2/20 Pepper AMPS 244 - PMPS 299 (Vet update)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjstroop

Member Since 2009
Hello LL!

I know I am posting very late.. busy day!
Vet for Pepper and DM's BD..

WCR: Not my Pepper! He has been very sleepy this week.. High numbers equals a grouchy and sleepy Pepper..
4 P's without the play.. **sigh** He is very mad that the vet shaved his chin and chest today (saliva stain - from all the licking he does due to his allergies).. but, I think he looks very handsome :mrgreen: Appetite is good.. a little more demanding due to the higher numbers.

Vet update: Consult with Dermatologist this AM and she advised that we start a new antihistamine (hydroxyzine).. or amitryptaline (primary vet and I decided against the latter - for now).
Primary vet visit this AM DX: Bacterial infection from itching himself raw so we started him on Orbax (10 days).
CBC came out great! Vet and I were surprised at this as his numbers really suck lately..
Vet also did a VOM (veterinary orthopedic manipulation) to see if that might help Pepper as well.. He was soooo good! I was very surprised that he sat still for that.. or he was just scared sh**less.. They also tested his bg level while there (217). No complaints from them.. just me!

Recap from today:
AMPS 244
+2~267
+4~410 (just a little vet stress.. yikes!)
+8~290
PMPS 299
+4~310

Dosing help! We have been working our way up the dosing ladder.. :roll: At this point, I feel like a newbie again and really don't know if I am doing this right.. Sooooo.. if anyone has any suggestions, please chime in!

Fingers and paws crossed that we'll start seeing his numbers start coming down after the Orbax kicks in. And, that Pepper gets his play back.. I hate seeing him like this!

Very tired.. and, I know that this could probably have waited until tomorrow.. oh it is tomorrow! yawn.. but, my life has been just a touch crazy and this is the only time I have had to sit at the puter..

Hope everyone and their kitties are doing well and I hope to pop in tomorrow if things are a little less hectic on the homefront..

((Miss everyone))
 
omg! who stole pepper's numbers?
glad you got AB's, i said last week that this could be as simple as a skin infection.
dosing, you just started 1.75, give the AB's 48 hours to make a diff and if not, then jack up dose again. but i would stall out here unfortunately on dose while you wait to see if the AB's solve this. (i say unfortunately cause i hate seeing him at these numbers and want to pour more insulin on them, but have to curb my impatience).
i have to remember to stop back on say monday night to see if the AB's helped. i don't like that he is not acting like himself either, but i have seen cats get miserable with just simple skin infections plus he might not be liking how these higher numbers feel either.
come on ABs, please work, want the old pepper back!
 
Thank you ((Jojo))!
Yes.. sitting on my hands b/c I just hate seeing him like this..
I just wish we could find out what the source is to his allergies **sigh**
Vet wanted me to try some Hills Z/D Ultra.. (34 carbs) to weed out food allergies again.. yikes!
I've tried 3 brands (FF, EVO, and Wellness) with same results.. maybe I should start looking at other brands again..

Tomorrow is another day! TG!
Thanks for popping in.. feeling a little low for my Pepper :sad:

Hope your feeling better!... Miss ya!

Night!
 
i can imagine you are feeling low, not fun seeing your boy like this. :(
might have to break down and get the heska allergy testing done. he can't stay on antihistamines forever. and although common in dogs, really food allergies are not that common in cats, i'm not so sure that this is a food allergy at all. do you notice an seasonality to the outbreaks? was there anything like new carpets or couch that could have triggered this last outbreak? started when heater was turned on? dunno, gasping at straws, just know it has to be bad if his chin and chest had to be shaved, it takes a good bit of licking to stain fur like that.
and yeah i hate sitting on dose too, but think you have to. sigh.

well go to sleep, nothing can do about anything tonight. i'll see you monday night, hopefully you'll be busy serving up the HC and we'll be talking about a dose reductions. :mrgreen:

ni-ni paula!
-----:) zzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
paula, sorry pepper's not green like he normally is.
hope the chin situation sorts itself out asap.
did you do that whole elimination diet thing where you go back to just plain boiled chicken?
 
Ahh, I didn't realize his allergies had gotten so bad. Poor guy. I hope the ABs do the trick.

I had a dog that was on low dose medrol (among other things) for years for her allergies. She tested allergic to everything except food, and her immune system was wacky - it was like she was allergic to herself. We were on ABs for years till we started the medrol. Her thyroid also came into play there - T4, I think?
 
(((((Paula & Pepper)))))) So upset to hear poor Pepper isnt feeling up to his old self!!!
What seems like one thing can actually be something else with these Kitties---And they are so so fragile!!
I always thought cats were so hardy, take care of themselves, 9 lives..Blah Blah Blah! :roll: :roll: :roll:
They really need a lot of care, especially our Special ones.. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
Pepper wil be fine once the right meds are found, & I hope real soon!
Ever try the Raw diet? I didnt, but it has good reports..Come on sweet Pepper--Liven up! Moonie wants to play with you!!
Sending my strongest Healing vines to our dear friend Pepper--Please feel better SOON-we luvs ya! :razz:
 
I'm bumping a yesterday condo because it was posted today, is that ok? :lol:

I'm sorry to see that Pepper is having a rough time. Those numbers are not Pepper-like at all! I hope the AB does some good. ((((Paula))))
 
Oh (((Paula))) I am so sorry to hear what is going on with Pepper ohmygod_smile

I have been looking out for you and finally saw your post and very upset as well with this all! Wondering what is going on with my brother there. Have you tried Tiki. I feed Skippy this as well. Most of the varieties are grain free. I know there fish in some of the ticki bu maybe too much meat is making Pepper have allergic reactions. Like Jojo said it maybe not food but some other thing, new toy, new blanket, cleaning product on the rugs etc.

I hope everthing gets back to normal soon for you.

How is your mother doing?

Have a great week!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top