2/20 GrayGray pmps @ 200

You are taking the reduction because the previous dose took the kitty down to (56) and then ( 58) last night :)
Yes! Last night was pretty low..... also I continued to shoot 0.5 this morning am and now on she is still lower than normal. I know TR says to shoot, BUT I don’t feel comfortable shooting 0.5u and think it’ll cause her to drop below 50... gonna shoot 0.25 tonight. I’m so nervous!
 
Yes! Last night was pretty low..... also I continued to shoot 0.5 this morning am and now on she is still lower than normal. I know TR says to shoot, BUT I don’t feel comfortable shooting 0.5u and think it’ll cause her to drop below 50... gonna shoot 0.25 tonight. I’m so nervous!

Aren't you following SLGS for now ?
We can go back to figuring out it and when TR would work for you.
The AM dose should have been reduced to 0.25 per the SLGS dosing recommendations, so I would reduce now and remember that the previous dose might still affect Gray - Gray tonight. I would plan on getting a +1/+2 to see which way those BGs are heading so that if you need to intervene with food- you can
You handled last night well ...you've got this !

I will check in on you in an hour for the +1 test :cool:
 
looking good ! she will likely level out a bit when the insulin kicks in
Ok, I’m glad you think it’s looking good... bc I’m just a bit confused with the numbers... at least she’s not dipping close to 50.... I trust your judgement as this is still a bit confusing for me to figure out the depot. ECID, but these BG # are from ~3-4 cycles ago right?
 
Ok, I’m glad you think it’s looking good... bc I’m just a bit confused with the numbers... at least she’s not dipping close to 50.... I trust your judgement as this is still a bit confusing for me to figure out the depot. ECID, but these BG # are from ~3-4 cycles ago right?

The tricky thing is , you gave a different dose in the AM on the 19th... then we reduced this evening. So these numbers should be influenced from the 0.5 units that was previously given, but some of that depot was still a little upset (and drained) by the 0.25 you gave yesterday....make some sense...?
Some of the weirdness in the current numbers should round out tomorrow evening and then by the next Pm cycle, you should start seeing what this new dose of 0.25 is actually doing...
My guy takes 3-4 cycles before I see what a new dose is doing most days and I usually get some NDW ( new dose wonkiness) whenever I mess with a dose.
 
Hold for a week- 14 cycles total- tonight is cycle 1 at the 0.25 units. Then ideally you would do a BG curve ( taking BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours total or every 3 hours for 18 hours total...as close to as possible) and see how low the 0.25 is taking Gray- Gray. Then you would increase if needed, but reductions are always taken as earned for numbers under 90 at any point in the cycle.

Side note- if you are seeing numbers in the ideal range at some point- less than 100- you would hold the dose longer but you can always post for specifics and make sure that is what is advised based on the numbers.

FROM STICKY:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
Hold for a week- 14 cycles total- tonight is cycle 1 at the 0.25 units. Then ideally you would do a BG curve ( taking BG test every 2 hours for 12 hours total or every 3 hours for 18 hours total...as close to as possible) and see how low the 0.25 is taking Gray- Gray. Then you would increase if needed, but reductions are always taken as earned for numbers under 90 at any point in the cycle.

Side note- if you are seeing numbers in the ideal range at some point- less than 100- you would hold the dose longer but you can always post for specifics and make sure that is what is advised based on the numbers.

FROM STICKY:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Thank you got everything Ari! You have definitely given me peace of mind that I’m not messing this up and your guidance is slowly building my confidence more than I was 24 hrs ago! Thank you :bighug:
 
I see that (186) ...still looks good. Looks a bit like that PM cycle on the 17th were the +5 was a little bit lower than the +4. If you want to grab a +5/+6 you can :)
I'd feed a snack and you can likely relax-l, catch some Zzzzz. Sometimes they can have a little dip towards the end of the cycle but you shouldn't have a repeat of the other night which is great . Hopefully, she holds into these level blues for a bit, then you can adjust this dose on Wednesday and see how things go.
If you get any surprises in the AM- just stall, don't feed and ask for help...
Happy surfing
 
Basaglar dosing is much different than you are used to. We change doses based primarily on the nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat, not the preshots. We don't change the dose if we see a pink vs. a blue preshot. Try to stay with 0.25 units for a week now. The depot insulins are also great at giving you nice flat numbers when you shoot lower numbers. Shooting blue numbers does not mean they will necessarily go below 50.
 
Back
Top