2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Missed a 2/21 condo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
Paisley's 2/19 condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64090&p=695204#p695204

She snagged something out of the closet just before her +11. Not sure if it was the rest of Willow's food (FF) or if she found a piece of Ranger's kibble. Guess the numbers will tell. DH bought different food because it was on sale. He normally eats large breed which has large kibble that is easy to find if it falls out of the bowl. This kibble is tiny. It's not going to work out. Hate to tell him he wasted $30 to save $5. He tries.He really does but some things he just doesn't get.

Everyone is enjoying a warm sunny day. Chickens found some loose dry dirt under the porch to dust in and are very happy. The ducks and geese have some little puddles to check out. Cats are enjoying the sunshine. Great spring day.... in February. Too weird.
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley AMPS/288

Hi, guys!!!

I've been MIA for a few days...
Paisley...are you a Contrabandanista???

:lol: :lol:
you made me laugh, Lylene...at the DH comment.

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley AMPS/288

12 cycles on this dose and the lowest nadirs were blue. Looks like Paisley could use a dose increase, whenever you're ready. :smile:
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley AMPS/288 2/282 7/305 11/304 PMPS/401* 2/294

Major attack on Willow around +11.5 so expected a higher PMPS.

Libby and Lucy said:
12 cycles on this dose and the lowest nadirs were blue. Looks like Paisley could use a dose increase, whenever you're ready. :smile:

Yep. Was planning to do that with PM dose but now she has a day admission at the vet to get urine. I won't be able to monitor her, which is important because she can drop like a rock fast. Will most likely increase her next PM dose. Thanks for noticing and suggesting. Appreciated. :smile:

mybuddybinks said:
Hi, guys!!!

:lol: :lol:
you made me laugh, Lylene...at the DH comment.

celi & binks

But it's so true. I'm taking a class through MI State Univ. Extension called Annie's Project. It's training specifically for women on how to run a farm. The first week we did a personality test called Real Colors. I'm a blue. They ramble. Big shock there. I'm going to do the test on him and see what he is. The little booklet we got has a section on how each color communicates and how to communicate with each color. Figure it can't hurt. Sometimes I try to explain something and eventually give up in utter defeat and frustration. He's by no means stupid. Really smart but things that seem like common sense to me just seem to escape him. Don't even register. Maybe this test can help me figure out how to better communicate with him. I've actually called his mother to get her to help me figure out how to get get him to understand some things. She's a great mom-in-law.
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Dose Question

Paisley is at vet - urinalysis shows UTI, glucose spilling into urine. BG in mid-300s. Getting antibiotic shot of Kenevia (sp?). Still slightly dehydrated, despite wet food w/ added water.

Vet wants dose increased to 2.0 units (currently 1.5). Should I go ahead with 2.0. of step up through 1.75 first? Shot due 1p, EST.

Will be afk for a bit.

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Dose Question

Good luck with the new dose whatever you decide. Sorry, but I'm not experienced enough to provide dosing advice.

I also have a UTI patient, and I've put him on the same stuff that my diabetic kitty, Blackie, eats, which is the Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey. It shows to have 1% of magnesium in it. The lower the magnesium, the better for the UTI patient. Since he's been on it, he hasn't had another trip to vet.

Sending tons of positive thoughts you all, and healing vines for Paisley. I wish for her(?) to make a full and speedy recovery.
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Dose Question

Hey Lylene,
If it's not too late, try to get the vet to do a different antibiotic, one that you administer day by day. The Convenia (I think that's what you meant to write) shot lasts for 2 weeks in the system and if your kitty turns out to be allergic to it, there is no antidote. There have been numerous discussions of this on FDMB. (Not to stress you out if the shot has been given, but just to give a heads-up for the future; in all likelihood Paisley will be fine.)

I think that the experienced dosing people would agree that you should raise the dose by 0.25, not by a full 0.5.

Sending Paisley lots of healing vines for a quick recovery,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Dose Question

Home from vet. She *did* get the antibiotic shot, and they want to do another analysis in two weeks. Really angry, though, that they didn't check for ketones.

I'll be increasing by 0.25. I'll be back online later tonight.

Thank you.
 
Re: 2/20 Paisley PMPS/401* 2/294 Dose Question

knowing how much of a difference even a dose change of .25 can make, i'd definitely stick with the .25 increase.

just fyi - that antibiotic is primarily effective against skin infections. my understanding is that vets use it because it's "convenient" hence the name, convenia, but it's not effective against a lot of bacteria. if there was bacteria in the urine, you may need a different AB. i wonder if they were going to culture the urine so they could give a bacteria-specific AB. something to be aware of so if you don't see signs that it's working, you know why. also, if it IS effective against the bacteria Paisley's BG may drop as the infection is resolved.

good luck with the husband training . . . :lol:
 
I'm really way too angry to deal with this anymore tonight. I read Dr. Lisa's page on Convenia plus some other stuff. I still can't believe they didn't test for ketones. What the hell is wrong with this woman???!!!!!!!! Today was her last day as she's going on maternity leave for 12 weeks. I'll check tomorrow about how they came up with the diagnosis and why the Convenia. I'm just way to angry to track down the invoice in all the paperwork I gathered today with class and all and figure out what they did. I will definitely be contacting the owner. Why would you not test a diabetic cat with high BG for ketones when you have a urine sample right under your frickin' nose. Ok, breathe, count to 10.

Going to try to catch a couple zzs before next test. Realized I didn't do a condo for today. Will do it tomorrow as it does overlap. Didn't have the computer today. Her PMPS tonight was 405.

Night all. Catcha on the flip side.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top