2/20 Colby AMPS 96 then 88. Shoot???

Mo & Colby

Member Since 2020
Colby’s numbers are still all over the place. Last night his PMPS was 326 but then this morning his AMPS is 96. I waited a few minutes then tested him again and it was 88.

So I am wondering do I shoot? Do I wait?
Thank you for your expert opinions!
 
A testing reward is fine, as long as it's not his full meal yet.

Hopefully he starts coming up. Those are wonderful numbers to have, just 1) lower than you've shot before, and 2) possibly falling, so I at least want to see some signs that he's switched direction.

Also, under SLGS he actually already earned a reduction today with that 88 :woot:.
 
A testing reward is fine, as long as it's not his full meal yet.

Hopefully he starts coming up. Those are wonderful numbers to have, just 1) lower than you've shot before, and 2) possibly falling, so I at least want to see some signs that he's switched direction.

Also, under SLGS he actually already earned a reduction today with that 88 :woot:.
He is now down to 85.
Happy to reduce! Yay! But still holding on shooting until he comes up a bit?
 
If you are following SLGS for dosing, it recommends not shooting if preshot is below 90. Your option is to either wait until it comes up (provided your schedule lets you delay shots tonight and tomorrow by that amount), or skip.
 
If you are following SLGS for dosing, it recommends not shooting if preshot is below 90. Your option is to either wait until it comes up (provided your schedule lets you delay shots tonight and tomorrow by that amount), or skip.
Thank you! You know, I read all that but then still just look for reassurance. Thank you for your guidance.
 
Just a FYI, I noticed on Feb 10th, you also got a number below 90, which would have meant reducing, but you were at 2.0 units then. ON Feb 15th, you increased by 0.5 units. If you are following SLGS, we do changes by 0.25 units at a time. I think Colby is telling you he really wants less insulin!

A question, can you get any spot checks at night, perhaps just before you go to bed? I know it's hard to get tests during the day due to work, but many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on lows, so getting some tests in at night is really helpful in figuring out what a dose is doing.

How is Colby feeling/behaving now that he's getting insulin? Cats are so much more that their numbers, which is all that we can see.
 
Just a FYI, I noticed on Feb 10th, you also got a number below 90, which would have meant reducing, but you were at 2.0 units then. ON Feb 15th, you increased by 0.5 units. If you are following SLGS, we do changes by 0.25 units at a time. I think Colby is telling you he really wants less insulin!

A question, can you get any spot checks at night, perhaps just before you go to bed? I know it's hard to get tests during the day due to work, but many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on lows, so getting some tests in at night is really helpful in figuring out what a dose is doing.

How is Colby feeling/behaving now that he's getting insulin? Cats are so much more that their numbers, which is all that we can see.
I can set alarms and do spot testing at night. I would love to reduce him. I guess those high numbers just scare me. (Of course, obviously low numbers scare me too, hence this post!)

He has been thriving since being on the insulin! Playful like he hasn’t been in years. It’s so nice to see.
 
It has now been 16 hours since last night’s shot and he is at 112. Will continue monitoring. He’s doing great. Even though I was worried when he dropped to 88, his behavior has been completely normal.

I expect to give him his evening shot today. Should I stick with the same time of day making it 24 hours or should I move it up a bit to a 21 hour window and then stick with that new cycle. Did that make sense? (He inadvertently grew to a later cycle than I would prefer so I’m wondering if this might be a good time to alter it? If too dangerous then I can keep it late, just a question, if you know)

Thank you!
 
Since you skipped this morning, you can essentially shoot whenever you want tonight. Not dangerous, since you don't have to worry about the overlap from the previous shot, it's a good time to move shot times to something more convenient for you!
 
Back
Top