2/20 Smudge AMPS 508, PMPS 489

Astexcat

Member Since 2019
Good plan, let's see if we if Smudge can find more yellows and then maybe blues with that increase. Smudge sure likes the trampoline! So did my girl in the beginning.
 
So I know her appetite should probably decrease, and it seems to be. Problem is I'm used to all my cats eating 1/5-2 oz food 2x/day. With her now being offered food 4 times a day, it's harder to track. So she nibbles at breakfast, turned down lunch, nibbled at dinner (probably 1 oz total between 4 foods, maybe)....at what point does the lower intake of food affect insulin dose or cause increased concerns of hypo? For awhile with her larger numbers, she would be eating 1 can 4x/day if allowed. She has probably 2-4 lbs to gain back, so I'm thinking she should still be hungrier than usual, but probably not 4 large cans a day hungry. Argh.....advice/experience anyone?

Her numbers are highish tonight (partially as she stole 3 high carb treats at noon); proceeding with increased dose tonight.
 
Part of what you are seeing with the food consumption going down is that she is starting to see better numbers, and more insulin is getting into her cells. When her numbers were all black/red, she needed more food or she would starve. It's a normal part of the process.

Have you gotten any ketones tests lately? Just want to eliminate that as an issue.

Temptations are nasty high in carbs!
 
Checked keotones yesterday with the lack of hunger in the morning, meter read 1.1 <2.4 action level so we should still be good.
 
Back
Top