? 2/20 RICO AMPS 118, PMPS 120 - Does Diarsanyl increase BG? Increase dose?

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-84-changes-in-diet-meds.298461/#post-3247020

As of today, Rico goes back to normal diet. Today is also (hopefully) the last day of Diarsanyl as his poops get more solid. He is "blue" since last night and this might be due to dry food (Friskies) or Diarsanyl. Here are the
ingredients: Readily absorbable carbohydrates (dextrose, lactose), electrolytes (minerals), montmorillonite and vanillin. Crude protein 0.25%, crude fibre 0.25%, crude fat 0.25%, crude ash 21.5%, moisture 15.5%, hydrochloric acid ash solution 13.5%, sodium 3.5%, potassium 0.5%

I was thinking of keeping the dose for a couple of days until I see how he does with his normal diet and without medication. How do you advise?

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
Dextrose is sugar. Since his poop is better if he were my cat I would risk that and continue a little longer. If you make two changes at once you won’t know which is working or if both are needed.
 
Dextrose is sugar. Since his poop is better if he were my cat I would risk that and continue a little longer. If you make two changes at once you won’t know which is working or if both are needed.

What do you mean? Continue with the medication a little longer?
 
I would continue with the medication until stool is normal first a couple days and then try to remove it. Rico never had an issue with the old food, correct? So that should be okay to switch back now.
 
I would continue with the medication until stool is normal first a couple days and then try to remove it. Rico never had an issue with the old food, correct? So that should be okay to switch back now.

So I will continue with the medication and his normal diet on Animonda but not increase his insulin yet. Did I get it right?

Also, I am supposed to take him to a dentist for a check-up but I think I should wait until he's less tired and sick. What do you think?
 
I think I would hold off on the increase. But I do think I would want to keep the dental appointment unless it’s easy to reschedule in the very near future. You can judge better than I about the dental.
 
Back
Top