanks for the responses. I will test for ketones as soon as possible, I usually test every day.
I was planning on giving her the shot alittle early this evening. I probably should have given her a reduced shot this AM.

Thanks,
Patty
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

I think she'll be fine. As long as she's eating and otherwise normal ketones are probably not going to be an issue but it's good to be prepared to test. She has insulin in her shed. Sometimes a reduced dose is a good way to go, but this is a new area for you and you're still collecting data.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

hi again

I see your updated your SS, and you did not shoot this morning, your AMPS is actually an AMBG then.
Nina is correct, if you shoot around now, or a little earlier from your usual evening shot time you're next shot for monday would be 12 hours from that, every 12 hours, so it would change your shot schedule.
Definitely get her shot in tonight, but I would suggest at least a bedtime check, get into the habit of that routine, it's possible Tipper went low last nite.
The evening checks are just as important, and can help explain the sudden appearance of low AMPS.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMPS 132 Help please+1 148 + 8 590

Hi all,

Gave Tipper her shot 1hour early so I will adjust the schedule. I did do a BG check last night @ + 5 - 277 just forgot to update ss this am when the low # appeared. Everything looks OK, but have not been able to test for ketones. Adding water to her FF so she keeps hydrated. I do worry about these BG#'s and the toll it's taking on her body. I'm so frustrated. Just when I think we are going to have a good day my hopes are dashed. But we are not giving up!
Patty
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMBG 132 +1 148 +8 590 PMPS@+11 590 +1 410+3

Hi all,
If I should come across this situation again what is my best option based on her ss? Give a reduced dose at the pre shot time and monitor?
Patty
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMBG 132 +1 148 +8 590 PMPS@+11 590 +1 410+3

you'll probably want to read thru the various stickies here in LL, starting with this one that gets bumped around often:
Dealing with low preshots

But yes, you do have the option of shooting lower rather than no shot at all.

I would also suggest adding a +11 here and there, if you happen to be up and about an hour before her preshot number is.
But anyway, the blues are a good indicator of progress, just a little tweaking with your data collection and you'll see a bigger picture of how this dose is working.
No giving up, things will turn around.
Have a good nite Pattie.
 
Re: 2/20 Tipper AMBG 132 +1 148 +8 590 PMPS@+11 590 +1 410+3

Patty - when you're linking your condo from the previous day, if you have any character next to the "http://......", it won't link. If you try to click on the link in your first post, it's not active.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top